Can you reset OBD-II check engine light without scan tool? - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-09-2006, 06:47 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Chris340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Posts: 231
Bronco Info: 87 FSB, Carbed 351/C6, Rough Country 6" lift, 35" BFG MT
Can you reset OBD-II check engine light without scan tool?

My daily driver 2000 Ford Ranger 2.5 check engine light came on today and the first place I looked was the gas cap and sure enough It was loose. (Another reason NJ needs self serve gas) I am 99.9999% sure this is the problem or just a coincidense that the cap was loose. Truck runs fine.

Is there a way to reset the light without a scan tool. I have read that you can disconnect the battery for a while with the headlights on, start and shut off the motor for 25 cycles, etc. Is any of these true?
I refuse to take it to a shop but wanted your opinions before I drop the $100+ on a simple scan tool.

Any help is appreciated.
Chris340 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-09-2006, 06:57 PM
Yup, I'm fullsize....
 
unixdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Peoples Republic of NJ
Posts: 1,791
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT, 351, ARB's, 4" BDS lift, Truxus MT 35's w/4.56 & MT Classic II's, '00 CVPI
I think most of the parts houses like Autozone, Advance Auto and PepBoys will check codes for free. They might also be able to reset them if it's a BS code. Are you do for inspection any time soon?

-unixdude
Your mind is like a parachute, it works much better when it is open.
Prior Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance (the 7 p's)
Code:
 _     _ __   _ _____ _     _ ______  _     _ ______  _______
 |     | | \  |   |    \___/  |     \ |     | |     \ |______
 |_____| |  \_| __|__ _/   \_ |_____/ |_____| |_____/ |______
unixdude is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-09-2006, 07:28 PM
Registered User
 
peteyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 2,519
Bronco Info: 1978 Bronco XLT, 6" lift, 31's/35's/37's
Or you can remove the battery cable for 10 minutes and it should reset.

I'm Bronco-less again, but it was For A Good Cause
peteyg is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-09-2006, 07:38 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Chris340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Posts: 231
Bronco Info: 87 FSB, Carbed 351/C6, Rough Country 6" lift, 35" BFG MT
I'm good till August.

Thanks for the info on the parts houses, Next time I pass one I will stop in. I am just afraid their inexperience or desire to drum up work will make matters worse. Its worth a shot if I can watch them. Thanks

I will try the battery thing first. Thanks
Chris340 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-09-2006, 07:47 PM
Registered User
 
Marauder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boone/Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,419
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8L 351W, 4" BDS Lift, & 33" Procomp MTs, Custom Console, Sparcos, OBA
I think it would be smarter to just get it checked out first to make sure its not an O2 sensor or something that went out.
Marauder is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-09-2006, 07:50 PM
Registered User
 
BurnedB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Peterson's or upside down
Posts: 1,992
Bronco Info: D60 Fronts 4 Sale.
if that all it was it will reset within a couple drive cycles, and the evap monitor will retest and pass within a week or so.

Zuk buggy.
CJ 6 buggy
unimog/yj thing
IH 4700 tow rig. dt466
Done anything stupid recently?
BurnedB is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-10-2006, 09:18 AM
Banned
 
marv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shell Knob, MO, USA
Posts: 6,933
Bronco Info: '89 EB, 45K coil, F250 springs, CatCo, ProForce, duals, 9mm wires, Warn hubs, rust free tailgate
If I've been on the highway for an hour or two, shut the engine off and then restart it, I'll get a BS engine check light. Then if I shut it off again and restart it, it's okay...

I think it has something to do with the single CatCo, O2 sensor and temperature.
marv is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-10-2006, 11:50 AM
The Anti Yam!
 
Gacknar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Georgia, Douglasville
Posts: 22,664
Bronco Info: 86 Bronco XLT 357w/AOD
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnedB
if that all it was it will reset within a couple drive cycles, and the evap monitor will retest and pass within a week or so.

Every OBDII system I have seen that turned on the light becouse of a loose gas cap turned it back off once the cap was retightened.

Get it scanned at the local chaine parts store.

Quote:
Originally Posted by marv
If I've been on the highway for an hour or two, shut the engine off and then restart it, I'll get a BS engine check light.
Every time it does that it stores a code in the CM, all you need is a piece of wire and 3 minuts to test it and see what code it is. Then you will know.

86 Bronco - 357W/AOD - 6" suspension lift, 3" body lift - 38" TSL Radials - 456:1 Gears
Sequential Multiport Mass-Air Fuel Injection from a 93 Mustang GT

My SuperMotors Site - My Engine

The Greatest Thread on FSB
Gacknar is online now  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-10-2006, 11:58 AM
Sway Is My Fan Club.
 
Mels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: West of Ad-lanna, Jaw-ja.
Posts: 12,682
Bronco Info: '78 Ranger XLT - 429/C6, 4"s/35s. '88 XLT - 351/C6, 6"s/35s
I'm with BurnedB and Gacknar. My book is out in the truck, and I can't remember, but I think it's after so many miles or so many drive cycles if it doesn't throw the code again, it will clear itself. More than likely if the cap was loose, that was your problem. My teacher for the Electronic Engine Controls class said any time a car comes in with a P0440 code, he instantly goes and tightens the gas cap.

'66 F100 -- Little Black
'78 Bronco -- Brutus
Mels is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2006, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Chris340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manalapan, NJ
Posts: 231
Bronco Info: 87 FSB, Carbed 351/C6, Rough Country 6" lift, 35" BFG MT
Disconnected the battery today, cleaned the terminals while I was at it. I didn't think it would but sure enough the light went out. All back to normal.

Thanks for all help and suggestions!

Chris
Chris340 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Other Forums > General Discussion/ Bronco and Wheeling related.

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome