will this trans swap work? - FSB Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
will this trans swap work?

ok guys. got a 94 with a 351 and an E4OD wanting to swap for a 5spd. found a 5spd thats behind a 300 I6 in an F-150. my question is will it bolt right up to my 351?

**EDIT: totally realized i put this in the wrong section. maybe a mod can move it to the right one
94fordtruck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 07:56 PM
Thanks 351w500
 
LarryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northcentral,CA.Twain Harte, up here in the mountains
Posts: 5,458
Bronco Info: 88 Centerion 460 Dana 60/10.25 78 Bronk Cromo shafts,Detoit 4.56's lift 7" Deavers 38's 9"rear disk
This swap is very covered here so a 5 min search would get you you're info. But yes it will fit


I take Prayer Requests. God Bless

Last edited by LarryP; 11-24-2012 at 08:21 PM.
LarryP is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 08:44 PM
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
ok guys. got a 94 with a 351 and an E4OD wanting to swap for a 5spd. found
a 5spd thats behind a 300 I6 in an F-150. my question is will it bolt right up
to my 351?
Are they both 4wd vehicles or both 2wd vehicles?

Swapping one from one type to the other type, or what?

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-24-2012, 10:29 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,646
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Oh god an m5od!!! If your automatics fine dont waist your time unless you like pulling transmissions all the time. By the time the shift forks wore on my third rebuild i had it down to two hours flat. Find a zf.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-25-2012, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
Bronco is 4x4 and the F-150 is 2wd but i hear it'll still work. and the reason i'm looking into this is because i think i've ruined the auto thats in er now. it just dont shift outta first gear (doesnt slip or nothing but wont shift) and i'm tired of it giving me problems.
94fordtruck is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-25-2012, 11:56 AM
Registered User
 
Booba5185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 1,725
Bronco Info: 89 F150...close to a Bronco?
It wont work if the donor truck is 2WD. On top of that you would need a new ECM as well since the E40D is computer controlled. The M50D SUCKS move alont to another tranny.

89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4 Longbed, 3.55 LS 80,XXX Original Miles, GT40Ps, Roller, MAF, Custom Y-pipe, Mustang headers, 3g Alt, Big 3+ Upgrade, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Sixlitre Tune-up, Explorer Injectors, Remote mounted ICM, Insulated Intake tubing\Filter Box Mod, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 MC\Booster\Rear clyinders, Autopage Remote Start, 9007 conversion, so much more.
Booba5185 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-25-2012, 01:43 PM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,222
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
Bronco is 4x4 and the F-150 is 2wd but i hear it'll still work. and the reason i'm looking into this is because i think i've ruined the auto thats in er now. it just dont shift outta first gear (doesnt slip or nothing but wont shift) and i'm tired of it giving me problems.
Wait just one second!!

Before you go swapping transmissions, Test your throttle position sensor (TPS)! This is a very common issue.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
Wait just one second!!

Before you go swapping transmissions, Test your throttle position sensor (TPS)! This is a very common issue.
how do i test that? is it a b*tch to change? but i really do want a 5spd instead of a slushbox auto someday anyway.
94fordtruck is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 07:51 AM
"Addicted"
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,222
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40, Flex-A-Lite
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
how do i test that? is it a b*tch to change? but i really do want a 5spd instead of a slushbox auto someday anyway.
You'll need a digital volt meter to test it.

Is it a b*tch to change? Not compared to swapping transmissions!!!!

Here, read this link Ultimate TPS thread

And here is a 96 that had the same problem that I worked on click here
sackman9975 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 11:45 AM
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
You {can use} a digital volt meter to {set} it.
{but} You'll need {an analog} volt meter to {really} test it.
Is it a b*tch to change?
Not compared to swapping transmissions!!!!
x2 :)

And not only cheaper and easier than a transmission swap but you'll need
to change the TPS out anyway if it needs changing out now. ;)

But I'm all for the transmission swap! :)

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-27-2012, 06:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 80
Bronco Info: 1993 Bronco XLT 347 Stroker .040 over MAF E4OD GT40 Heads Crane Cam
I enjoy my E4OD tranny. Very solid! Same tranny in the 150's, Bronco's and Deisels so that tells me that they are rated for way more torque then you should need. A rebuild with bigger lines to move more fluid and a very small adjustment to firm up the shift and it feels better then any shift kit I have ever had installed! A 5 speed would be pretty sweet though! Seems like I seen a set of pedals and associated hardware on JBG if you have not found those yet!

Bronco Info: 1993 Bronco XLT, 347 Stroker, GT 40 Heads, MAF, E4OD
19BK93 is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-28-2012, 12:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
2wd and 4wd trannys dont interchange since the 4wd tranny is used to mating up with your transfer case, also i have heard m5 stick trannys dont hold water for sh*t anyway. Id check your TPS and even if that checked out id rebuild the auto you got unless you wanna look for a small block sourced ZF5. maybe just my opinion
80bronc is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-03-2012, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
it was the TPS. got er fixed again for now. still want a 5spd and a diesel in it someday though
94fordtruck is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 11:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: RENO NV
Posts: 140
Bronco Info: 93 XLT, 5.8, E4OD, manual Xfer & hubs
I suggest you do a full fluid change by flushing thru the cooler line. Also add one of the friction modifier additives. The E4OD is a hoss. It's used in motorhomes. Take care of it and it will last a looong time.
http://www.ford-trucks.com/article/i...nsmission.html

I don't bother to change the filter...they never need it.
garymunson is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 10:07 AM
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
it was the TPS. got er fixed again for now.
Cool and thanks for the TPS report. :)

Seems like a higher percentage of guys are reporting back lately. :) ??

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline  
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the FSB Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome