can you add a light to a snowblower? - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 09:47 AM Thread Starter
Building gold from crap
 
blueoval78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 2,640
can you add a light to a snowblower?

i just bought a 9 1/2 hp brigss snowblower, but it donest have a light on it, i was thinking it might be a good idea to have one, maybe, i dont know, this may be the first year that i actually do any kind of snow removal, in the past,it was drive over the driveway lots, for the majority of the winter, our drive way was 2 feet higher than the street

but seriosly is there a way to hook up like a simple light?

someday............
blueoval78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 11:25 AM
In The Matrix
 
Broncobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,065
Bronco Info: 1994 Bronco
ducktape and a flashlight?

Broncobob is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 11:33 AM Thread Starter
Building gold from crap
 
blueoval78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 2,640
thought about the red neck aproach, but, its too new for that, if it was older, id be all over that one

someday............
blueoval78 is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 03:22 PM
Registered User
 
hmthesing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stacy, MN
Posts: 1,324
Bronco Info: '89 EB 302 C6
Should be able to. My dad's has a light on it. Makes it really nice to do the end of the driveway where it's really dark. Maybe try a Google search on it, should find something.

hmthesing is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 04:38 PM
Screw the Jeep Thing
 
Bronco85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 4,674
You don't really need a light on it. My parents just got a snowblower with a light last winter. It's nice but I don't notice any really advantage to it.

you should be able to go to the Maker of your SnowBlower and get the Light kit from them. And a Battery. Or go to walmart and buy a small battery and a 12Volt Offroad light, and bolt it on somewhere.


CLICK ON THE BANNER MY 85 BRONCO (RIP old friend)
'84 Bronco (SOLD) - I6 Motor, ALL STOCK
'93 Bronco Eddie Baurer (SOLD) - 302, E40D, 1356, 6" Lift, 35x12.5 BFG AT's
'94 Bronco XLT - Build to play hard
Bronco85 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 05:20 PM
Registered User
 
hmthesing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stacy, MN
Posts: 1,324
Bronco Info: '89 EB 302 C6
What do you need a battery for? It should be able to run directly off the engine.

EDIT: Check this thread out, has some good info.
http://www.abbysguide.com/ope/discus...17757-0-1.html

hmthesing is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Building gold from crap
 
blueoval78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 2,640
ya i figured i should be able to run it right off the engine, ill have to look into it some more,

someday............
blueoval78 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 05:57 PM
Registered User
 
djlarryp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hot Springs, AR
Posts: 927
Bronco Info: 1978 xlt ranger
old parts off of a riding lawnmower maybe? i don't really know, someone already beat me to the ductape and flashlight.
djlarryp is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 06:14 PM
ASSSSS-HOOOOOLE
 
Oldyeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,449
Bronco Info: Broncos Are Gay.
hmmm, maybe like one of those battery powered bicycle lights? y'know the sleek looking ones that go on the handlebars? Maybe fab up a mount or mount it to the handle?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4x4bronco925 View Post
Oldyeller seems to be in-human. He never makes mistakes and is always right. Enough said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 & 3-inline6's
my rear is getting real sloppy
Oldyeller is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 06:29 PM
In The Matrix
 
Broncobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,065
Bronco Info: 1994 Bronco
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueoval78
thought about the red neck aproach, but, its too new for that, if it was older, id be all over that one
*clears throat* Pardon me, I meant to say zip ties and a flash light.

Broncobob is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 06:50 PM
Screw the Jeep Thing
 
Bronco85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 4,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmthesing
What do you need a battery for? It should be able to run directly off the engine.

EDIT: Check this thread out, has some good info.
http://www.abbysguide.com/ope/discus...17757-0-1.html
I figured IT needed one. I've never delt with them other then bought that way.


CLICK ON THE BANNER MY 85 BRONCO (RIP old friend)
'84 Bronco (SOLD) - I6 Motor, ALL STOCK
'93 Bronco Eddie Baurer (SOLD) - 302, E40D, 1356, 6" Lift, 35x12.5 BFG AT's
'94 Bronco XLT - Build to play hard
Bronco85 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 06:57 PM
Registered User
 
hmthesing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stacy, MN
Posts: 1,324
Bronco Info: '89 EB 302 C6
I've never seen one with a battery, that's why I was asking.

hmthesing is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-02-2005, 08:55 PM
Registered User
 
broncoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 51
Check by the flywheel shroud if you see a single wire hanging out there that isn't attached to anything thats for the light. The light runs on AC current and there is no battery required. Most snowblower motors come with a lighting coil now, but if yours didn't then just go down with the model and serial number of the motor not the snowblower and buy the correct lighting coil and light and your done.

I worked for the Sears service department for years and they sourced all the motors the same, that is a 8hp blower with a light, used the exact same motor as one with out. We also used to offer a light kit for those that didn't come with one.

Hope this helps..
broncoguy is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-03-2005, 11:02 AM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,491
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
Quote:
Originally Posted by broncoguy
The light runs on AC current and there is no battery required.
AC current??? what power rating does a small engine put out on its own like that??

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-03-2005, 01:53 PM Thread Starter
Building gold from crap
 
blueoval78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 2,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by broncoguy
Check by the flywheel shroud if you see a single wire hanging out there that isn't attached to anything thats for the light. The light runs on AC current and there is no battery required. Most snowblower motors come with a lighting coil now, but if yours didn't then just go down with the model and serial number of the motor not the snowblower and buy the correct lighting coil and light and your done.

I worked for the Sears service department for years and they sourced all the motors the same, that is a 8hp blower with a light, used the exact same motor as one with out. We also used to offer a light kit for those that didn't come with one.

Hope this helps..

that does, because i was wondering what the hell that wire was for

someday............
blueoval78 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Other Forums > Anything Else

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome