swapped my psom.... nothin - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
swapped my psom.... nothin

well, since I bought the truck about a month ago. In attempts to fix my hard shifting I swapped the VSS. Since then the ABS light has been on, leading me to believe the original sensor was good and this new autozone was bad from factory.

I pulled codes, got nothing, so then I figured it had to be the PSOM. Picked one up this weekend from 95 that was being parted out. Got the whole gauge cluster and looked in good condition. Swapped the speedo, fired her up and.... nothing.

Speedo still does not work, still shifts hard. What is more likely, that the donor PSOM was also bad? or that my problem is not in the PSOM but somewhere else? I ordered a VSS from FORD to get rid of the ABS light.

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 07:07 PM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,533
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 92k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
I'm betting that your ABS module took a dump. There is a way to bypass it. And You should do this anyways just to rule this out. There is a link........I'll have to find it. I've done mine as my module went bad and speedo went south.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 07:09 PM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,533
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 92k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
sackman9975 is offline  
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
I will go ahead and try it, hopefully thats it.

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 08:03 PM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,066
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
I'm betting that your ABS module took a dump. There is a way to bypass it. And You should do this anyways just to rule this out. There is a link........I'll have to find it. I've done mine as my module went bad and speedo went south.
X2

Happened to me too. Easy to bypass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮)۶

catsnw is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 09:18 PM
Fullsize Member
 
silent one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Northport,N.Y.
Posts: 6,675
Bronco Info: 1995 sport,6''SAS 37's streetlocks 4.56's ARB,BroncoAir rear bumper HeftyFabworks front bumper
Why would the ABS make the tranny shift hard.

What shifts are hard.


KEEP CALM AND BRONCO ON
Silent One's Supermotors Page
January 2010 FOTM Winner
@silentjde on instagram
silent one is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 09:26 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
All of them, even reverse. But 1st to 2nd is the worse one.

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 09:50 PM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,066
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by silent one View Post
Why would the ABS make the tranny shift hard.

What shifts are hard.
When the abs computer burns it cuts the vss square wave off from the Psom. The Psom sends the readjusted signal to the trans telling it when to shift. That why you should reprogram the Psom with a tire change.


Vss signal basically travels like so


Vss====>abs computer=====>psom======>trans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮)۶

catsnw is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 09:58 PM
Registered User
 
4NIC8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 193
Bronco Info: 91 Silver Anniversary
If you still have issues it is possible it's the tone ring inside the Diff. Rule other things out first though.

An E4OD goes into limp mode when it does not get a signal from the VSS. It's the same sensor that tells the ABS if the rear wheels are locked up. Ergo, if the ABS light is on and the transmission is in limp mode, it's a good indicator that there is a problem with the VSS.
4NIC8R is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 10:04 PM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,066
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4NIC8R View Post
If you still have issues it is possible it's the tone ring inside the Diff. Rule other things out first though.

An E4OD goes into limp mode when it does not get a signal from the VSS. It's the same sensor that tells the ABS if the rear wheels are locked up. Ergo, if the ABS light is on and the transmission is in limp mode, it's a good indicator that there is a problem with the VSS.
Or the wires. A broken wire will do the same thing. If the tone ring is messed up then you should hear it bc you would has other probelms INSIDE the axle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮)۶

catsnw is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 11:20 PM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,533
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 92k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsnw View Post
Or the wires. A broken wire will do the same thing. If the tone ring is messed up then you should hear it bc you would has other probelms INSIDE the axle.
Agreed.....

Plus the Speedo should still move. It may bounce horribly, but should still move. ABS module gone bad equals no Speedo at all.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 11:40 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
jumped the abs module, bingo, speedometer works. Now I it seems like the problems is finding a new one.

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 11:41 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
this wouldn't be it, would it?

http://www.amazon.com/A1-Cardone-12-...nco+abs+module

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 11:42 PM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,066
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
Quote:
Originally Posted by musclegto View Post
Do AcDElco or Motorcraft make them?
Not that I know of. eBay or try a junk yard computer. I did that and it worked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮)۶

catsnw is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-29-2012, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
have been looking for one for weeks to no avail? Has anyone seen one around?

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-30-2012, 03:40 AM
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,477
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Why did you start a new thread?
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/21-noobie-bronco-tech-questions-flame-free-zone/214680-where-can-i-find-abs-module.html

Read this caption, then keep going to the NEXT until you've read everything about 4WABS:

Steve83 is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-30-2012, 06:00 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spring Grove, Illinois
Posts: 12,532
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco, 47 Binder
Quote:
Originally Posted by musclegto View Post
have been looking for one for weeks to no avail? Has anyone seen one around?
If your asking to buy parts in the open threads the thread will be deleted.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
Why did you start a new thread?
Other thread has been deleted.
Ranger429 is online now  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-31-2012, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
Why did you start a new thread?
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/showthread.php?t=214680

Read this caption, then keep going to the NEXT until you've read everything about 4WABS:

I read the caption as i do with all your links, now i need to find one. :)

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-01-2012, 09:47 AM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 16,100
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
Garage
yo, I had problems finding one from yards here; 2 were bad.

Raybestos is selling; "Abs Computer Module"
Remanufactured part
http://www.raybestos.com
Select Catalog and go through the drill for the part #; then do a Google


do not order; contact Rock Auto and ask if available because Raybestos may have ceased reman on these units (again)
http://www.rockauto.com

try;
BBA-reman - Bronco/Ford truck remanufactured ABS, ECUs, throttle bodies, air mass meters catalytic converters, etc
call toll free at 1-866-573-2740

Confirm with e mail; be sure to cite Year, Make, Model, etc

See my partially recovered Bronco web site ...Will need to clean up dead links & add many more new links some day. Thanks to Mr. Schwim!
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!
miesk5 is online now  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 02:34 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 80
I have exhausted my sources and have not found one. Hopefully I can found one in a junkyard soon.

95' 5.0/E4OD
musclegto is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome