I can't connect to FSB! - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-18-2008, 03:18 AM Thread Starter
Zombie Hunter
 
Bronco Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Land of Misfit Toys
Posts: 13,699
Bronco Info: 1993 Eddie Bauer, 351, 5.8 liter V8, somebody come help me put all this junk i just bought on!!
iTrader: (12)
I can't connect to FSB!

Having trouble connecting to FSB? Connection running slow?

This is a simple guide to help you check to make sure it's not on your end, prior to the staff checking this end.

A good majority of the time, connections to FSB are not on FSB's end, it's usually on the user's end.

And just so you know FSB goes down nightly around 4 a.m. (EST) for about hour for maintenance and upgrades. This happens every night. This prevents FSB for being down for any long periods of time all at once.

FSB rarely goes down, the way the server is set up, if it goes down, it will be back up in a matter of 5 minutes. Unless there is a major outage somewhere in the United States.

Your donations and Membership dollars go towards nice little things like that.

With that being said, on to how to help you out.

The first thing to do is clear your cache:

Here is a guide on how to keep your computer running optimally. Clearing your cache and your cookies is included in that guide. Please clear your cookies and try everything in that guide first, including running the disk defragmenter and disk clean up. Believe it or not, that will affect your connection to FSB and to other web pages.

If that doesn't work, and you've tried everything on your end:

We will need some information on your connection, which include a Trace Route and a Ping Check

A Trace Route:

This basically traces your network route to FSB, and how you get here.

Running a trace route is really easy.

Step one:

Click Start and Click "Run"



Step Two:

This happy little box will appear:



inside that happy little box, type "cmd" and hit "enter"

Step Three:

A new happy little box will appear on your screen, this is called your "command prompt"




WARNING: Don't screw around in here, you can screw things up pretty bad on your computer from this prompt, just type exactly as instructed


Step 3a.:

We need to be able to cut and paste from the command prompt, so your going to want to set something up.

A) Click on the little black C:/.
B) A little drop down menu will appear. click "properties"

and this happy little window will show up:



C) make sure the box "Quick Edit Mode" has a check mark. Then hit "Okay"

This allows you to cut and paste from the prompt window.

Step Four:

Type this next to your name: "Tracert www.fullsizebronco.com"

then hit enter, the screen will start to scroll and it will test times through your network.

It will look like this when completed:



Step Five:

Copy and Paste that information to FSB. We will help you decipher it, don't worry.

Copying and Pasting in the command prompt is a little bit tricky, highlight the entire section then click the little c:/ box again, click "edit" and copy, like this:



Step Six:

Post it in this thread so we can help you out, make sure you get all the information we need, it should look like this:

Quote:
Tracing route to fullsizebronco.com [72.18.199.92]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * 2336 ms ip72-196-148-1.cl.ri.cox.net [72.196.148.1]
2 7 ms 9 ms 5 ms 68.9.13.1
3 30 ms 27 ms 26 ms provdsrj01-ge0702.rd.ri.cox.net [68.9.14.5]
4 29 ms 30 ms 26 ms provdsrj01-so010.0.rd.ri.cox.net [68.9.15.1]
5 37 ms 39 ms 35 ms gbr2.cb1ma.ip.att.net [12.123.40.190]
6 37 ms 34 ms 35 ms tbr1.cb1ma.ip.att.net [12.122.5.61]
7 36 ms 36 ms 34 ms tbr2.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.10.22]
8 37 ms 35 ms 44 ms ggr6.n54ny.ip.att.net [12.122.86.113]
9 33 ms 35 ms 35 ms 64.212.107.97
10 106 ms 107 ms 106 ms PREMIA-NETWORKS-INC.ge-4-2-0.412.ar4.phx1.gblx.n
et [67.17.197.126]
11 113 ms 113 ms 114 ms las1nvus-b4k1-ge1-3-aplushosting.premianet.com [
64.235.62.37]
12 112 ms 111 ms 114 ms serverpoint.com [64.235.62.50]
13 113 ms 115 ms 111 ms srv01.roanokedns.com [72.18.199.92]

Now onto a ping check:

a Ping check basically shows at what rate your computer is connecting to the network that FSB is on. It determines "packet loss" (information loss) and other things. It will help us decipher if your problem is the ISP, your network, or if it is on our end.

Bring up your command prompt like above.

Instead of going the trace route path, we are going to type a different command.

Type this next to your name: "ping www.fullsizebronco.com"

Copy and paste it to this thread, it will look like this:

Quote:
Pinging fullsizebronco.com [72.18.199.92] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 72.18.199.92: bytes=32 time=3143ms TTL=46
Reply from 72.18.199.92: bytes=32 time=114ms TTL=46
Reply from 72.18.199.92: bytes=32 time=112ms TTL=46
Reply from 72.18.199.92: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=46

Ping statistics for 72.18.199.92:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 111ms, Maximum = 3143ms, Average = 870ms
In conclusion:

This information won't mean much to someone who is not computer illiterate, it helps us check things out to make sure you are connecting alright.

It will also help us, help you. This information gives us detailed information about how you connect and what is or isn't there, that may need to be there.

If you have any questions about any of this, feel free to PM me.

~Bronco Rob

Bronco Rob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2008, 12:56 AM
a renegade of funk
 
95thebroncoman351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: new hampshire,
Posts: 3,244
Bronco Info: 1995,351,33" meat 4"in roughcountry lift,flowmaster,pioneer sound, yukon axles, new england rust.
iTrader: (0)
any different steps for the vista rob?
just curious for any future problems.
95thebroncoman351 is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2008, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Zombie Hunter
 
Bronco Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Land of Misfit Toys
Posts: 13,699
Bronco Info: 1993 Eddie Bauer, 351, 5.8 liter V8, somebody come help me put all this junk i just bought on!!
iTrader: (12)
shouldn't be any different in Vista.

Bronco Rob is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-22-2008, 02:20 AM
JB
Dead Horse
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,942
Bronco Info: 95 XL
iTrader: (4)
its no different in vista, Run is just harder to find
JB is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-08-2008, 12:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: houston
Posts: 46
Bronco Info: 1993 Bronco Eddie Baur
iTrader: (0)
sounds complicated? is it?
Mike

You dont get to pass go, nor collect any cash ..
you kinda LOSE IT
mike045z is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-27-2010, 09:59 AM
I did all for the Nookie
 
huggyb1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana The Middle
Posts: 7,272
Bronco Info: 89' Bronco 5.8l Variable Speed V8, Forward, Rev, Turns left, right, stops, and everything.
iTrader: (0)
Garage
When I go online at home I can get FSB up but then I get this tab was recovered and then cannot connect to fullsizebronco.com and I can't seam to find a reson why. What should I look at next.


351W, ZF5-47, BW1356, 10.25/D60
FOTM DEC. 2011
"Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati,"
When all else fails roll over and play dead.
huggyb1972 is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 04:19 PM
not banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sun Diego, CA
Posts: 5,997
Bronco Info: 82 XLT Lariat, 351W, C6, NP208, 4.56:1, 37x13.5s, all sheet metal replaced
iTrader: (10)
IP address banned

when i am at work, i try to connect to FSB, to kill time.
however, i am not able, and i get a warning saying the IP address is banned.

Is this topic up for discussion? or OBE?

Where we go one, we go all.
Mickaila's Rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
I guess most of our members are just WEB WHEELERs and dont need public land?
mickaila is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 05:18 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spring Grove, Illinois
Posts: 12,544
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco
iTrader: (22)
Not a 100% sure but you might try sending the IP to an admin to see if they can run it.
Ranger429 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 06:39 PM
Registered User
 
Cheesehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,439
Bronco Info: 1988 XLT 5.0l w/AOD & Rebuilt BW1356
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickaila View Post
when i am at work, i try to connect to FSB, to kill time.
however, i am not able, and i get a warning saying the IP address is banned.

Is this topic up for discussion? or OBE?
This is probably due to you administrator restrictions on you work i-net. Crazy but most places think you should be working at work not looking at forums.



Stock 302, 3g Alternator upgrade, Catco y-pipe/Cat to high flow muffler, AOD tranny w/remote filter, rebuilt BW 1356, sliding rear side windows
Cheesehead is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-04-2014, 09:03 PM
not banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sun Diego, CA
Posts: 5,997
Bronco Info: 82 XLT Lariat, 351W, C6, NP208, 4.56:1, 37x13.5s, all sheet metal replaced
iTrader: (10)
here is what it says, is it my admin? it sounds more like FSB:
"Sorry. The administrator has banned your IP address. To contact the administrator click FSB Forums - Contact Us"

Where we go one, we go all.
Mickaila's Rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
I guess most of our members are just WEB WHEELERs and dont need public land?
mickaila is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-05-2014, 03:53 AM
Harley's & Bronco's FTW!
 
BikerPepe`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N.E. WA
Posts: 32,758
Bronco Info: '95 XLT, 5.8/E4OD/MassAir/6" lift/4.56's/35x12.5 BFG AT-KO2
iTrader: (4)
Garage
If you're logging on with the same profile and it's working at one and not the other, it's nothing we admins could do to you, as far as I know.

"When life throws you a curve... LEAN INTO IT!"

SuperMotors - Since 2002
BikerPepe` is online now  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 10:53 PM
not banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sun Diego, CA
Posts: 5,997
Bronco Info: 82 XLT Lariat, 351W, C6, NP208, 4.56:1, 37x13.5s, all sheet metal replaced
iTrader: (10)
ok, thanks, yes I am using the same profile. i only have one.
it must be my work admins, it just sounds oddly worded.
mj

Where we go one, we go all.
Mickaila's Rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
I guess most of our members are just WEB WHEELERs and dont need public land?
mickaila is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 11:49 PM
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 23,639
Bronco Info: pile of parts
iTrader: (4)
This happened to me when a account got banned for spam. It bans the IP address as well.

Best thing you can do is find your work IP address and send me a PM with it.

'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-10-2014, 02:27 AM
Harley's & Bronco's FTW!
 
BikerPepe`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N.E. WA
Posts: 32,758
Bronco Info: '95 XLT, 5.8/E4OD/MassAir/6" lift/4.56's/35x12.5 BFG AT-KO2
iTrader: (4)
Garage
didn't even think of that. sorry.

"When life throws you a curve... LEAN INTO IT!"

SuperMotors - Since 2002
BikerPepe` is online now  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-11-2014, 09:59 PM
not banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sun Diego, CA
Posts: 5,997
Bronco Info: 82 XLT Lariat, 351W, C6, NP208, 4.56:1, 37x13.5s, all sheet metal replaced
iTrader: (10)
i'll see what i can do, our admins have lots of stuff locked down.
its coming through a DOD pipe, with 100s of thousands of users. it would make sense that someone, at some point jacked it up and got us all banned.

Where we go one, we go all.
Mickaila's Rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
I guess most of our members are just WEB WHEELERs and dont need public land?
mickaila is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-12-2014, 11:40 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spring Grove, Illinois
Posts: 12,544
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jopes View Post

Best thing you can do is find your work IP address and send me a PM with it.
Didn't someone mention that about a week or so ago........
Ranger429 is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-12-2014, 06:24 PM
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 23,639
Bronco Info: pile of parts
iTrader: (4)
http://www.whatismyip.com/

'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-14-2014, 02:36 PM
not banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sun Diego, CA
Posts: 5,997
Bronco Info: 82 XLT Lariat, 351W, C6, NP208, 4.56:1, 37x13.5s, all sheet metal replaced
iTrader: (10)
APv4 address: 159.71.124.134

Where we go one, we go all.
Mickaila's Rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
I guess most of our members are just WEB WHEELERs and dont need public land?
mickaila is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Welcome > Suggestions, Feedback & Site Help

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome