3G alternator FACTS (its wins agian!) - Page 3 - Ford Bronco Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 481 (permalink) Old 10-16-2004, 02:17 PM
Registered User
 
Chris85xlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,457
Bronco Info: 85xlt with stuff
iTrader: (5)
i just went to the junk yard 2 days ago and picked up a 3.0L 92 Taurus with harness. i took it to kregans and had them test it and it passes :). so far i havent found any 130amp stamping on it and its not listed on Ryans post. any other way to find out?
Chris85xlt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 481 (permalink) Old 10-16-2004, 03:21 PM
Registered User
 
Zach94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 3,420
Bronco Info: 5.0HO, AOD, 1345, cut fenders, body lift, 37" MT/R's, 5.13's with a 14bolt in back and a full spool
iTrader: (1)
you said you had it tested, how many amps did it push out?
Zach94 is offline  
post #43 of 481 (permalink) Old 10-16-2004, 03:27 PM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
Most places only test if the alternator is at 14volts.
Not many places can test amp output.

All the Taurus / Sable should be 130, because of the electric fan
Fireguy50 is offline  
 
post #44 of 481 (permalink) Old 10-16-2004, 03:42 PM
I'm no expert!
 
BigNorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 1,691
Bronco Info: 1982 Toyota with the roof cut off. 351W, D60 welded, 14bolt, 5.13s, on 39.5 TSLs with beadlocks.
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixlitre
Bargain ?!

Norm you ought to be arrested for stealing !!!!!!!

What a deal !

Sixlitre

Jopes

Nice freakin' work !

Sixlitre
Some people like fishing. Me. Give me pick n pull half price day.
Darth_ted_82 likes this.

1982 Toy Chasis & Cab. 351W, C6, NP203/205, D60 welded, 14 bolt Detroit & 5.13s, running on 15" wheels and 40s.
BigNorm is offline  
post #45 of 481 (permalink) Old 10-16-2004, 03:59 PM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
pick-n-pull is always fun
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #46 of 481 (permalink) Old 10-16-2004, 06:24 PM
I'm no expert!
 
BigNorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 1,691
Bronco Info: 1982 Toyota with the roof cut off. 351W, D60 welded, 14bolt, 5.13s, on 39.5 TSLs with beadlocks.
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris85xlt
i just went to the junk yard 2 days ago and picked up a 3.0L 92 Taurus with harness. i took it to kregans and had them test it and it passes :). so far i havent found any 130amp stamping on it and its not listed on Ryans post. any other way to find out?
The little center shiny aluminum piece on the back side of my alt had 130A printed on it. It looks like it would come off if any oil/solvent splashed on it.

1982 Toy Chasis & Cab. 351W, C6, NP203/205, D60 welded, 14 bolt Detroit & 5.13s, running on 15" wheels and 40s.
BigNorm is offline  
post #47 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 04:32 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,491
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
I couldnt find any at any of the junkyards around here so I won one on Ebay for 42 bucks including shipping. I hope it works Coming soon... Write up for V belt/external regulator vehicles. Its gonna be so easy

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #48 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 05:07 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Bronk36
I couldnt find any at any of the junkyards around here so I won one on Ebay for 42 bucks including shipping. I hope it works Coming soon... Write up for V belt/external regulator vehicles. Its gonna be so easy
It will be easy for you 81Bronk36

It worked great on my V-belted 86(cured a lot of problems). Do you have a double pulley on you current 2G ?

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #49 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 09:42 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,491
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
I have 2 alts, one in storage thats double, one on the truck that is single. Which do you suggest I use??

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #50 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 11:28 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Bronk36
I have 2 alts, one in storage thats double, one on the truck that is single. Which do you suggest I use??
The double I had (other groove runs my air pump) didn't allow the 3G nut very far onto the 3G shaft, five threads I think.

I lived with that for almost a year and then deepened the pulley center with a lathe so the nut goes well and truly on far enough.

The reason I mention this is you need a wafer thin washer(got one at Home depot) to keep either pulley far enough away from the 3G alternator housing or it will rub. That washer makes the pulley/nut problem even worse.

If you've got access to a lathe on the base you might want to deepen the double groove pulley center almost 1/4" ahead of time.

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #51 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-12-2004, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
I added the 200A 3G to the first post:
http://oldfuelinjection.com/public/a...200_output.jpg
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #52 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-12-2004, 06:08 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50
I added the 200A 3G to the first post:
http://fordfuelinjection.com/public/...200_output.jpg
Stop tempting me Ryan !

If I didn't already have a good working 3G on my 86 I'd buy one of these monsters. What rpm is that 200 amp reading taken at ?

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #53 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-12-2004, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
The bottom guage is alt RPM,
looks like 6600RPM to me.
Divide by aprox 3 = 2200 engine RPM
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #54 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-17-2004, 02:17 AM
Bronco Master
 
BroncoAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 555
Bronco Info: 87 Bronco...in progress
iTrader: (1)
Can the 3G be setup to run an external regulator like the large case? I had to replace the 3g (from autozone) in my truck 3 times before I swapped to the large case. Each time it was the diode that went bad. Since my coilover swap I can no longer fit the large case, and replaced it with a tiny 60A for the time being.

Mitch
BroncoAZ is offline  
post #55 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-17-2004, 06:01 AM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
I think your problem was Autozones lack of quality standards

An external regulator will not change the diodes. diodes are famous for blowing if the battery is low when you connect the alt. that is what that warning paper is for in the box.

You can replace the regulator on a 3G real simple:
http://oldfuelinjection.com/?p=72
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #56 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-17-2004, 10:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (0)
The diodes popping is the result of excessive internal heat buildup caused by poorly ventilating a case that's too small. It doesn't have enough mass to dissipate the heat that it generates running WFO for any length of time.
seboh is offline  
post #57 of 481 (permalink) Old 11-17-2004, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
how is the case poorly ventilated? there is a fan within 1/2" of the diodes
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #58 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 05:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hickville, PA
Posts: 143
iTrader: (0)
can some one get me the dimension between holes of this style 3g

WAS: 89 2wd & Totaled 90 4x4
Now: 89 F150 4x4 with built 300
Mini spooled front
9" 4 pinion trak lok rear
Twin sticked 205
4in lift
extended arms
all riding on 33's

the new project:
84 f250 pulling truck
lincoln locked with 4.10s all the way around
500 hp at 5200
fordman300 is offline  
post #59 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 07:00 PM
Registered User
 
sprky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Crivitz, WI
Posts: 126
Bronco Info: 95 Bronco, SAS, 37'' Tire
iTrader: (1)
when you talk about the later serp trucks does that mean 92 and later

Tim
President-Wisconsin Off Road, Inc
95 xlt d44 sas 8.8 4.88 ectd sleeved axle tubes
37" mtr's beefed e4od
sprky is offline  
post #60 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 10:55 PM
Bronco Master
 
BroncoAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 555
Bronco Info: 87 Bronco...in progress
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50
I think your problem was Autozones lack of quality standards

An external regulator will not change the diodes. diodes are famous for blowing if the battery is low when you connect the alt. that is what that warning paper is for in the box.

You can replace the regulator on a 3G real simple:
http://fordfuelinjection.com/index.php?p=72
Can you recommend a good place to get a 3g? or am I better off getting something custom wound?
BroncoAZ is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome