Starts but won't run - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Starts but won't run

I have the maf conversion done and it starts but won't run. Starts pretty hard ... runs 2 or 3 seconds and dies. Acts like its starving for fuel. Injectors are rebuilt (changed from 19s to 24s and it's a new fuel pump (cheapy)... ran before I converted it just very poorly. 347 Stroker with a WAY1 computer. I triple checked the re-pinning so I think it's right. Still needs to be tuned. Any ideas?

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 05:17 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Which maf meter are you using? I only ask because i used a stang maf on the truck computer and the wires were backwards. Ie from top on truck maf B,R,BR,BLK and on the stang were BLK,BR,R,B. this isnt the color order persay but just using it as an example. Mine ran just like yours untill i figured out the issue was that.

Heres a photo of truck harness atop and ford racing stang harness on bottom. Same conector style opposite order.

Hope this helps and only takes acouple minutes to swap them around and back if it doesnt work.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #3 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 05:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I'm using a brand new Pro-M 80 for a 94-97 and I have a computer from a 95

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #4 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 05:28 PM
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 23,297
Bronco Info: pile of parts
if it fires up and dies, I would check the simple stuff, spark, fuel pressure, and IAC valve.

Then see if there is any codes.

'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline  
post #5 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 05:31 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,902
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
Quote:
Originally Posted by surveyorsteve View Post
I'm using a brand new Pro-M 80 for a 94-97 and I have a computer from a 95
Nice! I assume it is calibrated for the 24 lb/hr injectors. Have you tried running Diagnositc Trouble Codes?
Seattle FSB is offline  
post #6 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Not getting any codes (KOEO) although the engine is cold. Also checked batt in code reader and it is good. All vacuum lines are in use or plugged off.

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #7 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 07:00 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Quote:
Originally Posted by surveyorsteve View Post
I'm using a brand new Pro-M 80 for a 94-97 and I have a computer from a 95
94-96 truck or 94-97 stang?

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #8 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 07:24 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Truck

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #9 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I got it to run at about 3 grand but it was backfiring and snorting and pretty much die out when depressing the accelerator...then it died ... smelled bad like not a clean burn

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #10 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-21-2012, 08:36 PM
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 23,297
Bronco Info: pile of parts
firing order is probably off

'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline  
post #11 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Checked fuel p.ressure and only had 10lbs. Changed the fuel filter and now have 0 at the fuel rail. Pulled the line of the fuel filter and got gas all over the place. I think the pump is working okay. Geeze Louise. What's going on.

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #12 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 09:17 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,902
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
Make sure that the fuel filter is pointing in the correct direction. Look for an arrow pointing toward the direction of fuel flow.
Seattle FSB is offline  
post #13 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 12:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I double checked the filter and it is flowing the right direction

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #14 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 03:12 PM
I did all for the Nookie
 
huggyb1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana The Middle
Posts: 7,189
Bronco Info: 89' Bronco 5.8l Variable Speed V8, Forward, Rev, Turns left, right, stops, and everything.
Garage
If the pump is running maybe the fuel pressure regulator is not working.


351W, ZF5-47, BW1356, 10.25/D60
FOTM DEC. 2011
"Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati,"
When all else fails roll over and play dead.
huggyb1972 is offline  
post #15 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I did an underpressure test by clamping off the return line and no increase in pressure so the regulator shouldn't be affecting anything. I guess it's time to think about replacing the fuel line as it may be clogged...but how often does that really happen anyway. Is there a way to back flush fuel lines effectively?

As a recap: Changed stock 92 computer to a 95 f150 computer (WAY1) and repinned per pinning schedule using a RJM MAF conversion harness. Added a Pro-M80 MAF meter, removed the intake plenum and changed the stock 19lb injectors to 24lb, repaired a couple broken vacuum lines, replaced the plenum, relocated the IAT to the air box area, replaced the stock gray Ignition module to a black one. Try to start and it would but die within a second or two, check fuel pressure and it was only 10lbs, replaced fuel filter and it tests 0lbs even though it still starts and dies the same way. Pump is new.

Computer has not been tuned yet. Can that be the issue...that it needs to be tuned before it will run at all?

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #16 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 11:07 PM
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 23,297
Bronco Info: pile of parts
all the tuning in the world will not fix your fuel pressure problem.

'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline  
post #17 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 11:42 PM
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 7,100
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco (5.8 DD E4OD), 88 Bronco Mudder (Engineless), 90 F250 (Explorer 5.0 4R70W)
sounds exactly like when my MAF was clogged from mudding. it would be hard to start run a few secs and die. sometimes i could get it to run and would have toi floor it and it would run like crap and usually die after a few more seconds


-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now  
post #18 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-30-2012, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
After blowing out the fuel line, I have been able to start it and run it a couple minutes but it backfires and runs quite rough especially under load. I'm hoping that can be fixed via tuning the conversion. Is that a possibility? I think I may still have fuel pressure problems but it does run. Is it possible that the fact it hasn't been tuned since the MAF conversion (including the computer change) is the cause for the backfire and miss fire? It will run smoothly for a few moments at a certain RPM so I am ruling out a firing order problem.

Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline  
post #19 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-30-2012, 07:16 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Im running the 24p injectors and calibrated maf without a tune and have zero issues. Other then light for a missing auto trans. Runs strong and idles just fine. Id try what i posted above. Will take five minutes and if it doesnt work switch it back and youll be no worse then you were before.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #20 of 63 (permalink) Old 12-30-2012, 08:28 PM
FSM Lifetime
 
AFBronco235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,857
Bronco Info: 91 Bronco w/ 5.0 L V8, Auto w/ E40D
Garage
It almost sounds like you have too much fuel and not enough air. Or your timing is off. Either way, the back-fires are caused by incomplete fuel burn, either from the too much fuel, or the exaust ports opening too soon. Check for those before you start worrying about the computer. You could also check the intake system. Just in case. I'm sure everyone has had an experience where we forgot to check the simplest things.
AFBronco235 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome