Throttle and TV Cable Adjustment - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
Throttle and TV Cable Adjustment

Hi- I have a 1987 Bronco with a 5.0 L 302 V8 and a AOD transmission. My transmission has always shifted roughly and not at the right time. Its always seems like it gears down when its not supposed to, then gears back up again. Basically, going in between gears constantly. It also seems like it revs up the rpm's before it finally switches to the next gear, especially in the lower gears. I was told the only way to adjust the transmission on a AOD Transmission is to adjust the TV Cable. How do you go by doing this? In addition, the throttle is pretty stiff and seems to stick sometimes. Is there a way to adjust the throttle cable also? I would told to lubricate the cables real well.
Thanks-
asdaven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 09:39 PM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,321
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
Watch this video

6L3hNzxdiYw
sackman9975 is offline  
post #3 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
Could the problems im having with the transmission have to do with the TV Cable Adjustment? If it is, is it too tight or too loose. I heard that tight is better, but like that video says "Neutral" is best.
asdaven is offline  
post #4 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 09:49 PM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,321
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdaven View Post
Could the problems im having with the transmission have to do with the TV Cable Adjustment? If it is, is it too tight or too loose. I heard that tight is better, but like that video says "Neutral" is best.
Do exactly as the video says. An improper adjustment on that tranny can result in premature failure.

I believe that your issue is most likely from the TV cable being out of adjustment. Kicking in and out, and holding low gears for a long time is a sign that it needs it.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #5 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
And is it alright to do it like that? I heard you need to test the PSI or something? Does it sound like my TV Cable is loose or tight?
Thanks-
asdaven is offline  
post #6 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 09:57 PM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,321
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdaven View Post
And is it alright to do it like that? I heard you need to test the PSI or something? Does it sound like my TV Cable is loose or tight?
Thanks-
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
Do exactly as the video says.
Sounds like its too tight. Like it's registering too much throttle pressure, since its kicking in and out.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #7 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
BroncoRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,384
Bronco Info: 1988 F150 4x4 302 M5OD 3.55
Do what video says and you'll be fine....lubricate the linkage on your throttle body with lithium grease

1991 F250 4x4 HD - sold
1988 F150 4x4 - sold
1989 Bronco - sold
2000 Ford Excursion V10 - current
BroncoRN is offline  
post #8 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-15-2009, 11:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 65
Bronco Info: 90 5.8, E4OD, 3G, Saginaw,external tranny filter, mostly stock
some other questions-how's the truck otherwise? milage, maintenance, etc. you note that it has always done this, since new, or since you've had it? I ask because I doubt the tv cable stretched or slackened that much over time. I've seen the odd shift and hopping in and out of overdrive on a 302/oad in an f150 and it turned out to be a intake leak. truck didn't idle fast, ran smooth, etc, but there was just enough torque loss from that lost cylinder that your foot had to be more in it to go, which in turn affected the tv cable, since it is attached to the same butterfly linkage as the throttle cable. might do a quick check of your spark plugs and see if one or more of them look fouled, lean, etc. you might find something else is the root cause of the shift issue. this chart is helpful if you don't have a mechanic buddy reading to analyze the plugs
http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/tech_su...qs/faqread.asp
broncoOK is offline  
post #9 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
Thanks-
I am changing the spark plugs, wires, and replacing the ignition coil soon. The Transmission was flushed not too long ago, but I will check the Transmission Fluid for the heck of it. What about adjusting the cable that comes from the actual accelerator pedal? It seems stiff and almost seems to stick a little at times.
Thanks-
asdaven is offline  
post #10 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 10:28 AM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 14,453
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Garage
yo!
Also,
Throttle Valve (TV) Brass Bushing "...are known to have problems with TV cable adjustment, and it's often due to the original rubber bushing cracking & falling out while driving, which normally destroys the transmission in a couple of miles. But it's so common that Ford makes this upgraded brass bushing (see pic for Ford part number), which is cheap (~$10) & easy to install..."
Source: by Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at SuperMotors.net

96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is online now  
post #11 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
I actually think it was too loose, its better now. I basically followed the video and maybe put a very minute amount of tension on the cable adjusting it. But, it shifts smoother now. It does do the back and forth thing between gears, but its better. Before it was letting the rpms run up before it would shift.
Thanks-
asdaven is offline  
post #12 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
Sorry, but heres a dumb question, when you all are talking "tight" and "loose", do you mean tight and loose at the throttle body end of the cable? Like if there is tension from the adjuster to the end of the cable, is that tight?
Thanks-
asdaven is offline  
post #13 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,240
Bronco Info: '87 EB Bronco 5.0 L EFI
Shoot. Im scared if I adjusted the TV cable wrong. It feels fine driving, but I read your TV cable can be way off and it feel fine and that you need to check the pressure with a gauge while you adjust it. I don't want to crap up my transmission.
asdaven is offline  
post #14 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-16-2009, 11:34 PM
Registered User
 
BroncoRN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,384
Bronco Info: 1988 F150 4x4 302 M5OD 3.55
Adjust TV cable so it not or loose but "neutral" just like video says. Also is your tranny fluid low? Are you driving in OD or D? If you're doing a lot of around town driving in OD tranny is constantly gonna be switching between 3rd and OD. Put it in D around town and in OD on the interstate at speeds of 60 and above.

1991 F250 4x4 HD - sold
1988 F150 4x4 - sold
1989 Bronco - sold
2000 Ford Excursion V10 - current
BroncoRN is offline  
post #15 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 12:10 AM
Lick my balls
 
waltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: far from reality
Posts: 13,135
Bronco Info: 1989 bronco, 3" suspension lift, rebuilt 302 with cam, 33' big-os
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
Watch this video

6L3hNzxdiYw
That was soooo easy!!! I don't need the adjustment but I've read the description for this adjustment in the manual and it seemed more complicated. Thanks for posting that sack, it went straight to bookmarks!
That is good to know as well, thanks to you Miesk

there is no such thing as stupid questions, just stupid people.
Only that in you which is me can hear what I'm saying
No matter where you go or what you do, you live your entire life within the confines of your head
I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it

waltman is offline  
post #16 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 09:01 AM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 14,453
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Garage
The video by Ken is ok.
I'd do this;
Throttle Valve (TV) Cable Adjustment & Diagrams; Using a 100 psi pressure gauge to the TV port on transmission & with engine off & on.....
Source: by Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at SuperMotors.net


--
yw Waltman

96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is online now  
post #17 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 11:24 AM
Lick my balls
 
waltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: far from reality
Posts: 13,135
Bronco Info: 1989 bronco, 3" suspension lift, rebuilt 302 with cam, 33' big-os
....Meisk uhm...reading, better than video?

REALLY?


there is no such thing as stupid questions, just stupid people.
Only that in you which is me can hear what I'm saying
No matter where you go or what you do, you live your entire life within the confines of your head
I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it

waltman is offline  
post #18 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 01:40 PM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 14,453
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltman View Post
....Meisk uhm...reading, better than video?

REALLY?

yo Walt!
Ken's Video shows the manual adjustment process; Ford/Steve's shows the same plus the so-called "preferred method" (see Baumann/TCI, etc for their recommendations, some Links below) using a pressure gauge.
The vid is ok, but I'd jump on da gauge process.


Throttle Valve (TV) Cable Adjustment; Using a 100 psi pressure gauge to the TV port on transmission - "...NOTHING can ruin an AOD transmission as quickly as improper TV settings. If you are unclear or uncomfortable with the procedure do not attempt this adjustment yourself. This information is meant to supplement, not replace, information that can be found in Ford service manuals for adjusting the TV pressure..."
Source: by tciauto.com


Throttle Valve (TV) Cable Adjustment; Using a 100 psi pressure gauge to the TV port on transmission; "...If you don't have a gauge, or you are looking for a roughly correct place to start, you can remove the cable from the throttle body lever, and adjust it so that the cable is neither slack, nor under tension when the cable is reinstalled on the throttle body lever. This will get you fairly close. We do not reccomend this for a final setting. You should always use a gauge to verify your TV setting..."
Source: by Mike B at Baumann Engineering baumannengineering.com


Throttle Valve (TV) Cable & Adjustment; "The best way to set the TV pressure is with a pressure gauge tapped into the side port of the transmission.. There is a tool you put on the end of the TV cable to set some preload and then you adjust the TV cable so that it reads exactly 5 PSI..(in neutral, with the motor warm)..." read more
Source: by MYLITTLEHO at corral.net via magnumpi at FSB

96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is online now  
post #19 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 02:36 PM
Lick my balls
 
waltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: far from reality
Posts: 13,135
Bronco Info: 1989 bronco, 3" suspension lift, rebuilt 302 with cam, 33' big-os
just messing with ya, the more info the better.

there is no such thing as stupid questions, just stupid people.
Only that in you which is me can hear what I'm saying
No matter where you go or what you do, you live your entire life within the confines of your head
I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it

waltman is offline  
post #20 of 62 (permalink) Old 12-17-2009, 03:59 PM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 14,453
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Garage
ok..lol.. you are hereby entitled to 3 More Messin' With Me posts as an Early Christmas Present from us...

Yeah, more is better... Would like to see what a tranny shop charges for the adjustment, both versions.

Sixlitre had his done with a free bushing install by a local good-guy mechanic up there in da frozen North

96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is online now  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome