C-6 labours reverse and starting - FSB Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 06:09 AM Thread Starter
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
C-6 labours reverse and starting

Lately my c-6 Which (hasn't done that many miles) is really struggling when first starting and any time I'm in reverse. It's not like its revving the engine really hard, I can put my foot flat to the boards and in reverse it feels like I'm trying to start in 3rd on a hill. Any ideas?
The torque converter was not changed when the transmission went in but I have a new one sitting in the garage. Fluid level is fine also.

Cheers,

Stu
aussiebko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
Would improper tension on the band cause this?
aussiebko is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-25-2012, 03:00 PM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,210
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiebko View Post
Would improper tension on the band cause this?
Has it been adjusted recently? How long ago was the trans put in and did this issue exist then?
sackman9975 is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 04:26 AM Thread Starter
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
Had a service maybe 2000mi ago. I'm assuming the band Was torqued up then but was under the impression it doesn't affect 1st or reverse. The transmission has done maybe 10-12k miles and the problem did not exist then. I don't think it is band slippage (guessing) as the revs don't go sky high compared to the amount I drive I get. It's more of a really laboured sluggish drive.
aussiebko is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 10:15 PM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,210
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
The band is for 3rd gear to engage. It tightens the drum to keep it from spinning to lower the gear ratio. If the band was applied during 1st gear, it acts as a brake. I know this from having one too tight after a rebuild once.

It could be that the trans is starting in 3rd gear, which could be the governer is stuck. This is located on the output shaft.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 03:49 AM Thread Starter
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
Will a stuck governor cause the sluggish reverse?
aussiebko is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-29-2012, 09:06 AM
Registered User
 
r-clar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Demotte. In.
Posts: 533
Bronco Info: 78 bronco
No a stuck governer should not cause that. I would check the intermediate beamed adjustment just to be safe. If to tight could drag and cause issues. How are the other shifts?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
r-clar is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-30-2012, 04:32 AM Thread Starter
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
All the shifts are fine. I decided to install a Hurst V-matic that I bought a while back. The column shift always felt sloppy and I was thinking its possible that the gears were not properly selected which caused some slipping on inclines. Im clutching at straws here but it costs nothing.
A few hours ago selected reverse with the linkage cable disconnected and it didn't appear sluggish backing down my drive. I'll see if the new shifter makes any difference at all I guess.
I've also read that vac signal dictates the clutch application pressure. Not sure if this is true but if it is maybe I should be checking the modulator and also looking for vacuum leaks.
aussiebko is offline  
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the FSB Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome