OEM radio pic - Ford Bronco Forum
 11Likes
  • 1 Post By 445 FE Bronco
  • 2 Post By xMUDBUCKETx
  • 2 Post By deathmobile2
  • 1 Post By xMUDBUCKETx
  • 3 Post By jwct
  • 1 Post By BigBlue 94
  • 1 Post By brothermo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 91
Bronco Info: 1979 Bronco Custom, 400
iTrader: (0)
OEM radio pic

Does anyone have a pic of the OEM radio in their 1978/1979 Bronco? I'm thinking about restoring mine to something more original, and I need to see an example to compare to the units for sale on EBay, Craigslist, etc.

As a minor departure from that, does anyone know if there's a way to get a radio with cassette from the period to fit in our dash? From what I can tell, there was a cassette option for the Econolines in '79, but not the trucks (or Broncos).

Thanks.
brothermo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 10:07 AM
FSM Lifetime
 
445 FE Bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: In a foggy zone somewhere
Posts: 6,395
Bronco Info: 1978 Round headlight, 351M,C6, 9", 44/1991, 445 FE, t19, 205, Dana 60/70, MAF, Moet's
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Check out this place, there are a few places out there making Ford script stereos out there that appear totally stock.http://www.classiccarstereos.com/197...uck-radio.html
huck2080 likes this.
445 FE Bronco is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 02:52 PM
Registered User
 
xMUDBUCKETx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 205
Bronco Info: 1979 Ranger XLT/ Free Wheeling
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I have also been looking at these, don't want cut up my new dash bezel but do want a new stereo
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._rd_i=10980601
huck2080 and 445 FE Bronco like this.


1979 Bronco Ranger XLT
xMUDBUCKETx is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 03:02 PM
Registered User
 
deathmobile2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 1,055
Bronco Info: 1978 XLT Ranger; 400, AT, 37" MTR's,4.88's & Lockers,5" Deavers, No Rust & No Knicknacks!
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I have the retro radio - works awesome and looks awesome. It's cool to be rock crawling and be on the phone for work using the Bluetooth.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
huck2080 and xMUDBUCKETx like this.

deathmobile2 is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-04-2017, 12:38 AM
Registered User
 
xMUDBUCKETx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 205
Bronco Info: 1979 Ranger XLT/ Free Wheeling
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathmobile2 View Post
I have the retro radio - works awesome and looks awesome. It's cool to be rock crawling and be on the phone for work using the Bluetooth.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
What speakers did you use with it? Any pictures?
huck2080 likes this.


1979 Bronco Ranger XLT
xMUDBUCKETx is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-04-2017, 10:17 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 91
Bronco Info: 1979 Bronco Custom, 400
iTrader: (0)
I'll look into those. Thanks for the link.

Still interested in seeing any pics of a factory radio in the dash, if anyone has one.
brothermo is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-05-2017, 02:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: CT
Posts: 5
Bronco Info: 1979 Freewheeling
iTrader: (0)
Here is a pic of mine. When I got the truck it had an aftermarket radio in it but I liked the look of the OEM radio. I bought an OEM one and had the internals replaced with a modern board, I used a company called Tayman electrical to do the work, the website is Tayman electrical. Super nice guy and he did great work, the radio sounds great. I put new door speakers in place of the old ones to avoid cutting holes, etc.

If you want to go this way and don't have A/C in your bronco, I have another OEM radio that has been upgraded, when I bought the first the chassis was a little too big to fit with the A/C duct work so I found a lower profile one. Expensive mistake...

Good luck!



1979 bronco 351m
jwct is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-10-2017, 10:11 AM
Registered User
 
BigBlue 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hoyt, Kansas
Posts: 3,124
Bronco Info: 85 Bronco, 306ci I6 w/4bbl, np435, 4" lift, 37" Irok NDs, 4.56 w/ Detroit Locker and tru trac
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I may be able to get a pic out of my 78 f150 this weekend. Don't know if it's stock or aftermarket, but I believe it's the OEM piece. The truck has never been touched in terms of modifications, other than 3/4 ton leafs in the back.

Here she is in her "lichen" camo lol


EDIT: checked, mine does not have the factory radio.
huck2080 likes this.

94 Bronco XLT. Beefy 351, 6" , 37's, 4.88: burnt
85 Bronco custom, 4" 37's, locked 4.56, 300 i6 4 bbl, np435/208
96 f350 XL, rclb, 351, c6, BW4407 xfer
78 f150 Ranger, 351m, t18, np205, rusty
90 f150, 95 f250, 96 f350 psd: stolen, sold, and burnt, respectively.
BigBlue 94 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 91
Bronco Info: 1979 Bronco Custom, 400
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwct View Post
Here is a pic of mine. When I got the truck it had an aftermarket radio in it but I liked the look of the OEM radio. I bought an OEM one and had the internals replaced with a modern board, I used a company called Tayman electrical to do the work, the website is Tayman electrical. Super nice guy and he did great work, the radio sounds great. I put new door speakers in place of the old ones to avoid cutting holes, etc.

If you want to go this way and don't have A/C in your bronco, I have another OEM radio that has been upgraded, when I bought the first the chassis was a little too big to fit with the A/C duct work so I found a lower profile one. Expensive mistake...

Good luck!


Thanks for the pic, that's helpful. I have AC in my truck as well, so I guess your extra radio won't work for my project. Thank you, though.
brothermo is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2017, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 91
Bronco Info: 1979 Bronco Custom, 400
iTrader: (0)
BigBlue,

Thanks for checking. I appreciate your trouble.
BigBlue 94 likes this.
brothermo is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1978-'79 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome