Using stock AC unit for air compressor - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-26-2005, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Raf is my Idol!!
 
dblue351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Livermore, Ca
Posts: 1,465
Bronco Info: One ton 91'
iTrader: (0)
Using stock AC unit for air compressor

I never used my AC so I turned the stock unit into on board air. Pumps pretty nicely too!

http://wt4x4.net/tech/onboardair.htm
dblue351 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-26-2005, 09:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Smyrna, GA
Posts: 2,440
Bronco Info: 1988 Bronco Custom I6 EFI
iTrader: (0)
That's pretty sweet. How much pressure will it put out? have you checked it yet?

brad
darb is offline  
post #3 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-26-2005, 10:53 PM
negative creep
 
Andy351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the place where all the junkies go
Posts: 7,017
Bronco Info: bronco with seats and a steering wheel
iTrader: (1)
nice dave, now i don't have to be marks guinea pig

Andy351 is offline  
post #4 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 12:10 AM
Registered User
 
EvlErn69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: In Da 831
Posts: 486
Bronco Info: 1984 Fullsize bronco...
iTrader: (0)
I want a A/C unit now.. sigh... at least a working heater.. sigh....

84 ford bronco - 302 - c6

4 inch coming soon (andys old setup)
EvlErn69 is offline  
post #5 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 03:51 AM
Registered User
 
flourman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, CA
Posts: 1,506
iTrader: (6)
I take it you wired in a switch or do you just turn the AC on with the stock climate controls??



I WHEEL BY BRAILLE
flourman is offline  
post #6 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 09:29 AM
Banned
 
sascrotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 268
Bronco Info: '88 XLT, 302/C6
iTrader: (0)
also interested in how much pressure it puts out.
sascrotch is offline  
post #7 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
Raf is my Idol!!
 
dblue351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Livermore, Ca
Posts: 1,465
Bronco Info: One ton 91'
iTrader: (0)
It is wireded to a switch. I will get the presure numbers ASAP.
dblue351 is offline  
post #8 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 04:32 PM
Something Spiffy
 
Stokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Marysville Wa
Posts: 1,066
Bronco Info: just another Bko on 1tons
iTrader: (0)
a few of us in the NW chapter have it setup like that (not me yet though) my first impression is that it doesnt pump out that much compared to the york, and be shure to oil it often, tim can tell you more about that.

Edit: duh......you have the oil issue covered.
Stokes is offline  
post #9 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Raf is my Idol!!
 
dblue351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Livermore, Ca
Posts: 1,465
Bronco Info: One ton 91'
iTrader: (0)
Ya it is not as fast as a york, but it is way better then nothing!
dblue351 is offline  
post #10 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-27-2005, 09:19 PM
ate lug
 
reptillikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 7,774
Bronco Info: 88 Bronco/96 Bronco/96 F250
iTrader: (4)
Garage
I was just talking about this with another board member yesterday
What kind of oil consumption does it have? I saw you added a pre-oiler, but how fast does it use up the oil in it?
reptillikus is online now  
post #11 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
Raf is my Idol!!
 
dblue351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Livermore, Ca
Posts: 1,465
Bronco Info: One ton 91'
iTrader: (0)
The pre-oiler I got is adjustable. But since I just installed all this yesterday I am not sure the consumption rate. Although I am looking at running a line from the filter after the compressor that catches all the oil before it goes to the tires and make it dump back into the oiler. I have read about thid being done, but have not tackled it yet.
dblue351 is offline  
post #12 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 02:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 47
Bronco Info: 1981 Bronco
iTrader: (0)
I have been wanting to do this and now I really want to do this. Do I have to buy a high temp lubricator/coalescing filter since they will be in the engine compartment? I found one that has a rating for 175 F. Would I have to get one with more temp rating than that? Also you just turn the compressor on by turning your A/C on right?
-Billy

I like dirt
BillyBronco is offline  
post #13 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 12:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: At work....Duh
Posts: 988
Bronco Info: '89 Xlt, '79 Custom
iTrader: (0)
I have an On/Off that i put in the dash to turn mine on and off....hand throttle up to 1700 rpm makes it do pretty well with a 3 gal air tank...

I dont have an oiler, i put a few drops into the intake tube before each use.
Crazedatwork is offline  
post #14 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 03:49 PM
broncofied
 
MANNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lake city, GA
Posts: 1,479
Bronco Info: 1984 bronco xlt 302W c-6, 6 inch 35's
iTrader: (2)
Beutiful. Thats is awesome d blue. I've still got the old compressor of my 302 didn't know of such a method of running it. Now i must do that soon!

Dapper Dan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gacknar View Post
Your in charge of this boat, and we're following you all the way to the bottom!
MANNY is offline  
post #15 of 121 (permalink) Old 02-28-2005, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
Raf is my Idol!!
 
dblue351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Livermore, Ca
Posts: 1,465
Bronco Info: One ton 91'
iTrader: (0)
You will need to run a switch to the dash. The AC control will not turn on and off the AC clutch.
dblue351 is offline  
post #16 of 121 (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 10:19 AM
Well Done Man!
 
welndmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brentwood, CA (East bay area)
Posts: 1,657
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy351
nice dave, now i don't have to be marks guinea pig
We find some other ideas i have to stab on your rig.


Numbers coming soon, we are going to test the FS8 (daves compressor) against a york, CO2 tank, Viviar, and my shop compressor.

Mark
71 BKO 42 inch balloons.
http://www.wildhorses4x4.com/
welndmn is offline  
post #17 of 121 (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 02:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 11
Bronco Info: 1978 Bronco--boxing frame/building 460 and getting ready to hang coils at all 4 corners with dana 60 front+corp14rear
iTrader: (0)
you can tap off of the end of your block with a 45 degree plug after you pull out the filler plug for your oil set up to lube your compressor and then run excess back to a remote cooler or you can just route right back into your fller(I use my egr valve heh heh)--big block set-up in a 1978--works fine---just another easy simple set-up--I route my tube up and across using some hydraulic hose...and I am also looking at a way to double the ratio of air output....nothing yet...
speeed_dmonx is offline  
post #18 of 121 (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 02:59 PM
Registered User
 
mkwalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 230
Bronco Info: 1987 XLT Bronco with 31" Pro Comp Mall Terrains, Pro Comp ES 9000's, 4.10's and Ox Lockers
iTrader: (0)
Great write up and what a great way to save a few extra $$$.

NOR*CAL

"If you don't still surf....You never really did." Dewey Weber, Costa Rica.

"I smoke Sensimilla everyday" Jacob Miller
mkwalt is offline  
post #19 of 121 (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 08:17 PM
Banned
 
sascrotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 268
Bronco Info: '88 XLT, 302/C6
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by welndmn
Numbers coming soon, we are going to test the FS8 (daves compressor) against a york, CO2 tank, Viviar, and my shop compressor.
can't wait to see how it does.
sascrotch is offline  
post #20 of 121 (permalink) Old 03-01-2005, 09:20 PM
Registered User
 
Cody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Monroeville, PA
Posts: 2,421
Bronco Info: 1979 Bronco, 400/c6/np205, dana 44/ 9"rear, 3.50 gears, 4" suspension lift with 35"x12.5"x15" tires
iTrader: (2)
we used the one on the scout to set the bead twice this last weekend on the offraoding trip. it works good and the pressure we hit 120 psi cause our popvalve is a 120psi setoff.
he put a tank on the back to have enough air to run airtool and such.

1979 Bronco
1979 Ford F-100
1979 Camaro
2003 ranger
Cody is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Other Forums > General Discussion/ Bronco and Wheeling related.

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome