Bronco Tranny and T-Case Info - Page 4 - Ford Bronco Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 276 (permalink) Old 08-30-2006, 06:58 PM
Fullsize Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 7,397
Bronco Info: 1990 Bronco XLT 302/AOD ELocker Rear/ custom 8.8. 1986 Bronco XLT. 1981 Bronco Custom
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pud
I remember hearing the truck upper off a windsor will fit the 302 lower...not sure if theres even any difference other than the badging on it.
Not unless you are talking a gt-40 or explorer 302 lower and a lightning 5.8 upper in other words, cobra type intakes.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑβΕ
BlueBronco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 276 (permalink) Old 08-30-2006, 07:09 PM
pud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beaverlodge, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 624
Bronco Info: 87 xlt 5.0L auto beater
iTrader: (0)
something like that...
pud is offline  
post #63 of 276 (permalink) Old 08-30-2006, 07:22 PM
Registered User
 
mtthwvn73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Flatwoods, KY
Posts: 1,072
Bronco Info: 1996 F150
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermil01
Even if it was possible, that 2 wheel drive truck tranny will probably be longer than your bronco tranny, coupled with a tcase you'd need to shorten the rear driveshaft.
So is it possible or not? Wouldn't you have to change the driveshaft anyways if you're changing tranny's, I have a C6 in it right now.
mtthwvn73 is offline  
 
post #64 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-11-2006, 11:16 AM
The Riddler
 
78CERBERUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,576
Bronco Info: 1979 FSB 351M
iTrader: (0)
C6 top speed....

Great list, well done.

Adrian, I just used a virtual graph chart provided by a member to get the "TOP SPEED" of a truck with a C6.

I didnt want to start a new thread and am thinking this would go in here so someone would know the C6 speed limitations -VS- benefits of an "Over Drive" transmision in a truck ?

I have been having some tech issues with my truck and really didnt take into account the "actual" speed that the 351W + "C6" with no transfer case, and "lower gears in the rear axle" was capable of and may have been over reving it to get more than 80 MPH from it.
If in fact that was even possible without straining the stock engine in a stock truck. I know they are faster in cars. Because of the rear end ratio.

Does this chart look right?
Is 70 MPH @ 4800, 5000 RPM's about all
a 351W eng -C6 trans -No Transfer Case -3.55 rear ratio
and -18" tires going to put out comfortably ?




Last edited by 78CERBERUS; 09-11-2006 at 11:28 AM.
78CERBERUS is offline  
post #65 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-11-2006, 12:28 PM
Registered User
 
mtthwvn73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Flatwoods, KY
Posts: 1,072
Bronco Info: 1996 F150
iTrader: (0)
Hey, try 28's and see what happens, I'm pretty sure they aren't 18's stock...Mine has the 351 with 235's (I'm pretty sure they're 28's or something like that). Just to help you get some info about it...mine's hitting 35-36 at 4500 rpm's. Check it out and see what you get. Oh and in 3rd at 63-65 I'm cruising at 3K..if that helps any too.
mtthwvn73 is offline  
post #66 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-11-2006, 12:46 PM
The Riddler
 
78CERBERUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,576
Bronco Info: 1979 FSB 351M
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtthwvn73 View Post
Hey, try 28's and see what happens, I'm pretty sure they aren't 18's stock...Mine has the 351 with 235's (I'm pretty sure they're 28's or something like that). Just to help you get some info about it...mine's hitting 35-36 at 4500 rpm's. Check it out and see what you get. Oh and in 3rd at 63-65 I'm cruising at 3K..if that helps any too.
Not sure if your reply is for me,
but you have about 65 MPH in 3rd @ 3,000 rpm's ?

I wasnt going to bother installing a tachometer, but my 351W, C6, sounds like its starting to strain ( reached reasonable rev limit) at around 75 MPH.
78CERBERUS is offline  
post #67 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-11-2006, 03:40 PM
Registered User
 
mtthwvn73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Flatwoods, KY
Posts: 1,072
Bronco Info: 1996 F150
iTrader: (0)
Yeah, I was talking about trying out your top speed calculator with a 28" tire instead of the 18 you put in. You get what I'm saying? A 18" tire is awfully small on a bronco. I've never had mine up to 75, so I don't really know what RPM it's running at that speed.
mtthwvn73 is offline  
post #68 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-12-2006, 11:48 AM
The Riddler
 
78CERBERUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,576
Bronco Info: 1979 FSB 351M
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtthwvn73 View Post
Yeah, I was talking about trying out your top speed calculator with a 28" tire instead of the 18 you put in. You get what I'm saying? A 18" tire is awfully small on a bronco. I've never had mine up to 75, so I don't really know what RPM it's running at that speed.
Well honestly its over an F-250, and now I feel bad knowing ive got 15" tires on my bronco.

"But" i did change the gear ratio to that number you put up and .....



"Voila "!....so i should start leaning towards highway gears, i dont need extreme low end pull,or quickness, for the most part, so im googling my options. Thank you. Given that this virtual numbers cruncher is acurate.

Last edited by 78CERBERUS; 09-12-2006 at 12:00 PM.
78CERBERUS is offline  
post #69 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-16-2006, 03:59 PM
Registered User
 
Late Model Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: East bay CA
Posts: 2,339
Bronco Info: '95 351, ZF5, Dana 60s
iTrader: (11)
We still need some T-case info...

Please?


SuperFord 95 8-lug Bronco with some stuff...
Late Model Man is offline  
post #70 of 276 (permalink) Old 09-28-2006, 08:55 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 17
Bronco Info: 1993 EB 5.8L
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the post, I need a new drive shaft, but wasn't sure which tranny was on my 93 Eddie Bauer full size. One glance and I had my answer.
lewismatt is offline  
post #71 of 276 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 02:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)
I've got a '70 429 in my 79 Bronco, current it has the 4 spd in it. But.. I want to find a 5 spd so that I have the over drive, and can get a little better fuel mileage.

What ZF would I need, and would the efi 460 bell housing bolt to the '70 block. I'm not to sure, but I think I've read someplace that the new ones where different?
78Jimmy is offline  
post #72 of 276 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 01:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sanford, M.i
Posts: 93
Bronco Info: 85 Bronco, 5.8 in Black Primer, Edelbrock carb, power windows/ locks and no tailgate..
iTrader: (0)
[QUOTE=78Jimmy;1051558
What ZF would I need, and would the efi 460 bell housing bolt to the '70 block. I'm not to sure, but I think I've read someplace that the new ones where different?[/QUOTE]

Not sure on which Zf. But the 460 will bolt up.All 385's will as matter fact. That is 351m 400 m 429 & 460 That said remember they went hydralic for the clutch. So you will have some mods to so there.

work, work, and more work...
Never fails even when I get out to play seems as if it evens turns from fun to work in less time then it takes to say sh--.
pacer88220 is offline  
post #73 of 276 (permalink) Old 11-02-2006, 06:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)
What all has to happen to put in a hydraulic clutch? I'm assuming I'd need the peddle, and everything back.. If I find the tranny, it should have the hyrdaulic's attached..
78Jimmy is offline  
post #74 of 276 (permalink) Old 11-12-2006, 12:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco 351m
iTrader: (0)
hey i was just wondering on this when i am pulling a c6 out of my truck what is the best way to do it? i mean i have it almost out but i cannot get it all the way out. it is hitting the firewall with the top of the bell housing. what do i do??? does the bellhousing come apart from the rest of the tranny? do i need to pull the whole engine to get the tranny out??? i am baffled right now on what to do and i need some help very badly. so please help me out. i am going to go take another stab at it tomorrow.

so far i have the tranny able to come back about 4-6 inches and it will not go any further because it hits on the fire wall. it is a 351m with the c6 tranny. so some ideas would be greatly appreciated.
thanks in advance..
Taylor
skaterdemon69 is offline  
post #75 of 276 (permalink) Old 11-12-2006, 01:08 AM
I killed Kenny...again
 
jrdbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: jax/bronson, fl
Posts: 3,261
Bronco Info: '92 bronco 351W E4OD BW1356, D44 SAS, 4.56 r/p f&r, spooled D60, 9" of lift, cutout flares
iTrader: (2)
its gotta go down.

92 bronco with lots o' goodies
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnski at RITS
I ABSTAIN FROM ABSTAINANCE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogeechee4x4 at RITS
Hey come here, I've got wood
my superford page
HIT IT ~N~ GIT IT OFFROAD!!!
jrdbronco is offline  
post #76 of 276 (permalink) Old 11-27-2006, 10:34 PM
Registered User
 
RainGull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: '84 XLT 4" lift, I300, 4spd.man w/OD, MSD 6A w/ Blaster 2F coil
iTrader: (0)
I have an 84' with a Tremec RTS (Not SROD)

RTS 4-spd w/OD (Trans code is also B for this transmission)

T170FT-RTS Top loaded 4 speed with 4th being overdrive. Aluminum case and shift tower. 1984-87 Trucks: Aluminum, top loaded case with tower shift. All units have Overdrive. Mainshaft Reverse is located on the outside of the 1st/2nd slider and all synchro rings have 36 teeth. The 3rd gear on the cluster gear is larger than the 4th gear (the front gear). Casting number 260XXXX.

I do not know the ratios.

http://www.drivetrain.com/tremec4sp.html
http://www.alldriveline.com/transmissions/frtscp.html
http://www.drivetrain.com/vartransp27.html
RainGull is offline  
post #77 of 276 (permalink) Old 12-01-2006, 08:59 PM
Registered User
 
joekiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: greensboro
Posts: 154
Bronco Info: '84 inline six holley 390 clifford headers and intake msd 6a igniton w/duraspark
iTrader: (2)
Good info on the Tremec RTS. Trying to figure out what I have in my 84 inline six.

http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/registry/15588

"We dance like marionettes, swaying, to the symphony of destruction."
joekiser is offline  
post #78 of 276 (permalink) Old 12-01-2006, 09:14 PM Thread Starter
USAF C-17 Avionics
 
adrianspeeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dover AFB DE / Harrisburg PA
Posts: 6,782
Bronco Info: '94, '92, '88, and '84 Broncos
iTrader: (1)
Thanks Raingull, whats your shifter look like so I can add it. And whats your motor?

Adrianspeeder
adrianspeeder is offline  
post #79 of 276 (permalink) Old 12-06-2006, 07:06 PM
Registered User
 
RainGull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: '84 XLT 4" lift, I300, 4spd.man w/OD, MSD 6A w/ Blaster 2F coil
iTrader: (0)
The RTS shifter housing comes straight up off of the trans and not the tailshaft housing like the other tremec. It also does not have a side cover on the RTS. The shift pattern is: 13
24R

The RTS has an aluminium case and no drain plug (unless added)

My engine is the Inline 6 (300).

Oh, and you don't have to push it in to shift into reverse either.
RainGull is offline  
post #80 of 276 (permalink) Old 12-08-2006, 08:22 AM
Registered User
 
deerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yale Michigan
Posts: 6
Bronco Info: 82' F250 466ci/c6 d60's, 37"ss
iTrader: (0)
Hey y'all Im kinda new around here, I got a 82 f250 with a 466/ c6 the only problem is i miss my np435 but i cant find a bell housing to fit any ideas?...
I origanally had a 300 6 in her but she just didnt have the balls i needed i built the 466 myself along with the whole truck you could say its been a life long project and i've loved almost every minute of it. Well if anyone knows of a trick or someplace close by to get one for cheap let me know
deerslayer is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome