Horn won't blow ? ? ? - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 01:41 PM Thread Starter
Original FSB.COM Owner
 
dsotmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 12,122
Bronco Info: Another Broncoless Admin
Horn won't blow ? ? ?

the bronco is do for inspection and the horn wont blow, I checked all the fuses under the dash, checked the connections to the horn, when i push the horn i can hear something click behind the glove box but thats it, any suggestion or should i just replace the horn?

Joe
FullSizeBronco.com
dsotmoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 02:02 PM
tired of your sh!t
 
NOBS!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NOYFB
Posts: 3,103
Bronco Info: NYOFB
I ran some wires from the horn to a dash switch because of my removeable wheel.

Check the relay

2 in the creamer...1 in the steamer
NOBS! is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 02:06 PM
negative creep
 
Andy351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the place where all the junkies go
Posts: 7,017
Bronco Info: bronco with seats and a steering wheel
my horn started doing the same thing after driving through some BIG puddles. i can hear the click, which i think is a relay, but the horn doesn't blow. i'm sure i (and probably you too) shorted out the actual horn part. :(

Andy351 is offline  
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 02:10 PM
tired of your sh!t
 
NOBS!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NOYFB
Posts: 3,103
Bronco Info: NYOFB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy351
my horn started doing the same thing after driving through some BIG puddles. i can hear the click, which i think is a relay, but the horn doesn't blow. i'm sure i (and probably you too) shorted out the actual horn part. :(
If that's the case he should run some test leads from the horn to the batt. and check it

2 in the creamer...1 in the steamer
NOBS! is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 02:14 PM
OOPS GIVE A DAMN IS BROKE
 
gearrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kingman,AZ. But not home in dixie
Posts: 13,083
Bronco Info: 94 xlt 302. 4 in lift 3in body lift and 35's. 84 soon to have a 300-6 and np 435
well since this has popped up when i hit my horn i blow the fuse for it, and this has started after i put my new steering column in.

94 bronco XLT
36x12.50x15 swamper tsl
tuff country 4" suspension lift
3 in PA body lift


http://azrockrat.4t.com/index.html
gearrat is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 02:45 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Big Mike C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 5,052
Bronco Info: '79 HD edition Bronco
Big puddles and the horn won't work...this mat sound stupid, but make sure it isn't clogged with mud... :finger:

79, 408, T-18, 205, D44, 9", 6" Deavers, 38.5 14.5x15TSL SXs on AE 589s, kustom Krylon paint...more to come
"Nimrod Wildfire"
http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/6.../cropped03.jpg
Big Mike C. is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 07:37 PM
Registered User
 
MOUNTAINMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lakewood, CO.
Posts: 1,071
Bronco Info: '80 Bronco, 302, T-18, 3.50 ft & 9" rr, 3"lift, 33's
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearrat
well since this has popped up when i hit my horn i blow the fuse for it, and this has started after i put my new steering column in.
It sounds like you have a short inside the column gearrat.

'80 Bronco
302, T-18
A Few Mods

DILLIGAF

mytruck
MOUNTAINMAN is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-08-2003, 08:00 PM
Diesel Gynachologist
 
Dustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Peoria Arizona
Posts: 12,500
Bronco Info: 2001 F350
its probaly your horn since you can hear hte relay clicking.....take a test light and make sure the horn is getting power, if so just put a new horn in

Ford Senior Master Technician

http://www.superford.org/registry/ve...x.php?vID=1309
Quote:
"The existence of flamethrowers is proof that someone, somewhere, said to himself, "I want to set those people over there on fire, but I don't feel like walking over there to do it."
Dustin is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
Original FSB.COM Owner
 
dsotmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 12,122
Bronco Info: Another Broncoless Admin
ok, i'm bringing this one back from the dead, i replaced the horn today, still dont work, i looked in my haynes manual but couldnt find a horn relay listed, can anyone tell me where its at? i hear it clicking somewhere behind the glove box or near it

Joe
FullSizeBronco.com
dsotmoon is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 06:47 PM
Registered User
 
MOUNTAINMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lakewood, CO.
Posts: 1,071
Bronco Info: '80 Bronco, 302, T-18, 3.50 ft & 9" rr, 3"lift, 33's
I think the horn relay is actually mounted on the firewall under the hood. It just sounds like it's clicking under the dash. Open the hood and have somebody press the horn button while you listen for the clicking sound.

'80 Bronco
302, T-18
A Few Mods

DILLIGAF

mytruck
MOUNTAINMAN is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 07:19 PM
tired of your sh!t
 
NOBS!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NOYFB
Posts: 3,103
Bronco Info: NYOFB
Quote:
Horn won't blow ? ? ?
Does the driver??? :finger:

2 in the creamer...1 in the steamer
NOBS! is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 07:31 PM
Tator Salad
 
1982bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 2,850
Bronco Info: 1985 Ford Ranger
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOBS!
Quote:
Horn won't blow ? ? ?
Does the driver??? :finger:
:lollol:

Cory Seiber
1985 Ford Ranger
1982bronco is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 08:19 PM
Registered User
 
offroad_joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 143
Joe like someone said run a hot wire from your battery to the horn directly if it doesn't blow you got a bad horn, or you have a bad ground. If it blows you need to find the relay and see if it is sending out power, if it is then you have a break in the wire going to your horn. If it isn't you need to replace the relay.
Gearrat like MM said you have a short somewhere in the column.

78 with some junk in the trunk.
My Superford Page
offroad_joe is offline  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 09:55 PM
FSB Pimpster & Recruiter
 
allcruisen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Garland, Texas
Posts: 6,273
Bronco Info: '95 302 XLT
Who needs a horn when you have a middle finger? :finger:

Look for a metal looking relay on the firewall like MM mentioned. That is probably your problem, and Gearrat like MM said, You must of pinched a wire while installing the new steering column or it was shorting out before you bought it. Good luck, guys.

Allcruisen :pimp :pimp :pimp



Vote for FOTY !!!

VOTE for TOP 4X4 SITE

"DEATH BEFORE DISHONOR"
allcruisen is online now  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 10:05 PM
FSB Pimpster & Recruiter
 
allcruisen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Garland, Texas
Posts: 6,273
Bronco Info: '95 302 XLT
Joe, I take that back it should be a plastic relay. What year is your truck?

Allcruisen



Vote for FOTY !!!

VOTE for TOP 4X4 SITE

"DEATH BEFORE DISHONOR"
allcruisen is online now  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-29-2003, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
Original FSB.COM Owner
 
dsotmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 12,122
Bronco Info: Another Broncoless Admin
its a '89

Joe
FullSizeBronco.com
dsotmoon is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 03-30-2003, 01:58 AM
FSB Pimpster & Recruiter
 
allcruisen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Garland, Texas
Posts: 6,273
Bronco Info: '95 302 XLT
It should be part # HB-124 {MOTORCRAFT} It shows a plastic tab where it snaps into a hole.

Allcruisen :pimp :pimp :pimp

On your 1989 FORD TRUCK BRONCO, the RELAY is:




FRONT SEATING AREA, CENTER, BEHIND DASH, MOUNTED ON DASH SUPPORT BRACE



Vote for FOTY !!!

VOTE for TOP 4X4 SITE

"DEATH BEFORE DISHONOR"
allcruisen is online now  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-02-2003, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Original FSB.COM Owner
 
dsotmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 12,122
Bronco Info: Another Broncoless Admin
bringing this one back from the dead again, i'm slow on repairs, i replaced the horn, that didnt work, felix was right about the relay, its in the glovebox basically, replaced it today (8.00 from NAPA), that didnt work either, it seems like everything in the steering column should be ok because you can hear the relay click when you push the horn, so i guess i need to test the wires and see if juice is getting to the horn at all? one of the things on my list this weekend

1. fix horn hopefully
2. change oil
3. change trans filter and fluid
4. new gas tank
5. check all fluids

bought a gas tank at advanced auto today for 112.00, have had a slow leak in mine for a couple months at least, i've had one bronco burn already, dont want this one to

Joe
FullSizeBronco.com
dsotmoon is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-03-2003, 02:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 143
I had both of my broncos due for inspection and found that neither of their horns worked. I lucked out with the '89 and it just took a new horn. The '94 really sucked because after spending hours trouble shooting with an aircraft electrican guru. We read out everything, ran jumpers and such, found that BOTH of the bottons in the steering wheel were inop. Didn't feel like having the airbag shoot out at me and needed to get it legal; so I just ran direct wire from the horn to a momentary toggle on the dash, via a jumper in the fuse panel.


'89 Custom 32x11.5's
'94 XL Ex-cop car
Ex-wife took off with lifted '73
BARTnRED is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 05-03-2003, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Original FSB.COM Owner
 
dsotmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 12,122
Bronco Info: Another Broncoless Admin
well my wife has been telling me for the last few days it would be nice out today, so i bought all the stuff, guess what, its raining all day here :

Joe
FullSizeBronco.com
dsotmoon is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome