2 E4OD transmissions and still same PROBLEM - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
2 E4OD transmissions and still same PROBLEM

7 Months and going guys. Heres what I have replaced since my Bronco went into limp mode:

#1 Transmission:
VSS
MLPS (New Connector)
3 Solenoid packs
1 Solenoid Harness
3 PSOM (Speedometer Cluster)
1 ECU (Computer
Replaced all fuses
All New Fluid and Filter

After buying all these things, and checking every WIRE in the harness, Bronco will still not shift out of low gear. NOW....

I bought another Transmission Rebuild from a '93 thinking It was last option....


Nope! still will not shift on its own. The odds of all these parts Ive replaced and the people I have talked too is astronimical! You would have better odds at winning the lottery.

Still get the same codes, 624, 638. EPC circuit low, transmission temp out of range. My OD does not work either. Was blinking, but now does nothing. Any one else know what to check? Im thinking there is a cross somewhere in the wiring thats grounding out my solenoid pack?
92_chaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
Believe me, a c6 is coming very soon, I hate these e4od transmissions
92_chaser is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 08:29 PM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,066
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
Does the speedo work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮)۶

catsnw is offline  
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 08:30 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
Yes sir
92_chaser is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-15-2012, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
2k worth of stuff and not one part has fixed or changed its symptoms
92_chaser is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 12:11 AM
Registered User
 
fire bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 425
Bronco Info: Bright F'in Yellow retired fire department chief buggy with 351
did you make sure your tranny cooler is working/flushed. Maybe it got some gunk in there and screwing things up? Change the temp sensor if there is one, get the cooler and tranny completely flushed (not just fluid changed). Or get rid of the stock cooler and put in an aftermarket one. Maybe use a high end oil like Royal purple. Expensive, but I put that in my tranny and it made a world of difference, better milage, better shifting, and probably runs cools. Also, (the most annoying part) trace all the wiring and make sure none of it is rubbing raw anywhere from frame/body contact. Make sure all pins on connectors are fully seated. Since you replaced all those things and still have issues, I'd bet it's a wiring issue.. I'm guessing you're not replacing all the vehicle wiring in all this...it's the only thing not changed

94 bronco w/ 351, 3.55 gears, 33x12.5x15 procomp a/t, msd blaster ss coil, msd cap/rotor, KN gen 2 intake, Napa performance wires, e3 plugs, 4" Rancho lift, much more to come when $$$ comes around
fire bronco is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 01:23 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
Yea I forgot to mention I flushed the trans lines allready too.
If its the wiring do you know where to buy whole harnesses besides pick n pull?
I looked on rockauto.com but they didn't have a transmission harnesses
92_chaser is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 12:11 PM
Never Done
 
kemicalburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: OC,Oregon
Posts: 6,816
arent the solenoid packs and associated wiring pinned different from 92-93

For Sale - 94 XLT 357/E4OD Trans-go stage II
6" Stage II ProComp,35" BFG/AT 4.88 f (aussie) / r (open) / Custom Sliders, Custom bumper Warn HS9500, Edelbrock truck upper/lower,JBA headers,Custom Y pipe hi flow cat & Full 3"
kemicalburns is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 12:31 PM
Charlie doesn't surf!!
 
jermil01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: JAX, FLA
Posts: 13,114
Bronco Info: 1992 xlt, 351EFI, .040, E4OD, D44 SAS w/Trutrac,Detroit locked 8.8, MAF conv, Tweeced
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemicalburns View Post
arent the solenoid packs and associated wiring pinned different from 92-93

This definitely sounds like it's wiring related..I had something similar come up when I swapped a '95 engine harness into my '92. did you change the engine harness on your rig?

check out post #117 in my MAF conversion thread. I cover every single bit of wiring for the E4OD in this. Might be useful.

Mass Air Coversion for my '92
jermil01 is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 01:23 PM
Roller rockers are gay
 
TheUnforgiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodridge, Illinois
Posts: 19,289
Bronco Info: 2005 Chevrolet Venture, 1997 Acura TL, 1994 Chevy Caprice
have you ever thought that maybe the EEC itself is at fault?

2005 Chevy Venture. 1997 Acura TL. $500 beater. 1994 Chevy Caprice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Bronco" John Galt View Post
New nuts are in the plan.
"Kids, they see the good in everything and through their eyes, they open ours." - Hank Davis

"To be easily amused is to live most of your life smiling."
TheUnforgiven is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 06:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 1,287
Bronco Info: 1990 F150, 5.8 w/GT40X heads, Lightning intake, E4OD, 33" tires, detroit locker rear & true trac fro
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUnforgiven View Post
have you ever thought that maybe the EEC itself is at fault?
If you look closely, says he has replaced it already.

tim
TS 90F150 is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 09:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 31
does it need to be re-learned?? are the e40d that bad?? and how hard is the c6 swap??
drialec is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 09:16 PM
Owned 20 Years
 
Shadofax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where havn't I lived? Now in Erie, CO
Posts: 17,133
Bronco Info: 95XLT351 E4OD SAS 44/ARB/Alloy shafts-joints. D60 rear/Detroit. 4wheel disc,37" MTR Kevlar, 4.56etc.
I know a lot of folks insist on diagnosing and fixing problems on their own, but with all the time and parts you've thrown at it, wouldn't it have made sense to bring it to a dealer and pay them to diagnose and then decide if you want them to do the work or take it back and do it yourself?

______________________
Click my supermotors link for tech on TCase, SAS, OBA, Soft Top, Overhead Console, Stock bumper Winch install, much more..:
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/628



Shadofax is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
I took it to two different shops who couldn't tell me what's wrong. I'm on the brink of c6
92_chaser is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
The only two things I havnt replaced are the tps sensor and map sensor
92_chaser is offline  
post #16 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-16-2012, 11:08 PM
ate lug
 
reptillikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 7,618
Bronco Info: 88ish bronco(?)/96 F250; both with D60s
Garage
Neither a bad TPS sensor nor MAP sensor will cause this problem, so we dont have to worry about those.

Ok lets start from the beginning, see if theres a clue weve missed.

You said the fist transmission went into limp mode. What was wrong with it that it went into limp mode (what was it doing/not doing, what codes, etc)? Im assuming you replaced the solenoid packs with it in, but when it still didnt shift, you dropped the trans and swapped it out?
So now here we are with a second trans installed, and it is the exact same problem as the first? Does it go into first & reverse? If you shift from 1 to 2, will it upshift to 2nd? How about when its in D?
reptillikus is offline  
post #17 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 12:09 AM
Owned 20 Years
 
Shadofax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where havn't I lived? Now in Erie, CO
Posts: 17,133
Bronco Info: 95XLT351 E4OD SAS 44/ARB/Alloy shafts-joints. D60 rear/Detroit. 4wheel disc,37" MTR Kevlar, 4.56etc.
How can you be thinking C6 with no OD?

______________________
Click my supermotors link for tech on TCase, SAS, OBA, Soft Top, Overhead Console, Stock bumper Winch install, much more..:
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/628



Shadofax is offline  
post #18 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 12:26 AM
LS SWAP EVERYTHING!
 
Red91XLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Biloxi, Mississippi
Posts: 26,251
Bronco Info: half a bronco
Quote:
Originally Posted by reptillikus View Post
Neither a bad TPS sensor nor MAP sensor will cause this problem, so we dont have to worry about those.

Ok lets start from the beginning, see if theres a clue weve missed.

You said the fist transmission went into limp mode. What was wrong with it that it went into limp mode (what was it doing/not doing, what codes, etc)? Im assuming you replaced the solenoid packs with it in, but when it still didnt shift, you dropped the trans and swapped it out?
So now here we are with a second trans installed, and it is the exact same problem as the first? Does it go into first & reverse? If you shift from 1 to 2, will it upshift to 2nd? How about when its in D?
This.


Did you maintain records of any codes pulled during the course of this issue?

if you have a GOOD replacement E4OD in place, I urge you to retain it and continue trouble shooting this issue.

as Jermil said, it sounds wiring related. Do NOT give up hope. Although, feel free to sell some things you've already bought or replaced to offset your costs.


'91 XLT-totaled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gacknar View Post
This is not a Democracy, it is a Broncocracy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
You do realize that you just reported the new owner of FSB?
-James
Red91XLT is offline  
post #19 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 12:54 AM
Roller rockers are gay
 
TheUnforgiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodridge, Illinois
Posts: 19,289
Bronco Info: 2005 Chevrolet Venture, 1997 Acura TL, 1994 Chevy Caprice
Quote:
Originally Posted by TS 90F150 View Post
If you look closely, says he has replaced it already.

tim
good Lord i fail.

2005 Chevy Venture. 1997 Acura TL. $500 beater. 1994 Chevy Caprice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Bronco" John Galt View Post
New nuts are in the plan.
"Kids, they see the good in everything and through their eyes, they open ours." - Hank Davis

"To be easily amused is to live most of your life smiling."
TheUnforgiven is offline  
post #20 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 01:10 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
92_chaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 108
Bronco Info: 1992 Bronco 4x4. Race Build
Yes all gears are working. P R N D 1 2. When I go to D it will not get out of low/ 1st gear. Since 6 months I keep getting the same codes 624 and 638. 3 different solenoid packs. I'm asking is there anything else I'm over looking before I get a transmission harness replacement.
92_chaser is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome