What's a PSOM & how do I "P" it??? - Page 2 - Ford Bronco Forum
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 09:50 AM
green ones make me horny
 
imlikeojnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Eglin AFB, Fl
Posts: 11,174
Bronco Info: 1994 w/ built 302, E4OD, 33in tires, custom exhaust, upgraded ign. running like a raped ape
iTrader: (22)
Does anyone know the constant for 33s off the top of there head?



Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue View Post
No, I don't have this problem. Money grows on trees here in Michigan, and my Bronco gets 45 mpg. It emits sunshine and a light berry scent, and it never needs service or parts.
imlikeojnow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,449
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
djdan
There's nothing in that formula that requires the original tire size. Get your RevsPerMile for your CURRENT tires from TireRack.com & plug the numbers in.

imlikeojnow
Every 33" make & model is different. Look up yours.
Steve83 is offline  
post #23 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 08:59 PM
green ones make me horny
 
imlikeojnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Eglin AFB, Fl
Posts: 11,174
Bronco Info: 1994 w/ built 302, E4OD, 33in tires, custom exhaust, upgraded ign. running like a raped ape
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
djdan
There's nothing in that formula that requires the original tire size. Get your RevsPerMile for your CURRENT tires from TireRack.com & plug the numbers in.

imlikeojnow
Every 33" make & model is different. Look up yours.

Maybe im just freakin stupid but i dont understand what i am supposed to do



Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue View Post
No, I don't have this problem. Money grows on trees here in Michigan, and my Bronco gets 45 mpg. It emits sunshine and a light berry scent, and it never needs service or parts.
imlikeojnow is offline  
 
post #24 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 09:50 PM
green ones make me horny
 
imlikeojnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Eglin AFB, Fl
Posts: 11,174
Bronco Info: 1994 w/ built 302, E4OD, 33in tires, custom exhaust, upgraded ign. running like a raped ape
iTrader: (22)
Alright let me make sure my retarded ass got it cause i just dont think it can be that simple.

ConvConst = RevsperMile x ToneRingTeeth / 8000
= 636 x 108 / 8000 =8.586

So when i get everything ready to change the constant on the PSOM i just got to get it to 8.58 and i am good to go right? If that is right it is alot more easy than my overthinking ass figured



Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue View Post
No, I don't have this problem. Money grows on trees here in Michigan, and my Bronco gets 45 mpg. It emits sunshine and a light berry scent, and it never needs service or parts.
imlikeojnow is offline  
post #25 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 10:21 PM
Registered User
 
djdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 544
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 5.8 Durabak Black Chuck Norris "Thumbs Up" Edition
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
djdan
There's nothing in that formula that requires the original tire size. Get your RevsPerMile for your CURRENT tires from TireRack.com & plug the numbers in.
Ok...thanks. I swear...for a halfway intelligent person I'm really dumb sometimes. I'll do this tomorrow. I will post results.

djdan is offline  
post #26 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
svt5litre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: York County Va
Posts: 135
Bronco Info: 96F150 SaS 39.5 swampers , lincoln locked front& rear and an ever growing pile of broke stuff
iTrader: (1)
.

http://a488.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/63/m_82940aa35d643e5ca13ffb2d24a68f27.jpg96 shortbed "sas3.0" IT lives
svt5litre is offline  
post #27 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 11:22 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,449
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
imlikeojnow
8.586 rounds to 8.59; not 8.58. I didn't check your RevsPerMile (even if you HAD posted your make/model of tire) or your math, but that's all there is to it.

svt5litre
This thread isn't about anything but '92-97 PSOMs. I suggest you start a new thread in the Gen.Tech.Help forum, and reference the information in this one.
Steve83 is offline  
post #28 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-13-2007, 09:56 AM
green ones make me horny
 
imlikeojnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Eglin AFB, Fl
Posts: 11,174
Bronco Info: 1994 w/ built 302, E4OD, 33in tires, custom exhaust, upgraded ign. running like a raped ape
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
imlikeojnow
8.586 rounds to 8.59; not 8.58. I didn't check your RevsPerMile (even if you HAD posted your make/model of tire) or your math, but that's all there is to it.

svt5litre
This thread isn't about anything but '92-97 PSOMs. I suggest you start a new thread in the Gen.Tech.Help forum, and reference the information in this one.
Sweet thanks man i looked it up on tire rack that is where i got the revs per mile.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue View Post
No, I don't have this problem. Money grows on trees here in Michigan, and my Bronco gets 45 mpg. It emits sunshine and a light berry scent, and it never needs service or parts.
imlikeojnow is offline  
post #29 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-13-2007, 04:13 PM
Registered User
 
djdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 544
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 5.8 Durabak Black Chuck Norris "Thumbs Up" Edition
iTrader: (4)
I just finished mine! It IS easy!

The interesting thing with my setup is it said E 03. It didnt have a lockout countdown ANYWHERE that I could see. I went back and checked after I finished thinking the "03" might have been my count and dropped to 02 but it still said 03 indicating that is my revision.

I wonder why mine had no lockout count?

At any rate it is very nice to have a tranny shifting at the proper points and a speedo that is actually accurate! I didnt realize how much I'd actually been speeding.

Thanks for the help!

djdan is offline  
post #30 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-13-2007, 05:26 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,449
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Maybe that revision doesn't include the lockout count. I've never seen such a low revision number. All the ones I can remember are like E 08 6.
Steve83 is offline  
post #31 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-13-2007, 07:55 PM
Registered User
 
djdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 544
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 5.8 Durabak Black Chuck Norris "Thumbs Up" Edition
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
Maybe that revision doesn't include the lockout count. .
Wouldnt I be the lucky one? At any rate I'm not going to find out the hard way. The next and last adjustment I will make is when I regear and add 35's.

Thanks again for your help on this!

EDIT- I thought Steve (and maybe others) might find this interesting as well. My numbers did not count DOWN, but UP when I pressed the select button during programming. I had to push the button a BUNCH to get it to where it needed to be.

djdan is offline  
post #32 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-14-2007, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,449
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Definitely some different software in that thing...
Steve83 is offline  
post #33 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-15-2007, 06:48 PM
Fullsize Member
 
bluebronco1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 229
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 351w, Bassani Y-Pipe, JBA Headers, MSD, Edelbrock EFI intake, New E4OD, BBK TB, etc.
iTrader: (0)
Don't worry djdan, mine was the same way. No lockout count and my count went up instead of down when I hit select. I also had E 03.
bluebronco1966 is offline  
post #34 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-15-2007, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
djdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 544
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 5.8 Durabak Black Chuck Norris "Thumbs Up" Edition
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebronco1966 View Post
Don't worry djdan, mine was the same way. No lockout count and my count went up instead of down when I hit select. I also had E 03.
Cool. Can you verify that we do or do not have a lockout count at all?

djdan is offline  
post #35 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-16-2007, 12:50 PM
Fullsize Member
 
bluebronco1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 229
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 351w, Bassani Y-Pipe, JBA Headers, MSD, Edelbrock EFI intake, New E4OD, BBK TB, etc.
iTrader: (0)
I was curious djdan, so I asked a few people about it. Most of them seemed to agree on being able to modify it so that it would show less miles than were really being put on the vehicle, for screwing the warranty or for selling later with lower miles. I guess somebody at Ford decided after E 03 to put in a lockout count to try and keep this from happening so much.
bluebronco1966 is offline  
post #36 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-16-2007, 02:17 PM
Registered User
 
djdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 544
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 5.8 Durabak Black Chuck Norris "Thumbs Up" Edition
iTrader: (4)
Thanks for the follow up!

djdan is offline  
post #37 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-19-2007, 08:19 PM
JB
Dead Horse
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,942
Bronco Info: 95 XL
iTrader: (4)
i did this today. great writeup
JB is offline  
post #38 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-21-2007, 01:51 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,449
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Wow - something I never knew... I'll have to try it sometime.

Steve83 is offline  
post #39 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-21-2007, 02:41 AM
JB
Dead Horse
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,942
Bronco Info: 95 XL
iTrader: (4)
at first when i seen that i thought you were changing the mileage
JB is offline  
post #40 of 299 (permalink) Old 03-21-2007, 03:18 AM
Fullsize Member
 
Ogeechee 4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 8,358
Bronco Info: '95 Bronco, 351W, NP435/205, Solid D44 front, 35" MTR's, 3.55 gears
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
Wow - something I never knew... I'll have to try it sometime.

Interesting! Sooo...what's that say in english?

My SuperFord
'95 Eddie Bauer-- 351W, NP435/205, D44 SAS
Ogeechee 4x4 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome