What's a PSOM & how do I "P" it??? - Ford Bronco Forum
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 300 (permalink) Old 12-07-2005, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Talking What's a PSOM & how do I "P" it???

Everything is now in the caption of this pic:

Steve83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-15-2006, 12:16 AM
formerly Nascarfreak88
 
Ditch Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 1,811
Bronco Info: '89 SAS leaf D60 front, D70 rear, etc etc etc
iTrader: (18)
so the 10.25 uses a 120 tooth ring?
Drama4343 likes this.
Ditch Baby is offline  
post #3 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-15-2006, 01:20 AM
Registered User
 
Mudd_Slinger92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Savannah GA
Posts: 1,260
Bronco Info: 1992 Ford Bronco XLT
iTrader: (0)
Well I did it on my truck, didnt work at all.... still is 10-20mph off. I did everything it said.. any ideas? I did find out my truck came from overseas.... So if that may explain anything to help me fix mine id' apreciate it!


When in doubt...FLOOR IT!! // 92' Bronco XLT 5.0 *GT-40 Heads, ALL Roller, ALL new, summit headers!* 6" RC lift 36" TSL Radials // -Joey
Click my supermotors
http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/592685/fullsize/dscf0029.jpg
Mudd_Slinger92 is offline  
 
post #4 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-15-2006, 09:28 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
nf88
That's what it says.

MS92
That's a worthless post. "I did everything..." doesn't tell us anything about what you did, most importantly WHY you're trying to mess with your speedo. Put your truck's specifics in your profile, especially a brief list of any mods. Judging by your sig line & your avatar, your speedo should be correct. THEN tell us step-by-step what you did & what happened, including any relevant details. What's your current lockout count?
Steve83 is offline  
post #5 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-15-2006, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
Mudd_Slinger92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Savannah GA
Posts: 1,260
Bronco Info: 1992 Ford Bronco XLT
iTrader: (0)
Well, first things first I held the reset and turned the key and let it do the full sweep and found out it had been done 3 times before and also that it came from overseas. After I did that I grounded the wire, did it again and the CAL never flashed. The truck is basically stock except for some cooling things done/added to it. And it has 31s (Yes I know everyone says their stock) but my speedo is at 10-20MPH off when driving. I didnt know if maybe my gear was shot or what. Thanks for the help steve


When in doubt...FLOOR IT!! // 92' Bronco XLT 5.0 *GT-40 Heads, ALL Roller, ALL new, summit headers!* 6" RC lift 36" TSL Radials // -Joey
Click my supermotors
http://www.supermotors.net/getfile/592685/fullsize/dscf0029.jpg
Mudd_Slinger92 is offline  
post #6 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-15-2006, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83
...if you press Select while viewing the conversion constant, "CAL" will flash & the constant will decrease by 0.01. Press the Select button to continue decreasing the constant by 0.01 each time. When the constant reaches 5.00, it goes back to 11.00 .
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83
Put your truck's specifics in your profile... What's your current lockout count?
Steve83 is offline  
post #7 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-15-2006, 11:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 9
Bronco Info: '95 Bronco XLT 351W E40D
iTrader: (0)
Steve,

Sorry on the mixup on the name. I grounded the PSOM input then held the reset button while turning the ignition to on. The speedo needle swept and I got the initial display showing the rev and that I had six changes left. When I hit reset again, it displayed the current constant value. I checked your chart and it had the value for a 235 tire. This was the stock tire when I bought it new in 95. The cal was not flashing. I tried pressing select to see if the value would change, but it did not. Am I missing something?

Thanks

95 XLT 351W E4OD 31X10.50 198000 mi engine and trans rebuilt at 194000
rowanart is offline  
post #8 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-16-2006, 12:45 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
If you could see the constant, then it was in programming mode. But if neither button would make it flash, then the correct wire wasn't grounded. The dash shell & structure are plastic, so use the cigar lighter housing or antenna cable shield as a solid ground point.
Steve83 is offline  
post #9 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-16-2006, 04:15 PM
formerly Nascarfreak88
 
Ditch Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 1,811
Bronco Info: '89 SAS leaf D60 front, D70 rear, etc etc etc
iTrader: (18)
[QUOTE=Steve83]nf88
That's what it says.

is said <b>some</b> of the bigger axles had the differant tooth count, didnt know of any other axles with the tone ring... just double checking
Ditch Baby is offline  
post #10 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-16-2006, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
I thought you had read the Ford .PDF linked at the bottom. Check it out.
Steve83 is offline  
post #11 of 300 (permalink) Old 07-16-2006, 08:29 PM
formerly Nascarfreak88
 
Ditch Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 1,811
Bronco Info: '89 SAS leaf D60 front, D70 rear, etc etc etc
iTrader: (18)
didnt open it b/c it said 97 and up haha
Ditch Baby is offline  
post #12 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-22-2006, 09:04 PM
Geaux Tigers!!
 
Tommy R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 2,307
Bronco Info: Used to have a '96 FSB. Now have an '01 Jeep.
iTrader: (4)
Steve,

Once again, I owe you one. I just finally reprogrammed my Bronco for the first time since putting 35's on it in July. Heck, it's had 33's since April so I've been mis-calibrated all this time. Sure is nice to once again have an accurate speedo!!

I kind of freaked a bit when I saw the "6" on the screen because I was thinking it'd been changed 6 times and I'd be out of luck....not to mention driving a truck that's apparently had the mileage "altered" a number of times. I was relieved to then re-read the instructions only to see that this number will count down after being re-calibrated. Whew!!

Thanks again, Steve!

Tommy

Bigger is not necessarily better.
Tommy R is offline  
post #13 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-23-2006, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Glad to see someone is getting some use from the Writeup forum, and this thread!
Steve83 is offline  
post #14 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-23-2006, 10:18 PM
formerly Nascarfreak88
 
Ditch Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 1,811
Bronco Info: '89 SAS leaf D60 front, D70 rear, etc etc etc
iTrader: (18)
now if we run out of lockouts, can you use something like the TruSpeed??
Ditch Baby is offline  
post #15 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-24-2006, 01:00 AM
Registered User
 
MikE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,959
iTrader: (5)
Yes you can.

And the nice thing about the truespeed is you can program it for different sets of tires. So if you have a summer set and a winter set, or street tires and mud tires, you can switch it back and forth to whatever tire you have on there.
MikE2 is offline  
post #16 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-24-2006, 01:03 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
You'd have to be careful about how & where you wire in an aftermarket adjustment since the 4WABS uses an UNconverted speed signal. So wiring it up wrong might cause some unwanted ABS activity.

It's much cheaper & easier to just swap in another PSOM, but how are you going to use up 6 changes???
Steve83 is offline  
post #17 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-24-2006, 01:10 AM
Registered User
 
MikE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,959
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
You'd have to be careful about how & where you wire in an aftermarket adjustment since the 4WABS uses an UNconverted speed signal. So wiring it up wrong might cause some unwanted ABS activity.
I never had any problem with it. I don't know how it works, but it says the signal is corrected at its source and everything that works off the speed signal will be correct
MikE2 is offline  
post #18 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-24-2006, 08:49 AM
formerly Nascarfreak88
 
Ditch Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Palm Bay, Florida
Posts: 1,811
Bronco Info: '89 SAS leaf D60 front, D70 rear, etc etc etc
iTrader: (18)
well ive already gone through 2 of them... the 1st time hit the wrong button *doh* and its currently set for the 33"s and once im done with my sas ill have to figure out my 38.5s, and hopefully this time next year ill be on 42s or 44s. Plus im considering a set of street tires to make long hauls in... i dont know if they make them that big

i dont have 4wabs, only rear, which pretty much sucks anyway.
Ditch Baby is offline  
post #19 of 300 (permalink) Old 10-28-2006, 01:54 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 40,427
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike2 View Post
...it says the signal is corrected at its source and everything that works off the speed signal will be correct
Great. But if you're adjusting the REAR signal, it won't match the FRONT signals, which could cause the 4WABS to get confused about how fast the truck is going, and what to do if something starts to lock up.

nascarfreak88
Of course, this only applies to 4WABS. It almost doesn't matter on others.
Steve83 is offline  
post #20 of 300 (permalink) Old 03-12-2007, 02:46 AM
Registered User
 
djdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 544
Bronco Info: 1992 EB 5.8 Durabak Black Chuck Norris "Thumbs Up" Edition
iTrader: (4)
How do I figure this out if I have NO idea what my stock tire size was.

When I purchased my truck used it had 31's on it and seemed about right...now it has 33's and the largest I will EVER go is 35's.

djdan is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > Technical Write Ups

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome