i-beam tips.! - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
i-beam tips.!

Hey guys, so i bent my beam and
I was wondering what tips/tricks you old timers
Can share that can aid me in said mission...
Besides whats in the chilton. Thanx
<Rancimo322 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 10:04 PM
Registered User
 
CWbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fairfax VA
Posts: 2,283
Bronco Info: pile of parts
Replace it? How'd you bend it, those things are tough.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App

Build

SAS

FOTM Oct. 2012
CWbronco is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 10:14 PM
F.O.T.M. - MAY 2014!!!
 
fartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 6,266
Bronco Info: 88 FSB. 4.9l -T18-BW1356-33" MTs-Warn hubs Daystar leveling kit
cheapest is to just replace what you bent from a junk yard, or you can upgrade to a solid axle but thats a little more $$$.

Sliding rear windows, GT roll bar, Cargo net and looking for other rare options. 4.10 gears LSD 33" MTs First ever Stock Fullsize of the Month...
J A S N http://www.supermotors.net/registry/19528
fartman is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 10:29 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Get a replacement and get a plate kit from one of the go fast companys. Once plated youll never have to deal with bending them again.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 10:46 PM
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 7,109
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco (5.8 DD E4OD), 88 Bronco Mudder (Engineless), 90 F250 (Explorer 5.0 4R70W)
really how did you bend it? ive bent only 2 and those were from jumping and getting some good air without any lift

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBfab View Post
Get a replacement and get a plate kit from one of the go fast companys. Once plated youll never have to deal with bending them again.
any recomendations? i should be doing that to mine but this is really the first i heard of a kit. only find beams already made like that


-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-10-2013, 11:18 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Solo makes a plate kit, i wanna say southwest performance. Or do what im doing and save some dough. Look at a bunch of pictures of what others have done. Make cardboard templates and go for it. If you can find a shop with a torch mate or similar take them metal and templates to them and have them cut out. I have a buddy who can sneak me into his shop on sundays to have at it :-) Its nice knowing a welding inspector for a large company.

Heres a set of extended beams that was for sale on GFB, good referance pics of what could be done. Some dont go this far but gives you a good idea of where to start should you go at it yourself.
http://www.gofastbroncos.com/forum/v...hp?f=26&t=2202

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Thanx ya'lll well i had originally thought i was my radius arm but after swaping that out i went out and got a second and third opinion from a 4x4 shop close by .A lil bend so the beam and axle rub now...
Im a broke as uff college student !! Ima shoot to a junk!! I just want
A good "safe" easy way Of doing all this and not spend a day there. Like "shot in the
Dark" but can i just unblot the beam at the center and pull out the
Whole beam, axle , hub and roter as one peice?? Also i didnt think i could
Weld plates on to the beams like that. Would i just be able to chop up
My old beam for this??? It seems better then the few $ for it as a core.
Ohh" and this one night coming home i ran into my parking spot a lil lil to fast
And bashed into one of those cement fill poles all up in my psngr side..
I was still getting use the full size of this beast.
<Rancimo322 is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 01:11 AM
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 7,109
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco (5.8 DD E4OD), 88 Bronco Mudder (Engineless), 90 F250 (Explorer 5.0 4R70W)
ya you can pull the whole beam with radius arm. but its difficult to put back in the same way. if you can unbolt the radius arm bracket and it will really help alot.

pics of the dmaged axle? it took nailing a half exposed cement pad doing 30mph offroad and it didnt even damage the axle, jsut bent the engine crossmember quite bad


-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 01:28 AM
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,490
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Click this & read the captions:



These may also interest you:

. .
Steve83 is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Steve 83. These pix will be extreamly helpful thnx!!! im hoping ill luck sack
This job. The last time i was up at the junk i saw 2 late 90s with there psgnr
U-joints gone. Hopfully they still there and i can just pull the beam and axle
And save all the hard work for when i swwap it in. Also need to pull a
Exhasut , a few relays and a thicker steering wheel. Not really a fan of cc
+ none of mye bottons work not even my hore. Ill also flash a
Few pix when i head out.
<Rancimo322 is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 11:22 AM
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,490
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
ths nt txtg; s dxn 4m use hole wrdz n ck ur splg plz maks ezr 4 ev1 2 red
Steve83 is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-11-2013, 11:34 AM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Do any of your buttons work? It might not be the wheel, could be the clock spring located under the wheel. There know for going bad and i believe there was a recall on some way back when.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
My fingers are to fat for my phone, but ill take the advise. jb fab if I were to chop chop my old beam what dimensions do I use? Is wieght an issue??
<Rancimo322 is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBfab View Post
Do any of your buttons work? It might not be the wheel, could be the clock spring located under the wheel. There know for going bad and i believe there was a recall on some way back when.
Buttons? Are you talking about auto hubs?
<Rancimo322 is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 06:05 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Collin county, TX
Posts: 3,677
Bronco Info: Brick Nose on 15x10s/32s with leveling coils
beams are actually really easy to bend, they are junk like the rest of the axle setup on these trucks.
GetBent4x4 is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 06:27 PM
Registered User
 
Billy89EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Riverside,CA
Posts: 562
Bronco Info: 1987 Eddie Bauer 302, 4" rancho lift, dual magnalfows, 35" Discoverer stt's
solid axle swap now and forever
Billy89EB is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-14-2013, 09:44 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,647
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
You could use peices of your old beam for plating on a new beam. By buttons i mean horn, cruise etc. if your cruise and horn dont work but the fuses and wiring is all good it might be a bad clock spring. Did you check out the link i posted above? Thats what a well plated i beam looks like. Some dont go that crazy but look at that one and as many as you can put your eyes on and go from there. I plating mine in some key areas and also added a front brace. Its all matter of how far you wanna take it.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-16-2013, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBfab View Post
You could use peices of your old beam for plating on a new beam. By buttons i mean horn, cruise etc. if your cruise and horn dont work but the fuses and wiring is all good it might be a bad clock spring. Did you check out the link i posted above? Thats what a well plated i beam looks like. Some dont go that crazy but look at that one and as many as you can put your eyes on and go from there. I plating mine in some key areas and also added a front brace. Its all matter of how far you wanna take it.
Truck boat truck didnt come with a working horn, all the buttons where bunk.
I unhooked all that till I got a replacement.
<Rancimo322 is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-16-2013, 07:08 PM
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 7,109
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco (5.8 DD E4OD), 88 Bronco Mudder (Engineless), 90 F250 (Explorer 5.0 4R70W)
if this truck never sees offroad, there really no point in welding plates on them. jsut learn to drive it and ull be fine


-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome