Boss radio acting up - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
matchison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 17
Bronco Info: 1995 bronco xlt 6 inch ranchero suspension lift 35 in dunlop mudrovers
Boss radio acting up

So i bought a new radio for my bronco we wired everything up correctly as far as color corrdination goes. the fuse is not blown we checked every single fuse. The radio turns on you can see it when you shine a flash light on the screen, but when you try to play music none plays and the screen and buttons don't light up like they should. There is one wire that i think may be important its an orange wire which i think is illumination. But the wiring harness on the radio itself does not have an orange wire. Any idea's of what my issue is?
matchison is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 10:24 PM
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 4,353
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
Did the radio come with instructions? Or is this a stock ford radio?
Ewgoetz is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 10:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
matchison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 17
Bronco Info: 1995 bronco xlt 6 inch ranchero suspension lift 35 in dunlop mudrovers
it's an after market boss brand radio it came with instructions but they didn't really tell us a whole lot
matchison is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 11:04 PM
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 4,353
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
I'm gonna guess that you hooked up the wires wrong than.
I've rarely seen a aftermarket radio with the same color wiring as a car work.
I suggest goin to Walmart or any other electronics place and getting a stock wire adapter. It should also have the wiring labeled for what wires are for what.
Usually the orange wire is the power on in the vehicle. Look at the wiring diagram in the instructions.
Ewgoetz is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-18-2012, 11:43 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,900
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
Seattle FSB is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 02:26 AM
Registered User
 
Chrisw_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 122
Get a quality aftermarket head unit. Boss is a pile of crap.
Chrisw_2003 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 02:27 PM
User Registered
 
BakerBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,307
Bronco Info: 87 EB,C6,1356
Throw it in the trash and save up twice as much for a good quality unit.
There are eleven wires on a radio.

Hot
Ground
Remote

The other 8 are for speakers.
BakerBaker is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 07:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 75
Bronco Info: 88 Bronco 351 C6 33's redhead/saginaw
+12v to power radio
+12v with constant power for the memory
- 12v ground
lead for power antenna
8 speaker wires

on my new Kenwood HD with bells and whistles. The HD does make a difference. Now to get the new speakers in. You are going to have to cut and splice speaker wires.
inxy is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-19-2012, 07:47 PM
Registered User
 
Cheesehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,440
Bronco Info: 1988 XLT 5.0l w/AOD & Rebuilt BW1356
This is all you need to make the install clean and easily reversible if you ever decide to re-install the factory unit.

http://www.scosche.com/car-audio/product/226
Cheesehead is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-20-2012, 09:25 AM
User Registered
 
BakerBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,307
Bronco Info: 87 EB,C6,1356
Just throw 12+ volts to it.(dont hold me responsible if your Boss gets fried)

Or

Blue/Red according to this:
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...etail/807.html
BakerBaker is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome