Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

Engine Codes

4K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  miesk5 
#1 ·
First I would like to thank everyone for their knowledge, and willingness to help others with their issues! I have learned alot from some of the threads. That being said, I am new to the Bronco scene. I just bought a 94 XLT to fix up, and it has several issues to fix. I already know that the fuel pump needs replaced. It was idling down till it stalled out completely, so I replaced the IAC valve. Now it idles, but RPMs go up and down. I then had my CEL come on. So I grounded my STI to get the codes, here's what I got- 21, 22, 23, 67, 87, 94. I was hoping someone could shed a little light on them, along with possible causes and solutions. Thank you.

#2 ·
Man, I wish I could tell you that it is simply a secret switch or sensor that that could cure all of your problems, but it is time to develop a relationship and get intimate with your new Bronco.

Although I would immediately focus on the TPS and clearing the Keep Alive Memory, start with this:

• Lack of fuel system control (excessively rich or lean)
Test Fuel Pressure/replace old Fuel Filter

• Throttle sticking or binding.
Remove and clean Throttle Body/Test TPS sensor

• Contamination within the idle speed control device
Disconnect the battery Negative for 5+ minutes to delete the KAM

• Engine not reaching operating temperature
Allow engine to warm up to Normal Operating Temperature/Replace Thermostat

• Incorrect ignition timing CHECK
Time engine to 10 degrees BTDC/ Check Spark Plug Gap and condition

• Incorrect or clogged PCV system
Test/replace Positive Crankcase Ventilation System Valve and check Breather Tube & Filter from the Air Box

• Vacuum leaks (intake manifold, vacuum hoses, vacuum reservoirs, power brake booster, etc. Manifold Absolute Pressure (MAP) systems will increase idle with vacuum leak and Mass Air Flow (MAF) will decrease idle with vacuum leak)