Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

88 Brocno XLT

4K views 22 replies 7 participants last post by  fusionross 
#1 ·
Ok first of all I am no mechanic and everything I'm doing is completely new to me. I have done suspension work before but never what I'm getting into with this.

I currently work 60+ hours and have a family which includes two young ones. I live in apartment for the time being so I'm limited to what I can do with this. (luckily the property manager loves me and doesn't complain)

About a month ago I bought this bronco from a tow yard for $450.00 bucks. The bronco fired up there, but was rough sounding. I decided to bite the bullet and bought it. After digging into it it's clear the bronco sat for over a year and was neglected for years. That's all about to change. It's a 302 with the AOD transmission. I'm guessing has around 140,000 due to the last title reading 139860.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

See less See more
#2 ·
Got it home and was able to change the battery, spark plugs, wires and oil. After some loving it fired right up. Was idling super rough and super high. Pulled the throttle body.

Replaced the TPS and IAC and cleaned it up. It will be a bit before I pull valves or the intake manifold, but I'm scared. Lots of carbon build up.

Also digging into it a lot of custom pipping ran which was horribly done.

Took me awhile to figure out this wasn't factory. Ended up going to the junk yard and pulled that a new air box (cracked and a ton of oil inside) and a few smaller things.

#3 ·
[ame]https://vimeo.com/185645638[/ame]

Well I was loosing a lot of pressure and realized my exhaust was cut prior to the cat. Got it welded back on and this is the sound that soon came. After a week of research though and looking around my engine I believe I found the reason.

That's a cracked exhaust manifold.

#4 ·