EDIS 8 on a 460? - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 02:32 AM Thread Starter
LS SWAP EVERYTHING!
 
Red91XLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Biloxi, Mississippi
Posts: 26,251
Bronco Info: half a bronco
EDIS 8 on a 460?

I realize that this forum is a little more Hi-Tek than just a mere question, but Crazed's 460 swap got me thinking about the EDIS system being used on a 460.

If I'm not mistaken, doesn't the 460 share the same firing order as the 302? (or am I thinking of the HO?) Either way, I googled a little bit, and found some conversations about it, but couldn't find anything conclusive about it.

Anyone know anything about this kinda thing?


'91 XLT-totaled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gacknar View Post
This is not a Democracy, it is a Broncocracy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
You do realize that you just reported the new owner of FSB?
-James
Red91XLT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 03:09 AM
I Paid for this sh!t
 
stormfinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Athens, Georgia, USA
Posts: 646
Bronco Info: None Currently, 2000 Ford Excursion
i remember reading on corral or fordvchevy about a 460 and a 427w that were modified for coil on plug, im not sure about the first gen edis system though

1997 Lincoln Mark VIII LSC - 4.6 DOHC V8/4R70w
2000 Ford Excursion XLT - 5.4 SOHC V8/4R100 (Cummins 6bt/5r110 future plan)
SOLD: 1995 4bta Cummins Bronco, zf5, dana 60/sterling 10.25
Jake

Dark times come and they surely do suck... but there's peaks and valleys man. As long as we keep giving it our best, it can only be shit for so long. - Words of a wise man, Pepe
stormfinder is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 05:21 PM
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,475
Bronco Info: rusty
need to modify a cam sensor to fit where the distributor was
And need to mount a tone ring and crank sensor to the dampener.

Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-11-2011, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
LS SWAP EVERYTHING!
 
Red91XLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Biloxi, Mississippi
Posts: 26,251
Bronco Info: half a bronco
Think it would work though, Ryan? I'm sure someone somewhere manufactures a cam sensor, and I could machine a tone ring if I was to ever be truly serious about doing this. It just makes sense to me in the most logical way to go EFI....


'91 XLT-totaled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gacknar View Post
This is not a Democracy, it is a Broncocracy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
You do realize that you just reported the new owner of FSB?
-James
Red91XLT is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-12-2011, 12:47 AM
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,475
Bronco Info: rusty
You can fuel inject anything. I personally have wired a flat head Ford V8 and many other weird engines for fuel injection.
1) Ignition parts (distributor or cam&crank sensors)
2) Injectors and a throttle body adapted to the intake manifold
3) Wiring
4) Computer might need to be programmed for the engine

Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-12-2011, 01:08 AM
Wrenching for a Livin'
 
magnumpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC
Posts: 6,986
Bronco Info: '85 Ford Bronco XLT.
technically, you don't even need a cam sensor. It is just used to fire the injectors sequentially. The spark plugs are fired off the CPS in waste spark. You do have to have something in the distributor hole to drive the oil pump thou. It would be convinent to find a ford cam sensor that would "plug in" the 460. maybe stop by a parts store and rummage thru their stock with a caliper? You might find one close. Or it wouldn't be too hard to make something that modifies the stock distributor to turn it into a cam sensor.

My 393w has a ford edis8 module running the ignition system. I had a machine shop make a spacer to replace the spacer i had that goes between the balance pulley and my aftermarket balancer. I then pressed on an explorer trigger wheel. Swapped on a late model 5.0 explorer tming cover for the crankshaft position sensor mount and used some explorer edis coil packs and plug wires. I modified a 5.0 cam sensor to 'fit' the 351w block.

The EDIS 8 is really simple. It physically just replaces the TFI. There are only 3 scalars in the EEC that need to be changed to get it working correctly. Im pretty sure it will run without these changed, but just at base timing only.

My SuperFord
'85 Bronco......
Welded 14 bolt, HPKingpin D60 w/ lockright, ZF5, NP205, 4.88 gears, SMPFI 393 w/ EDIS(gufx strat), Chevy 52s Front, Inboarded Chevy 63s Rear, DOM heim steering, DOM cage, Saginaw pump, 3/8" fuel system, 200amp 3G Alternator....

ASE Master Automotive Technician
ASE Master Medium/Heavy Truck Technician
magnumpi is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 04:17 AM
Chillin on the Gulf Coast
 
cajunrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida, from Louisiana
Posts: 1,524
Bronco Info: Blue 89' EB 5.0, E4OD, OBDII, Mass Air, Saginaw, Hydroboost, 3G alt
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnumpi View Post
The EDIS 8 is really simple. It physically just replaces the TFI. There are only 3 scalars in the EEC that need to be changed to get it working correctly. Im pretty sure it will run without these changed, but just at base timing only.
What scalars are you changing in the EEC to run EDIS in place of TFI? I would like to step up from TFI on my EECV setup.
cajunrebel is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 07:46 AM
Wrenching for a Livin'
 
magnumpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC
Posts: 6,986
Bronco Info: '85 Ford Bronco XLT.
I don't recall what the exact names of the scalars, but Im pretty sure there are only 3 to mess with:
One is something like "EDIS system present" set to 1
Another is "HDRES" or somthing similar. set to 1 to turn on High data rate electronic spark.
The last is another switch to select either a hall effects or VR sensor for the cam position.

Heres some info on it, the scalar information isn't 100% right:
http://www.corner-carvers.com/forums...ad.php?t=19331

My SuperFord
'85 Bronco......
Welded 14 bolt, HPKingpin D60 w/ lockright, ZF5, NP205, 4.88 gears, SMPFI 393 w/ EDIS(gufx strat), Chevy 52s Front, Inboarded Chevy 63s Rear, DOM heim steering, DOM cage, Saginaw pump, 3/8" fuel system, 200amp 3G Alternator....

ASE Master Automotive Technician
ASE Master Medium/Heavy Truck Technician
magnumpi is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2011, 10:47 AM
Wrenching for a Livin'
 
magnumpi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC
Posts: 6,986
Bronco Info: '85 Ford Bronco XLT.
The above scalars I mentioned are in a foxbody mustang based eec (with a guf* strat) The scalars might be different or not there at all in an older eec. I think you could still get the edis to work thou even if those scalars are not there. The EDIS basically just replaces the TFI module, you don't add any extra wires to the eec for it, unless you run a cam sync/cam position sensor.

And, for a 460 cam sensor, I've heard that a 3.8 ford cam sync is a drop in replacement for the 460 distributor. I have not tried this myself thou

My SuperFord
'85 Bronco......
Welded 14 bolt, HPKingpin D60 w/ lockright, ZF5, NP205, 4.88 gears, SMPFI 393 w/ EDIS(gufx strat), Chevy 52s Front, Inboarded Chevy 63s Rear, DOM heim steering, DOM cage, Saginaw pump, 3/8" fuel system, 200amp 3G Alternator....

ASE Master Automotive Technician
ASE Master Medium/Heavy Truck Technician
magnumpi is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Other Forums > General Discussion/ Bronco and Wheeling related.

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome