3G alternator FACTS (its wins agian!) - Page 4 - Ford Bronco Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-09-2005, 11:44 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroncoAZ
Can you recommend a good place to get a 3g? or am I better off getting something custom wound?
See if Ryan has any of those 200 amp 3Gs left

If not head over to P.A.Performance and pay too much. I just grabbed a jobber remanufactured 130 amp unit and it's still going strong three years after the warantee ran out (touch wood).

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 01:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 142
iTrader: (0)
actually, if you are serious about a truely high quality alternator, skip on the P.A. Performance BS and give Dominick a call @ Iraggi Alternator in TN. They are unbelieveably cheap for what you get. Anyone who has priced one from Ohio Generator knows what i'm talking about..... Dominick custom builds them to your specs, and offers the 3G's in 190, 220, or 240 amp versions. But I couldn't care less about their max output, what sold me is the idle charge.
Gamehunter is offline  
post #63 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 03:45 AM
I'm no expert!
 
BigNorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 1,691
Bronco Info: 1982 Toyota with the roof cut off. 351W, D60 welded, 14bolt, 5.13s, on 39.5 TSLs with beadlocks.
iTrader: (1)
You got an address/link/email/number? I'm all into getting good service for an honest price.

1982 Toy Chasis & Cab. 351W, C6, NP203/205, D60 welded, 14 bolt Detroit & 5.13s, running on 15" wheels and 40s.
BigNorm is offline  
 
post #64 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 08:05 AM
YER FUKKED NOW...BITCH!
 
Damager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere taunting a tard like you
Posts: 11,968
Bronco Info: 1986 Eddie Bauer,1991 EFI 302, TTB and Spooled 8.8 with 35's .. for now....Carnage is Good
iTrader: (0)
I have one of these 200amp 3G units coming beginning of the week for $160.00 :)

Output at idle = 95 amps


http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...%3AWN%3AMT%3A1

Call Steve Lewis Call toll free at 800-753-2242 and tell him Ron From FullsizeBronco sent you

http://www.supermotors.net/clubs/sup.../registry/1371

A U.S. VETERAN
- Whether active duty, retired, national guard or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America", for an amount of "up to, and including, my life."
That is honor, and there are way too many people in this country who no longer understand it.
Author unknown
.
Damager is offline  
post #65 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 10:24 AM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamehunter
what sold me is the idle charge.
Which is ?

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #66 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-13-2005, 01:22 PM
YER FUKKED NOW...BITCH!
 
Damager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Somewhere taunting a tard like you
Posts: 11,968
Bronco Info: 1986 Eddie Bauer,1991 EFI 302, TTB and Spooled 8.8 with 35's .. for now....Carnage is Good
iTrader: (0)
hopefully mine will produce what is claimed above

http://www.supermotors.net/clubs/sup.../registry/1371

A U.S. VETERAN
- Whether active duty, retired, national guard or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America", for an amount of "up to, and including, my life."
That is honor, and there are way too many people in this country who no longer understand it.
Author unknown
.
Damager is offline  
post #67 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-22-2005, 09:31 AM
Registered User
 
Bronco_In_Ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodruff Sc
Posts: 213
Bronco Info: 90 bronco 392 stroker motor, 80mm Pro-M MassAir conversion, edlebrock upper and lower intake manifol
iTrader: (0)
I have a quick question, I have a 200amp 3G that I'm going to be putting in today or tomarrow and I've seen installs where you use both a new 2 or 4 gauge wire as well as taking the 2 older hot wire and running and then seen installs where you just use a 2 or 4 gauge wire and get ride of the old harnes with other hot wires. My question is which way should I do it?

90 fullsize bronco
6in ProComp lift stage2 in front
4.5in superlift springs w/2in blocks
351w stroked to 392
Roush Racing heads w/stage2 porting
80mm ProM MassAir Conversion
MSD igntion sys (Complete)
Gibson headers W/true dual exhaust
Edelbrock Upper and lower intake manifolds
BBK 56mm Throttle body
200amp alternator
Auburn ECTED locker in the rear
35in Thornbirds
Super Motors Garage
Bronco_In_Ny is offline  
post #68 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-22-2005, 03:26 PM
I got tools-i can fix it
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carmichael, California
Posts: 2,737
Bronco Info: 1983 Full Size Bronco
iTrader: (3)
you need to isolate the wires. to the alt you need a ignition hot signal wire and the 2 guage charge wire. i ran new wires to the alt and the new circuite breaker and the battery to relay. in the old harness is a couple wires that need to get connected to a battery source or you will not have power in the bronco.. here ws my swap over.
http://www.supermotors.org/registry/...=22835#content
mike
collinsperformance is offline  
post #69 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-22-2005, 03:27 PM
Try it now!!
 
kf4amu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hotels, Charlotte, Roanoke VA, the cockpit...time split equally between all of them.
Posts: 9,394
Bronco Info: 1989 460 EFI/C6/BW1356 electric/6 inch Rough Country lift/York OBA/Warn hubs/electric fans/14 bolt
iTrader: (6)
Ryan McCormicks way (Fireguy50). It works.
-Will
89 XLT 460 (recent 3g install with 2 gauge wire)
kf4amu is offline  
post #70 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-22-2005, 03:55 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco_In_Ny
as well as taking the 2 older hot wire and running and then seen installs where you just use a 2 or 4 gauge wire and get ride of the old harnes with other hot wires. My question is which way should I do it?
If memery serves me right

You're talking about the two fairly large 10 gauge wires (orange with black tracers) that feed the body harness power, correct ?

I spliced them together onto one larger 4 gauge wire as per Brian Soderblom's diagrams. Apparently if you don't then trying to run that kind of amperage down a 10 gauge wire can get pretty darn hot

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #71 of 481 (permalink) Old 02-22-2005, 08:17 PM
Registered User
 
Bronco_In_Ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodruff Sc
Posts: 213
Bronco Info: 90 bronco 392 stroker motor, 80mm Pro-M MassAir conversion, edlebrock upper and lower intake manifol
iTrader: (0)
Its in and Running I used This, THanks to Fireguy's site. I've needed a new Alternator for along time now my Ignition as well as the rest of my bronco can have the Power it needs Muuuhhhhhhhhhhhhh
http://fordfuelinjection.com/public/...ALT_wiring.gif

90 fullsize bronco
6in ProComp lift stage2 in front
4.5in superlift springs w/2in blocks
351w stroked to 392
Roush Racing heads w/stage2 porting
80mm ProM MassAir Conversion
MSD igntion sys (Complete)
Gibson headers W/true dual exhaust
Edelbrock Upper and lower intake manifolds
BBK 56mm Throttle body
200amp alternator
Auburn ECTED locker in the rear
35in Thornbirds
Super Motors Garage
Bronco_In_Ny is offline  
post #72 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 08:09 AM
OX1
Fullsize Member
 
OX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central jersey
Posts: 3,076
iTrader: (8)
Just curious!! If the 3G can be boosted to 200 amps, why does the ford ambulance package bother going to a large case 1G?

http://homepage.mac.com/mcgroves/PhotoAlbum20.html

79 XLT, 400/C6/mog 404's/42 IROKS, 8.5" lift.
79 XLT, 400/C6/D60-D44 8 lug, 2" lift, 35 BFG AT
74 Bronc build, 408/C6/Black Box/205/406 mogs/43 SX stickies

OX1 is offline  
post #73 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,472
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
You must be blind, cause that is a NOT a large case 1G
That is a Mitsubishi Alternator that can crank out close to 300Amps in the right conditions

Ford hasn't use the crappy 1G in 25+ years!
The Mitsubishi Alternator costs over $400

I only have 160Amp 3G's for sale now
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #74 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 01:36 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50

Ford hasn't use the crappy 1G in 15+ years!
It costs over $400
Ain't gonna find parts for that ricer piece on Sunday, deep into buttf#%&k county, 12 hwys off the interstate.

The nearest Taurus in a local junkyard (or dark parking lot) will yield a temporary replacement for Ryan's 3G, if it ever gives you trouble (not likely).

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #75 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 02:38 PM
OX1
Fullsize Member
 
OX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central jersey
Posts: 3,076
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50
You must be blind, casue that is a NOT a large case 1G
That is a Mitsubishi Alternator that can crank out close to 300Amps in the right conditions

Ford hasn't use the crappy 1G in 15+ years!
It costs over $400

I only have 160Amp 3G's for sale now
Sorry, thought it was a re-packaged large case. Anyway, what do you think of that alt?? Found it here for $173.

http://autoexpress.safeshopper.com/1311/cat1311.htm?342

79 XLT, 400/C6/mog 404's/42 IROKS, 8.5" lift.
79 XLT, 400/C6/D60-D44 8 lug, 2" lift, 35 BFG AT
74 Bronc build, 408/C6/Black Box/205/406 mogs/43 SX stickies

OX1 is offline  
post #76 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 02:39 PM
OX1
Fullsize Member
 
OX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central jersey
Posts: 3,076
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixlitre
Ain't gonna find parts for that ricer piece on Sunday, deep into buttf#%&k county, 12 hwys off the interstate.

The nearest Taurus in a local junkyard (or dark parking lot) will yield a temporary replacement for Ryan's 3G, if it ever gives you trouble (not likely).

Sixlitre
If it's a direct swap (cept for 1/2 inch belt length), why couldn't you use that taurus alt if the big mitsu craps out??

79 XLT, 400/C6/mog 404's/42 IROKS, 8.5" lift.
79 XLT, 400/C6/D60-D44 8 lug, 2" lift, 35 BFG AT
74 Bronc build, 408/C6/Black Box/205/406 mogs/43 SX stickies

OX1 is offline  
post #77 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 03:09 PM
Stuck like a MoFo
 
85f150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Keeler, Michigan
Posts: 3,455
Bronco Info: Srry no Bronk only a F150
iTrader: (2)
look at the big mitsu case, it has different style mounting like a diesels, not the norm 6 and 12 positions.

Truck Porn mooseracing.org

1985 F150 300 cubic inches of raw tq
79 XS 1100 SF
79 Firebird & T/A
64/65 Studebakers
85f150 is offline  
post #78 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 03:43 PM
Fullsize Member
 
B-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stuck in CALI... SUCKS
Posts: 6,746
Bronco Info: 1992 XLT , 5.8, E40D
iTrader: (1)
Garage
Damn, ANOTHER upgrade to do.. I am going to be installing a winch soon, so maybe this upgrade should happen as well.. Got some pick yards that carry a bunch of cars.. Hopefully I can find one of these alternators.

1992 XLT, 5.8 w/ E40D transmission, TTB D44 in front, 8.8 rear, 4.88 gears w/ Eaton Posi, Gibson exhaust/headers,cb radio, 4" suspension lift, 33x12.5's on 8" Pro Comp wheels.

http://www.supermotors.net/registry/27670/85749
B-man is online now  
post #79 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 03:59 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,420
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-man
Damn, ANOTHER upgrade to do.. I am going to be installing a winch soon, so maybe this upgrade should happen as well.. Got some pick yards that carry a bunch of cars.. Hopefully I can find one of these alternators.
Naaa

If you're already 3G, then you're GGGolden

OX1

Apart from the different mounting ears(like 85F150 notes), I'd bet at least one molar tooth they ain't wired with the same plugs either.

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #80 of 481 (permalink) Old 03-15-2005, 04:10 PM
OX1
Fullsize Member
 
OX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central jersey
Posts: 3,076
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 85f150
look at the big mitsu case, it has different style mounting like a diesels, not the norm 6 and 12 positions.
Good point!! I'm thinkin it fits where a 3G fits, so it would swap. Totally overlooked the mounting, DUH!!!

79 XLT, 400/C6/mog 404's/42 IROKS, 8.5" lift.
79 XLT, 400/C6/D60-D44 8 lug, 2" lift, 35 BFG AT
74 Bronc build, 408/C6/Black Box/205/406 mogs/43 SX stickies

OX1 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome