rossisnow-rebuilding a 78 Custom - Page 4 - Ford Bronco Forum
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #61 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by raleigh View Post
Those are some good numbers buddy
Break it down for me. Not sure where a 400 averages. Seems like good oil pressure though.
rossisnow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 10:00 PM
FSM Lifetime
 
raleigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Viva Las Vegas
Posts: 2,833
Bronco Info: '79 built 400, Ford 10.5" Rear, Dana 60 Front, Locked, Twin Sticked
iTrader: (3)
Did they break down the compression per cylinder?

My 400 is around 125-130 per cylinder, I am going to do the hone the block and replace the rings and bearings.

Dave

"...when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same object
evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their
duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security."
raleigh is offline  
post #63 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-22-2012, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by raleigh View Post
Did they break down the compression per cylinder?

My 400 is around 125-130 per cylinder, I am going to do the hone the block and replace the rings and bearings.
They only gave me the three numbers, as shown, without units. they claim all the cylinders are within %10, even though oem is %15. Have to assume that its the average from the sim test.
rossisnow is offline  
 
post #64 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
trans








Little bastard......


Nobody could ever figure out why the tranny would not go into first gear from the column. Guess what I found stuck in the muck between the lever and the casing!




The mean things we do to exhaust systems to pass smog


























Best way to remove these buggers. Cut and pound....










rossisnow is offline  
post #65 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 01:15 PM
FSM Lifetime
 
bigredkacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: La Verne, Ca
Posts: 1,803
Bronco Info: 1978 Bronco - 460, Dana 60 Front, 14 Bolt Rear, Cage Arms, Deavers, 39.5 Irok
iTrader: (4)
Looking GOOD!!!

Keep up the progress and keep the kids involved
bigredkacy is offline  
post #66 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 06:55 PM
Registered User
 
jamesgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elk Garden, WV.
Posts: 105
Bronco Info: 78 BRONCO
iTrader: (0)

Best way to remove these buggers. Cut and pound....



If you use a drill bit a little larger then the sleve you can drill it out and then they will fall apart.

Jamesgang
jamesgang is offline  
post #67 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
If you use a drill bit a little larger then the sleve you can drill it out and then they will fall apart.[/QUOTE]

Problem was that the rubber was gone, so it would just spin. Suppose I could have clamped it down Now you tell me!
rossisnow is offline  
post #68 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 07:08 PM
Registered User
 
jamesgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elk Garden, WV.
Posts: 105
Bronco Info: 78 BRONCO
iTrader: (0)
I did the same thing you did & it sucks. A guy at the junk yard told me to use a drill bit. It would work better if the weight of the body was on them maybe.

Jamesgang
jamesgang is offline  
post #69 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 08:36 PM
Registered User
 
Cody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Monroeville, PA
Posts: 2,421
Bronco Info: 1979 Bronco, 400/c6/np205, dana 44/ 9"rear, 3.50 gears, 4" suspension lift with 35"x12.5"x15" tires
iTrader: (2)
Interesting way to remove the transmission!

I just put mine back in the bronco. Let's just say it's a pain in the azz......

1979 Bronco
1979 Ford F-100
1979 Camaro
2003 ranger
Cody is offline  
post #70 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-26-2012, 08:38 PM
Resurection Ranch
 
379sinvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 6,536
Bronco Info: Blue Eyes,Black Stallion, Shadow & Filly
iTrader: (9)
What are you going to replace the old body mounts with?


Rick
My Projects- "Left for Dead"
Filly

tidewaterbroncos@gmail.com (also on facebook)
379sinvb is offline  
post #71 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 12:15 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody View Post
Interesting way to remove the transmission!

I just put mine back in the bronco. Let's just say it's a pain in the azz......
Seemed like a good idea.
The local guy is charging me $1250 to rebuild it. Can get a reman delivered for $1080. Both have a warranty. Trying to decide what to do. I dont have the time to do it myself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 379sinvb View Post
What are you going to replace the old body mounts with?
I was just gonna order these from LMC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mounts.JPG
Views:	563
Size:	14.1 KB
ID:	20077  
rossisnow is offline  
post #72 of 373 (permalink) Old 03-27-2012, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
Carb

Does anyone know if this carb will work for a CA 400? 2 barrel stock manifold with EGR. Seems like the only option. Having trouble finding reman CA emmisions carb.


Update 03/28/12: Never mind. Bought it because I cant find anything else.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	carb.JPG
Views:	592
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	20078  
rossisnow is offline  
post #73 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-01-2012, 10:59 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)

The rebuilt C6.


Started pulling the heatercore/rat and leaf trap....


I wondered where my daughters "shopping lists" were going.



This came out the first few shakes.



Looks like vinyl flooring or something wedged in there?



Compost.


Here is everything.



The previous owner installed KC lights. Almost caught it on fire.





I made a new plexiglass cover for this.



trying to remove the patina from the contacts on here with a file. Changed the bulbs. Hoping for a better night display.







Rust proofed the fender aprons, frame, and radiator core support. Trim black on the fender aprons, and core support.







I am going to leave the frame as is with the clear rust stopper, paint the firewall and call it a day.



What is with these fans blades? 7 off kilter blades? WTF?



Drilled a hole in the pedal linkage arm and installed a clip. Was held by bailing wire before.







To match the motor. I will be putting a sticker on the doorjam for the actual milage.

Just keep on keeping on till your on the road!
rossisnow is offline  
post #74 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-10-2012, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)









no, I did not wrinkle paint the bolts....





When your floor jack is to short, and you are alone, you get creative….or stupid.























No cutoff on the accel pump. Should still work though. Internal maybe?


Missing the vac port on the back too? Hoping it dosnt cause any problems.
rossisnow is offline  
post #75 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-10-2012, 10:58 PM
Redneck Engineer
 
79BroncoSpringTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,697
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco Ranger XLT C6 35's
iTrader: (0)
Block looks great. It's coming along nicely. Looks like you did good working by yourself. Keep at it.
79BroncoSpringTx is offline  
post #76 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-11-2012, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 79BroncoSpringTx View Post
Block looks great. It's coming along nicely. Looks like you did good working by yourself. Keep at it.
Thanks for reading. Enjoying your thread too.

No comments for a couple weeks, I was getting lonely......
rossisnow is offline  
post #77 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-11-2012, 06:36 PM
Registered User
 
Stonewater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naperville, Il
Posts: 423
Bronco Info: #1: 1979 XLT Free Wheeler. #2 1979 XLT.
iTrader: (0)
It's looking great! Great ingenuity getting the trans in there alone.

I'm really looking forward to getting mine to that point.
Stonewater is offline  
post #78 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-11-2012, 08:29 PM
Registered User
 
fordaholic495's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Grayling, Michigan
Posts: 345
Bronco Info: 466/c6/np205, 6" Deaver lift, 35" Boggers/TSL's, 9" Full Spool, D44 Trac lok, 4.56 gears
iTrader: (0)
I had my instrument panel out today because I was installing some gauges, and I thought about resetting my odometer since I just rebuilt the engine. I couldn't really figure out how, so I just put it back together. Is it easier than I thought to reset it?
fordaholic495 is offline  
post #79 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-12-2012, 12:26 PM
Redneck Engineer
 
79BroncoSpringTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,697
Bronco Info: 79 Bronco Ranger XLT C6 35's
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordaholic495 View Post
I had my instrument panel out today because I was installing some gauges, and I thought about resetting my odometer since I just rebuilt the engine. I couldn't really figure out how, so I just put it back together. Is it easier than I thought to reset it?
I'd be curious to know the answer to that. Would be nice to reset mine. That away I'll know easily how many miles I put on it. I don't ever plan to sell it. Got to much invested. And will have way to much invested when I get it where i want it.
79BroncoSpringTx is offline  
post #80 of 373 (permalink) Old 04-12-2012, 12:34 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
rossisnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Garberville Ca
Posts: 395
Bronco Info: 1978 Custom, 35" Toyo Open Country, 3"/4" Superlift, C6-mild shift kit, Fresh 400
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordaholic495 View Post
I had my instrument panel out today because I was installing some gauges, and I thought about resetting my odometer since I just rebuilt the engine. I couldn't really figure out how, so I just put it back together. Is it easier than I thought to reset it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 79BroncoSpringTx View Post
I'd be curious to know the answer to that. Would be nice to reset mine. That away I'll know easily how many miles I put on it. I don't ever plan to sell it. Got to much invested. And will have way to much invested when I get it where i want it.
I do not recomend anyone do this to their rig. not sure about legality.
I got lucky on this one i found at the junkyard. The odometer read 996000 when I found it......if you look closely at the picture you will notice a dremel with a felt tip on it. It is true that if you stick the dremel into the speedo cable input, it turns the wrong way, and you will be there for a year at 50 mph.

The little white dial luckily has a clutch in it. I used the felt tip to roll the white wheel, trying not to go to fast, because I dont know what it is made of. It took about 5-10 min to go 4000 miles, and I had to sharpie the portion of the black numbers that wore off. I am sure someone out there knows the "proper" way to do this. Anyway, it worked for me, and I tested the OD with the drill and it still works.
rossisnow is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 78 - 96 Build Forum....Builds only

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome