3G alternator FACTS (its wins agian!) - Page 24 - Ford Bronco Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #461 of 481 (permalink) Old 05-02-2014, 02:23 PM
Registered User
 
BeatNursery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 77
Bronco Info: 93 Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer 5.0, E40D, with a bad attitude and a drinking problem...
iTrader: (0)
I finally did this to mine! Cant Believe I waited so long. Worth it! No more Dimming lights..

93' Eddie Bauer 302. K&N drop in, Punisher E4OD, High flow cat and muffler with 3" pipe. Six liter Tuneup, MSD coil and cap, 3g Alternator upgrade. Her Name... Cha Cha!
BeatNursery is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #462 of 481 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 01:43 PM
Registered User
 
helirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,588
Bronco Info: 90' 351/E40D 38" tires, 4.88 gears, full float 8.8, lockers F&R
iTrader: (1)
I just put a 3G in my "Molasses Project". I got a harness from a junk yard. It plugged right in and works great. This is not a final installation. (I will be rewiring with aircraft wire) I just want to keep the battery charged during testing.

Question, I have read this whole thread and understand the need for a fuse or circuit breaker on the charging cable. But on this harness I got, I don't see one. I do notice that it has one cable at the alternator end, but two smaller cables that go to one ring at the other end. Does that mean there is some kind of fuse in the center? It's only about a foot long and doesnt feel like it has anything in there. (it is all wrapped up in a cable conduit with the wires from the plug) I've checked continuity with all other wires/plugs in this harness. (None connect with the main cable.) If this single cable/ double cable is not a fuse, what is the reason? If it is the fuse, what happens when it blows? Do you have to get a new cable?

I'll mention that on the car I removed it from the cable went to a fuse box, so maybe it had big fuse before going on to the battery. But that doesn't explain the one into two cable.

Check out my "Molasses Project"http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197652
helirich is online now  
post #463 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-10-2015, 01:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco 5.0 4x4 Eddie Bauer all stock
iTrader: (0)
Rookie Help

So since I have been a member of this site the members have been an amazing help to any and all of my questions. So here we go for another one, does anyone know where I can get the 3g upgrade harness or can someone give me some pictures. The ones at the beginning are not visible, also none of the 3d upgrade harness links work. Any help will be greatly appreciated, my buddy totaled his 1997 5.0 explorer and it looks like a 3g but im not sure if it is ill grab it and then I just need the harness info. Thanks in advance
Fyrmn1979 is offline  
 
post #464 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-10-2015, 01:36 AM
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,459
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
You need to fill in your profile & signature with all your truck's details so we know what you're working on, and can tell you what it needs. Click this & read the caption:
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/72354
Steve83 is offline  
post #465 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-14-2015, 06:19 PM
Owned 21 Years
 
Shadofax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where havn't I lived? Now in Erie, CO
Posts: 17,267
Bronco Info: 95XLT351 E4OD SAS 44/ARB/Alloy shafts-joints. D60 rear/Detroit. 4wheel disc,35" KO2's, 4.56etc.
iTrader: (17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyrmn1979 View Post
So since I have been a member of this site the members have been an amazing help to any and all of my questions. So here we go for another one, does anyone know where I can get the 3g upgrade harness or can someone give me some pictures. The ones at the beginning are not visible, also none of the 3d upgrade harness links work. Any help will be greatly appreciated, my buddy totaled his 1997 5.0 explorer and it looks like a 3g but im not sure if it is ill grab it and then I just need the harness info. Thanks in advance
Did you look in our vendors forum:

LEB 3g Alternator Kit

______________________
Click my supermotors link for tech on TCase, SAS, OBA, Soft Top, Overhead Console, Stock bumper Winch install, much more..:
http://www.supermotors.net/registry/628



Shadofax is offline  
post #466 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-14-2015, 09:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco 5.0 4x4 Eddie Bauer all stock
iTrader: (0)
Rookie

Noob update I added info about my truck but ill do it here also 1995 Bronco 5.0 Stock, please let me know where I can buy or how I can make the harness I will be getting the alt soon. Thanks
Fyrmn1979 is offline  
post #467 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-14-2015, 09:53 PM
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,459
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Your truck already has a 3G.
Steve83 is offline  
post #468 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-25-2015, 01:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco 5.0 4x4 Eddie Bauer all stock
iTrader: (0)
Thanks guys for all your help, Steve83 your the man again... thanks awesome to know it already has a 3g.
Fyrmn1979 is offline  
post #469 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-26-2015, 02:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 22
Bronco Info: 1995 Bronco 5.0 4x4 Eddie Bauer all stock
iTrader: (0)
MORE POOWER

So I found out I have a 3g alt. but it is only a 95amp, I was wondering what if any ford I could pull a 130amp alt out of? I will go to the junk yard for the core and get the bigger one new if its possible... also would I need to change anything in order for this to work. Thanks again guys

Last edited by Fyrmn1979; 01-26-2015 at 02:11 AM. Reason: additions
Fyrmn1979 is offline  
post #470 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-14-2015, 07:54 PM
Registered User
 
GvilleBKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Gville, FL.
Posts: 448
Bronco Info: '90 EB w/ '96 gt40 5.0, AOD, electric TC, 3.55 TTB/8.8
iTrader: (0)
Did the 3G swap today. Pulled the alternator off a 96 V6 tbird @ the JY, snagged the harness and mega fuse with it. Reused/adapted the vr plug/wiring, and ran my own 2awg welding cable for the charge wire. Reused the mega fuse w/ a Bussman fuse holder.

Worked out great! Charges @ 14.4v with all electrical maxed out.



"If you ain't first, you're last" - Reese Bobby
GvilleBKO is offline  
post #471 of 481 (permalink) Old 09-20-2015, 12:17 AM
Registered User
 
helirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,588
Bronco Info: 90' 351/E40D 38" tires, 4.88 gears, full float 8.8, lockers F&R
iTrader: (1)
Does anyone know where the tach wire or terminal is? I've done allot of searching and they all say the 3G has tach out put, but where?

Check out my "Molasses Project"http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197652
helirich is online now  
post #472 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-06-2015, 04:25 AM
Registered User
 
andyyy2586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: mimami
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixlitre View Post
You're preaching to the converted Ryan !

Nice work on the photos ! I'd say the 3G swap was the single best mod I've done to my 86 ...period.

It was also a virtual bolt on for us V-belters.

Nice to see the proof though

Sixlitre
--------------
Yes the mustang 3G will work. I have done this swap and have pictures I can send you if you shoot me a private question. However you will need to do some minor modifications to allow it to physically fit as the 3G uses a larger casing.
andyyy2586 is offline  
post #473 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-05-2016, 02:44 PM
Registered User
 
jknc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Royse City, Texas
Posts: 96
Bronco Info: '87 Bronco, '80 302 V8
iTrader: (0)
I'm trying to find the one that will fit the v belt motor. Every one I find has the serpentine flat style pulley. Do you have to swap the pulleys?

jknc '87 Bronco 302 4x4
jknc is offline  
post #474 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 09:20 AM
Registered User
 
aschessla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 277
Bronco Info: 1996 Eddie Bauer
iTrader: (0)
I cant implore enough the benefits of upgrading the cables as well. I had a 110 amp on my '96 that I was not getting the benefit from. I did the Big 3 upgrade and the amps starting flowing! Definitely worth it!

aschessla is offline  
post #475 of 481 (permalink) Old 01-12-2016, 09:22 AM
Registered User
 
jknc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Royse City, Texas
Posts: 96
Bronco Info: '87 Bronco, '80 302 V8
iTrader: (0)
I had to go with a stock one for now. I couldn't find a 3g with a v belt pulley. I am going with 6 gauge wire for when I do the 3g swap in Spring.

jknc - '87 Bronco w/ '80 302
jknc is offline  
post #476 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-04-2016, 09:05 PM
Registered User
 
ScottE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 65
Bronco Info: 1994 XLT 351-4"Cepek w/arms-Eaton E-locker-33" Yoko M/T+ tires-RockRing-K&N FIPK-TSM rear discs
iTrader: (0)
Which regulator?

I purchased an alternator from Fireguy a few years back, and recently after starting my 94' Bronco, the volt gauge maxed out and blew out my headlights. I replaced the alternator with one from a ford van (not sure of the model #, but is the same 3G case). I'd like to get the Fireguy alternator working again, but am not sure which regulator (I assume that's what went wrong) to buy. Would this one work?

Amazon.com: Voltage Regulator for Ford 3G Alternator w/ Brush Holder (Heavy Duty): Automotive

Any other links to good regulators?

Scott

1994 XLT 5.8
Rear Eaton E-locker/4.56 gears-TSM rear discs
Yokohama Geolander M/T+ 33's
Cepek 4" lift with arms
Custom Y-pipe w/single Dynomax cat/ K&N FIPK
ScottE is offline  
post #477 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 03:58 PM
Registered User
 
IIVIIoonshiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jackson, South Carolina
Posts: 400
Bronco Info: 1994 f-150, 4x4, zf 5-speed, intercooled Cummins 4BT, Dana44SAS, short wheelbase daily driver
iTrader: (1)
is there a "redhead" alternator one could buy?

i know that steering gears have an aftermarket king (redhead)

is there an aftermarket king for alternators? $$ no object

Slightly Modified
IIVIIoonshiner is offline  
post #478 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 04:18 PM
Registered User
 
aschessla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 277
Bronco Info: 1996 Eddie Bauer
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IIVIIoonshiner View Post
i know that steering gears have an aftermarket king (redhead)

is there an aftermarket king for alternators? $$ no object
Not sure if aftermarket kings but I got mine from here, Alterstart. I got a 250amp. Great guys, easy to work with and helped me out. Make sure they include the extra shims since the pulley is smaller.

aschessla is offline  
post #479 of 481 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 11:05 AM
Fullsize Member
 
B-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stuck in CALI... SUCKS
Posts: 6,746
Bronco Info: 1992 XLT , 5.8, E40D
iTrader: (1)
Garage
I have a 1992 Bronco now.. I did this 3G upgrade on my previous 1988 Bronco.

The pics are gone from this thread (lol) so, I am not sure what I am looking for again. I don't think I have a 3G in my rig already, so...

Anyone with a 92-96 do this upgrade?

If so, any information would be great.

Thanks in advance.

1992 XLT, 5.8 w/ E40D transmission, TTB D44 in front, 8.8 rear, 4.88 gears w/ Eaton Posi, Gibson exhaust/headers,cb radio, 4" suspension lift, 33x12.5's on 8" Pro Comp wheels.

http://www.supermotors.net/registry/27670/85749
B-man is offline  
post #480 of 481 (permalink) Old 09-29-2016, 05:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
i have a 1990 with a 4.9l in it and i cannot find how to do this alternator upgrade or what alternator will bolt in would someone be willing to help me please
kyacklich is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome