My Computer is running slow! - Ford Bronco Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 53 (permalink) Old 01-18-2008, 01:01 AM Thread Starter
Zombie Hunter

Bronco Info: 1993 Eddie Bauer, 351, 5.8 liter V8, somebody come help me put all this junk i just bought on!!
My Computer is running slow!

Seeing that I have received multiple PM's about computers, I have taken the time to write this guide out and make it a sticky. I work on computers for a living, i make no claim at being "the best" at it, there other people that know more than me.

Microsoft is the most popular Operating System in the world, last numbers I heard was around 98% of computer owners run Microsoft Windows in some form or the other as their primary Operating System.

Microsoft Windows isn't known for it's organizational skills. When you open and close a program, it's the equivalent to trying to get your kids to keep your toolbox clean.

Your toolbox is very organized, the teenager comes in, takes the tool, uses it, and puts it back in the general vicinity of where it belongs (if they put it back at all). Windows is the same way. When you open a program, it uses files from your hard drive, and then "kind of" puts the program back in the general vicinity where it belongs.

This guide will help you clean up your hard drive. It's based on a Windows XP application, but should work for Vista too, if you're still using 95/98, it will work for you, but your Operating System is no longer supported by Microsoft and should be upgraded. Linux users, well, i could do a whole nother thread on that, so we're going to stick to Windows. I am also going to stick to the two most popular internet browsers, Firefox and Internet Explorer.

If your browser is slow to load web pages:

Step 1: Clear your cache (pronounced cash, not cashay just an FYI)

In FireFox:

1. Click the Tools menu

2. scroll down to "Clear Private Data" and click it.