79 Bronco Katy Texas Build - Ford Bronco Forum
 256Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 998 (permalink) Old 09-03-2011, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Redneck Engineer

Bronco Info: 79 Bronco Ranger XLT C6 35's
79 Bronco Katy Texas Build

Hello all! 79BroncoSpringTx here. Well hereís my 79 Bronco Build thread. If youíve read my Introduction you know I had a 79 Bronco I bought new. I graduated Hign School in 76. Well the 79 was my first ever New vehicle to own. My family had been dealing with a Ford dealer in Huntsville Texas just north of Houston. So I rode up there and sat down with the sales guy and picked out what I wanted. What a thrill for a 21 yr. old. I waited about a month and they called and said it was in. My Dad and I rode up there with my trade in and did the deal and they handed me the keys. Hereís what she looked like. This isn't my actual one. Just a photo I found. It was Candy Apple Red and Wimbledon White. It was beautiful !

Here we are some 30 years later and I wanted it back. I was bitten by the Bronco bug again! So I started my search on Craigslist about a month ago. I was scouring the state of Texas looking for the right one. I found one close by that looked pretty good in the photos. Went to look at it in person and realized they had cut the fender wells on it. The engine was out and in pieces. It had been sitting with the back window down and rain and leaves filling the back. I decided this was not the one for me. So the search continued. I would check Craigslist in the morning and at night. Well on a Thursday night one was posted about 9pm. I texted the guy at 9:30 and was on the phone with him a few minutes later. He had one pic on line. He sent me more pics the next day. Based on the photos I wanted it. I had found a lot of 78ís for sale. I really wanted a 79. And this was a 79. So we did the deal on the phone.