3G alternator FACTS (its wins agian!) - Page 5 - Ford Bronco Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #81 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-10-2005, 07:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 1,779
Bronco Info: 1978 Bronco, 466 EFI
iTrader: (0)
I will say this about the "GM" case competitor alternators. They are junk compared ta a good 3G.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work- Thomas A Edison
BigWheelz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #82 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-10-2005, 11:05 AM
scrounger extrordinaire
 
axaviere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 5,265
Bronco Info: 79 460 6" coming soon...39.5s, D60/D60 ARB/Detroit w/ 4.88s
iTrader: (0)
i took both of mine to a rebuilder. $3 & they swapped a new 2 groove V belt pulley on it. had it back in 2 days

take a look at TRUCK my 79 custom. 6" front, 4" rear, 460, 37s, 8 lug conversion. F&R discs. this season, i will have the D60/D60 installed, rear detroit and front ARB with 4.88s and 39.5 IROKs on hummer double bealocks, hydro assist and crossover steering
axaviere is offline  
post #83 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-10-2005, 11:20 AM
I got tools-i can fix it
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carmichael, California
Posts: 2,735
Bronco Info: 1983 Full Size Bronco
iTrader: (3)
when i took mine to to get bench tested i just had autozone pull and swap them...it was free. i did not need a washer or spacer to swap mine.serp to v-belt...mike
collinsperformance is offline  
 
post #84 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-10-2005, 02:55 PM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,413
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightnin
So I undo the nut and pull the pulley off of mine and undo the nut and pull the pulley off the serpentine 3G and put my pulley on it and I'm good to go? Do I need a spacer or something? Thanks for the help!
Yeah, a quick burst from an impact gun should loosen the metric nut

Then, I found I need a "wafer thin" 25 cent shim from Home Depot. If you have a double V-belt pulley, like my 86 had, there may be another problem.

The shaft was too short and the nut only threaded on 6 or so threads. I tightened her on and drover her like that for a year. Later I found another pulley just like mine and had a machine shop deepen the center 1/4" for me on a lathe.

Must be over 5 years now since I did the 3G 130 amp swap and I couldn't be happier. As a matter of fact I just swapped one onto the 1990 Lincoln Town Car and she loves it too !!!!!!!!

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #85 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 08:46 AM
Registered User
 
Seabronc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North of NYC
Posts: 611
Bronco Info: 1983 FSB, 351W, Holley 4BBL, 31x10.5, Ford 8.8 3.08:1 rear
iTrader: (1)
3G for 83

I want to do the 3G conversion on my 83 FSB. I notice that the serpentine belt pully is smaller than my alternator pully. That means if I do a swap of those pullys the 3G will run slower than it would if it was installed on a serpentine pully system, right?. Where can I get a smaller double V belt pully to use on the 3G?

Also, is pully size different enough to require getting smaller V belts if I find a smaller V belt pully?

Perhaps my question is for Fireguy50 since he has a nice picture of the 3G with a V belt pully installed. What parts did you use? I see some responses to this question that look like work around solutions, like washer for alignment and machineing the inside of the pully to get the nut on.


Fred


1983 FSB
351W
Holley 4 BBL 4160
MSD6AL & Blaster 2
Wipers ON / Head Lights ON Control
Head Light wiring upgrade
1996 Lincoln Mark VIII 4200 CFM Electric Fan
1996 Lincoln Mark VIII 3G 130 Amp Alternator
31x10.5x15
Ford 8.8 3.08:1 rear
Dana 44 3.08:1 front


Supermotors http://www.supermotors.net/212

Communication: I know you think you know what I said, but what you need to know is, I didn't say what I meant.

BRONCO's IS MPVs NOT SUVs

Last edited by Seabronc; 11-19-2005 at 09:01 AM.
Seabronc is offline  
post #86 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 10:28 AM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,489
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixlitre
Then, I found I need a "wafer thin" 25 cent shim from Home Depot. If you have a double V-belt pulley, like my 86 had, there may be another problem.

Just do this and you will be good. I didnt have any problems with mine.

Just use your stock pully that came on your 83, thats all you need to do.

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #87 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 11:10 AM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,413
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seabronc
I want to do the 3G conversion on my 83 FSB. I notice that the serpentine belt pully is smaller than my alternator pully. That means if I do a swap of those pullys the 3G will run slower than it would if it was installed on a serpentine pully system, right?. Where can I get a smaller double V belt pully to use on the 3G?

Also, is pully size different enough to require getting smaller V belts if I find a smaller V belt pully?

Perhaps my question is for Fireguy50 since he has a nice picture of the 3G with a V belt pully installed. What parts did you use? I see some responses to this question that look like work around solutions, like washer for alignment and machineing the inside of the pully to get the nut on.

SeaBronc

Like 81 says, just use your stock 2G pulley. Mine needed to be deepened, but for over a year I drove it undeepened with no troubles.

No need to go serpentine at all. All I needed for my 302 was a new V belt 1" longer or shorter (search back and see which).

It's a virtual bolt-on as far as hanging the alternator on the older mount. I got all over prepared, as anal people are known to do, and in the end on the day of install I was up and running in 45 minutes (soldering included).

The worst thing that could happen is you wait too long and end up shelling out good money for another 2G before you get the 3G on there !

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #88 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 05:32 PM
Registered User
 
Seabronc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North of NYC
Posts: 611
Bronco Info: 1983 FSB, 351W, Holley 4BBL, 31x10.5, Ford 8.8 3.08:1 rear
iTrader: (1)
Thanks guys,

Now that I have looked at my 2G pully, I can see that there actually isn't that much difference in size. As far as the wafer thin shim you got at Home Depot, do you mean a regular bolt washer or what department did you find it in?


Fred


1983 FSB
351W
Holley 4 BBL 4160
MSD6AL & Blaster 2
Wipers ON / Head Lights ON Control
Head Light wiring upgrade
1996 Lincoln Mark VIII 4200 CFM Electric Fan
1996 Lincoln Mark VIII 3G 130 Amp Alternator
31x10.5x15
Ford 8.8 3.08:1 rear
Dana 44 3.08:1 front


Supermotors http://www.supermotors.net/212

Communication: I know you think you know what I said, but what you need to know is, I didn't say what I meant.

BRONCO's IS MPVs NOT SUVs
Seabronc is offline  
post #89 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 10:33 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,489
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
Ya its just a washer with a huge hole in the center


Oh look at that, 5/8 center 18 gauge.



Goes from this.....


to this....



I dont plan on machining mine down, would be smart (ok smarter) but I'm

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #90 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-19-2005, 10:47 PM
I got tools-i can fix it
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carmichael, California
Posts: 2,735
Bronco Info: 1983 Full Size Bronco
iTrader: (3)
on my 83 i just had autozone zip off the serp pully and zip on the vbelt off my 2G........one of the best swaps i done. i found today even with a short (license plate light wiring was shorted) i was still getting 14 volts all the time. ;;;;;;mike
collinsperformance is offline  
post #91 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-20-2005, 12:07 AM
Practicing Infidel
 
Sixlitre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 15,413
Bronco Info: 86 Eddie Bauer; EFI 5.0 liter, AOD, optimized ignition system, external tranny filter, urethane bush
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seabronc
Thanks guys,

Now that I have looked at my 2G pully, I can see that there actually isn't that much difference in size. As far as the wafer thin shim you got at Home Depot, do you mean a regular bolt washer or what department did you find it in?

In them fancy-dew boxes down the fastening aisle. It's much thinner than a plain washer, almost feeler gauge thin.

Sixlitre

My Superford site
http://www.superford.org/registry/vehicles/detail.php?id=4970&s=17328#content
Sixlitre is offline  
post #92 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-21-2005, 03:57 PM
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Bronk36
I dont plan on machining mine down, would be smart (ok smarter) but I'm
Heck, I just filed down the case where it was rubbing on mine.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #93 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-21-2005, 07:11 PM
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixlitre
Ain't your 88 a serpentine belt ?

Sixlitre
The Bronco is. The F-100 ain't.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #94 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-23-2005, 08:36 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,489
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass1tonf100
where can i get a mega fuse ??? and harness ????
Junkyard (any 95+ Ford with a 125 mega fuze underhood) and OH ya junkyard again $5 for the wires from a 95+ Ford Taurus

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #95 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-23-2005, 09:08 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,489
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass1tonf100
thanks bronk! where is it located? is the fuse under hood or in the fuse panel ?
The whole shabang. Its near the battery, in between the engine and radiator of my 01 taurus. I can't wait to get one, instead I spent 40 bucks on a fuze holder from Stinger (25 holder 15 for the fuze)

I should take a pic of it, but its about 3" wide by 10 long and the fuze is on the end closest to the alt and it has a cover that slides over it.

All you need for wires is the 2 plugs, about 6" of the yellow wire and 6 of the green. Put a 5/16" (or 3/8".. cant remember) eyelet on the yellow and loop it to the red terminal of the alt, white/tan plugs in, and green is 12VS, which on my 81 was also Green.

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #96 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-23-2005, 09:53 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,489
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by collinsperformance
you can get a circuit breaker. i liked this idea since i can just reset it in the field without fumbling with a fuse or try to find a spare fuse on the trail...

mike
Thats true, but the question is
How much was it
where did you get it
why you would blow a 125-150amp fuze.... (well I know it happens but ya catch my point)

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
post #97 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-24-2005, 01:02 PM
I got tools-i can fix it
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Carmichael, California
Posts: 2,735
Bronco Info: 1983 Full Size Bronco
iTrader: (3)
i got it at a car audoi shop for $30....mike
collinsperformance is offline  
post #98 of 377 (permalink) Old 11-25-2005, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,453
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seabronc
Perhaps my question is for Fireguy50 since he has a nice picture of the 3G with a V belt pully installed. What parts did you use? I see some responses to this question that look like work around solutions, like washer for alignment and machineing the inside of the pully to get the nut on.



Fireguy50 is offline  
post #99 of 377 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 12:16 PM
Fast member
 
fastpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Posts: 214
Bronco Info: 96 XL, M5OD, 6 in. lift, JBA headers, MSD Offroad, full duals, 3.55's
iTrader: (0)
OK, I have a 3G in my '96, where is everyone pulling the model number from to verify what the unit's output is supposed to be?

Pat
fastpat is offline  
post #100 of 377 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 01:36 PM
FSB warrior
 
81Bronk36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South GA
Posts: 6,489
Bronco Info: was an 81, GT-40P, NP-435, NP208, 36s, 0" lift
iTrader: (6)
the back center chrome cap sometimes has amps stamped on it. yours is probably 95 amp

1BadBronco
was a81 Bronco Custom. Sold See my superford link for how I built her!
NOW83 F-250 6.9L IDI, built C-6 1345 D44HD and D70 rear with 3.55 gears. Sag pump, hydroboost, 3G, SD vacuum pump, bumpers, 34" swampers
81Bronk36 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome