3G alternator FACTS (its wins agian!) - Page 4 - Ford Bronco Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 01:20 PM
press ALT+F4
 
78bronco460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PDX vicinity
Posts: 4,422
Bronco Info: '78 Bronco with motor, axles and stuff
iTrader: (2)
I see the same problem with these little japper alt's as I had with Mopar alternators... Open frame design. It's great for cooling and running to the mall, but mud and dust kills em. Fast. I'm running the stock A/C option FoMoCo alt in my 78 and it's been wheelin me 9 years w/o a hiccup. My Bronco has the original dual battery setup but I only run it with one red top, use the other battry space for a ammo can toolbox. I have a Lincoln large case for a backup that's just been sitting there all this time. I guess I just missed why this machine is needed. Aren't they the ones that caught fire?

78bronco460 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 02:10 PM
Stuck like a MoFo
 
85f150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Keeler, Michigan
Posts: 3,454
Bronco Info: Srry no Bronk only a F150
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kf4amu
So far I cant think of what I could have to overdraw my 3G.

But then again, I've never put it to the test for an extended period of time, or in dirty conditions, which seems to be everyone's complaints.
-Will
89 XLT 460
I overwork mine all the time, or overwork my belts. Plowing, with roof strobes going, 100 watt highbeams on, E-fans on high, And then picking up the plow with a motor that is basically a starter motor.

Mine usually stays at 14 except when i pick the plow up, the belts start screamin for dear life then. It drops to 11 volts but that is good compared to my stock 65 amp that would never go above 12 the whole time plowing

Truck Porn mooseracing.org

1985 F150 300 cubic inches of raw tq
79 XS 1100 SF
79 Firebird & T/A
64/65 Studebakers
85f150 is offline  
post #63 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 02:13 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,413
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kf4amu
Not sure what this means but I'm sure its true. It sounds good anyway.

(Ford to Ford)Definitely I agree. 15 bucks for another alternator. Can't go wrong.

Yep

Wouldnt know.

Kiss the ground and be thankfulThats cool, but its kinda sad when a good standard for an alternator is 4 years of life.

...and counting. That's just how long it's been since the conversion

10 amps - 50 watt 2 meter ham radio
20 amps - 4 55 watt lights on roof rack
20 amps - headlights
20 amps - fire dept strobe lights
10 amps - blower motor for AC/heat
20 amps - ignition/CB/radar detector/dome light/other small draw things (guessing here)
That leaves 30 amps available. I can't think of much else I would need beside a big stereo or a winch. And if I was winching I could live with turning off the AC and strobe lights

I've got a honkin' great stereo with a 1200 and 1400 watt amplifiers and 9 speakers. With everything running at night I can see into the next county with the headlights and that 's good enough for me.

All this and the volt meter stays pegged at 14.75 volts!

I's happy

So far I cant think of what I could have to overdraw my 3G.

But then again, I've never put it to the test for an extended period of time, or in dirty conditions, which seems to be everyone's complaints.
-Will
89 XLT 460
Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
 
post #64 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 02:25 PM
OX1
Fullsize Member
 
OX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: central jersey
Posts: 3,083
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 78bronco460
Aren't they the ones that caught fire?
That was the connectors on the 2nd gen

79 XLT, 400/C6/mog 404's/42 IROKS, 8.5" lift.
79 XLT, 400/C6/D60-D44 8 lug, 2" lift, 35 BFG AT
74 Bronc build, 408/C6/Black Box/205/406 mogs/43 SX stickies

OX1 is offline  
post #65 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 06:00 PM
Try it now!!
 
kf4amu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hotels, Charlotte, Roanoke VA, the cockpit...time split equally between all of them.
Posts: 9,401
Bronco Info: 1989 460 EFI/C6/BW1356 electric/6 inch Rough Country lift/York OBA/Warn hubs/electric fans/14 bolt
iTrader: (6)
Add a 30 amp electric fan to my above calculations...and I've maxed my 3G.

And I never even went into all the radios I want to have in it. Mobile packet/APRS, HF. These things will draw much more.

And I never put a stereo in the mix.

I need dual alternators


-Will
89 XLT 460
kf4amu is offline  
post #66 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 09:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 70
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer
iTrader: (0)
So I might be an idiot, but what about the connectors off the back? Can I just go to a parts store and get the harness or use my stock. I found a 3g in the junkyard today for $45.00, but want to still research this swap. I can build the larger gauge wires for the main hook-up, but what about the "special" connectors.
TCHDNSD is offline  
post #67 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 09:27 PM
Try it now!!
 
kf4amu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hotels, Charlotte, Roanoke VA, the cockpit...time split equally between all of them.
Posts: 9,401
Bronco Info: 1989 460 EFI/C6/BW1356 electric/6 inch Rough Country lift/York OBA/Warn hubs/electric fans/14 bolt
iTrader: (6)
Instead of getting that alternator, pay me to get one for you. 15 bucks from my junkyard.

You can use whatever gauge wires you want. Its just a stud on the back, I'm using 2 gauge wire.
-will
89 XLT 460
kf4amu is offline  
post #68 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 09:59 PM
press ALT+F4
 
78bronco460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PDX vicinity
Posts: 4,422
Bronco Info: '78 Bronco with motor, axles and stuff
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kf4amu
Add a 30 amp electric fan to my above calculations...and I've maxed my 3G.

And I never even went into all the radios I want to have in it. Mobile packet/APRS, HF. These things will draw much more.

And I never put a stereo in the mix.

I need dual alternators


-Will
89 XLT 460
Is that really the case? If the loads are more than the alternator can put out then the battery will do the extra work, for a while at least. If you really are running that much load then wouldn't a second battery would be more helpful than a second alternator?

78bronco460 is offline  
post #69 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 01:05 AM
Try it now!!
 
kf4amu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hotels, Charlotte, Roanoke VA, the cockpit...time split equally between all of them.
Posts: 9,401
Bronco Info: 1989 460 EFI/C6/BW1356 electric/6 inch Rough Country lift/York OBA/Warn hubs/electric fans/14 bolt
iTrader: (6)
I guess it would help smooth out the loads, probably a better option than dual alternators. But I was only half kidding anyway. Before I go through the expense of dual alternators I'd just add another battery or turn some stuff off :-)
-Will
89 XLT 460
kf4amu is offline  
post #70 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 10:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nampa, Idaho
Posts: 70
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kf4amu
Instead of getting that alternator, pay me to get one for you. 15 bucks from my junkyard.

You can use whatever gauge wires you want. Its just a stud on the back, I'm using 2 gauge wire.
-will
89 XLT 460
I'm still looking for a possible better deal. That was just one junkyard around here.
I'm refering to the "pigtail" harness. I can figure out the heavy gauge wiring but where the others are on the back I'm trying to find out if I need to change or upgrade those.
TCHDNSD is offline  
post #71 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 10:50 AM
Try it now!!
 
kf4amu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hotels, Charlotte, Roanoke VA, the cockpit...time split equally between all of them.
Posts: 9,401
Bronco Info: 1989 460 EFI/C6/BW1356 electric/6 inch Rough Country lift/York OBA/Warn hubs/electric fans/14 bolt
iTrader: (6)
I dont think so. But do yourself a favor and order the harness from Ryan McCormick (Fireguy50).
Its a good well built harness, no one has been unhappy with it thats has bought it. I myself have to wait a couple weeks before I get it cuz I'm poor, but in the meantime....

It works fine.

kf4amu is offline  
post #72 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 06:06 PM
A beer and a gun
 
bigric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 2,072
iTrader: (0)
You might be able to get those connectors from a parts store; they surprise me sometimes with what they have. Ryan makes a good harness. I cut one out of a Taurus, made a couple of changes, and made my charge cable out of it too.
bigric is offline  
post #73 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 06:50 PM
I got tools-i can fix it
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carmichael, California
Posts: 2,735
Bronco Info: 1983 Full Size Bronco
iTrader: (3)
Ryan stuff it top notch, but i was impaitent and cheap. i just cut the harness on the junk yard car and made my own.
http://www.supermotors.org/registry/...il.php?id=6364
mike
collinsperformance is offline  
post #74 of 377 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 10:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: BFG Hater
Posts: 41
Bronco Info: 84' 300I6/NP435/NP208
iTrader: (0)
Just wanted to say thanks for all of the info..Here I was looking to swap my old worn out external regulated POS for a Chevy 1 wire (Can I say that here?)
Ended up working very nicely!!!
I've got a rear mounted radiator in my Bronco and a couple 20+amp fans...this alternator definatly does the trick!
C4r7m4n is offline  
post #75 of 377 (permalink) Old 06-07-2005, 03:46 PM
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Add one to the list of junkyard 3G lovers. Total cost of the swap for the one I just did was, get this, $0.03, I just needed to buy a washer, got the alt, ran a helicoil through it and found a bolt I had.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #76 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-06-2005, 12:42 AM
Excessively Engineered
 
lightnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Morrilton, AR
Posts: 2,920
Bronco Info: 1993 5.8 e40d
iTrader: (17)
I am looking at a 3G on ebay. It is Serp drive. I need a v-belt. Would the pully on my stock bronco swap onto it? All 3g's that I have looked at up close have been serp. I can't find a v-belt 3g. Does anyone have one they will sell cheap?

97 tj crawler
93 bronco 5.8 auto
lightnin is offline  
post #77 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-06-2005, 06:36 AM
Registered User
 
Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South Van. Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 281
Bronco Info: 1986 Bronco XLT 5.0L/AOD & 1990 Bronco XLT 5.8L/E4OD
iTrader: (0)
you can swap the pulley from your old alt if i remember correctly,
i may be wrong, but if you search, it'll be in there (somewhere).

Dip Me In Chocolate, And Throw Me To The Lesbians


The Project Collection -----> Click Here!
Dragon is offline  
post #78 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-06-2005, 01:31 PM
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragon
you can swap the pulley from your old alt
Yep, just don't mess up the metric nut on the 3G itself. They're hard to come by in America.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #79 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-06-2005, 02:23 PM
Excessively Engineered
 
lightnin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Morrilton, AR
Posts: 2,920
Bronco Info: 1993 5.8 e40d
iTrader: (17)
So I undo the nut and pull the pulley off of mine and undo the nut and pull the pulley off the serpentine 3G and put my pulley on it and I'm good to go? Do I need a spacer or something? Thanks for the help!

97 tj crawler
93 bronco 5.8 auto
lightnin is offline  
post #80 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-06-2005, 02:27 PM
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Ya may need a spacer. I did a 3G swap on a 67 390 in a 56 F-100 and I needed a spacer for its single v-belt pulley.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome