How to properly set the timing on a 302 or 351 - Page 4 - Ford Bronco Forum
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 69 (permalink) Old 06-24-2015, 04:55 AM
Registered User
 
MinesBigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Kodiak, AK
Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)
im going to be using this write up this week. hopeflully ill be able to get this things running.

00Excursion V10 4x4 - 93Bronco 5.8L 4X4
.__-0_0_0
L__|_\__\___
|/--\_/--\[FORD]
(o)_) (o)_)-o-)_)
MinesBigger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-27-2015, 03:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 26
Bronco Info: 86 5.0L AOD man.t-case
iTrader: (0)
What should I be expecting with ECM advance at idle?

I'm showing like 27, I think. I advance the dial on my light to about 17 ti find my 10 degree mark. Is this correct?
I've been going through TFI modules (on my third). Seems the truck has a different personality every time.

86 5.0L AOD man.t-case, too ugly to include a pic, me or the Bronco.
Unkleskunky is offline  
post #63 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-28-2015, 07:09 AM
Registered User
 
ourobos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 506
Bronco Info: 1986 XLT - 408w, TFS 170s, TFS Camshaft, C6
iTrader: (0)
The ECU adds 16 degrees of timing.
ourobos is offline  
 
post #64 of 69 (permalink) Old 08-28-2015, 12:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Washington
Posts: 26
Bronco Info: 86 5.0L AOD man.t-case
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ourobos View Post
The ECU adds 16 degrees of timing.
Thanks, It is dropping rpms too low and stalling at times. After warm start, usually just once, sometimes with gear selection change.

I just changed out the TFI module(again) 6-8 months on the prior, several years of very poor performance on the one previous to that. I remote mounted this one. It acts now like the power band is different again. Getting tired of this shit.

86 5.0L AOD man.t-case, too ugly to include a pic, me or the Bronco.
Unkleskunky is offline  
post #65 of 69 (permalink) Old 09-27-2015, 10:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
This is the best and most complete information that I've found anywhere on the internet. Simple to the point. Thanks. All my questions answered in post. Thanks.
dps444 is offline  
post #66 of 69 (permalink) Old 09-30-2015, 07:38 PM
Fullsize Member
 
JKossarides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Posts: 9,808
Bronco Info: 1986 Bronco XLT 4x4 -AOD -Warn Hubs, NEW stock 302EFI (2008) All MSD ignition, 9mm FMSR wires
iTrader: (1)
Interesting that it's hit or miss with parts sometimes, my Motorcraft distributor and Motorcraft TFI module have been on my BKO since 2004 and still going strong.....IDK......
JKossarides is offline  
post #67 of 69 (permalink) Old 01-31-2016, 10:07 PM
Use the Force...
 
Darth_ted_82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 962
Bronco Info: 1988 Eddie Bauer; 5.0L AOD; 3" suspension lift w/33x12.50 KOs. '77 F100 Custom, step side, restoring
iTrader: (1)
Outstanding, Sackman. Thanks a lot for the write up. Worked like a charm.
sackman9975 likes this.

'88 Eddie Bauer, '98 5.0L w/GT40p heads, HD AOD, 130A 3G, 3" suspension w/33x12.50KOs, Tow Package.
Porkchop Express' Thread - http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=279266
Blacksheep 2/75
R.L.T.W.
Darth_ted_82 is offline  
post #68 of 69 (permalink) Old 04-08-2016, 09:16 PM
Registered User
 
mamunoz4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 5
Bronco Info: 88 ford bronco, 302 V8, 5 speed manual trans W/overdrive, 6" custom lift, 35" MT's, 4.56 Gear Ratio
iTrader: (0)
Yo Sackman! Great write up bro. Got my Bronco running better then every after I pulled the distributer without marking the rotor like a jackass. Many thanks ?
sackman9975 likes this.
mamunoz4 is offline  
post #69 of 69 (permalink) Old 11-11-2016, 04:44 PM
Fullsize Member
 
offroadgearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Vacaville CA
Posts: 138
Bronco Info: 89 Custom, 5.0, auto
iTrader: (0)
Great info here! I took my newly purchased 89 Bronco to the smog shop (it's like going to do your taxes when you know you are gonna owe) and it failed. Took it home and found a bad vapor canister and needed to adjust the timing. It was at 22 deg. BTC. I unplug the spout connector and set it at 10 degrees BTC and when I plug it back in it jumps back up to about 22 degrees again. This was one issue that caused it to fail the smog test. Is this normal or is something else causing it. Any help would be appreciated.
offroadgearhead is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome