Bad EGR valve symptoms question - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
MikE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,959
Bad EGR valve symptoms question

I pulled codes and got a 332, which is EGR valve opening not detected. My question is, would that make the truck surge very badly at times, and so far only after its been driven for nearly 2 hours? When the truck is turned off and cools down it seems to run OK again.
When it starts doing it all the power is cut off for maybe 1/3 of a second, then the power comes back for maybe a full second then it cuts the power off again and does that continuesly untill it decides to quit doing it.
Also, when its doing it the tachometer is dropping off quickly to zero but it usually never gets down that far untill the power comes back on and brings the tach back up to what the actual RPM is. I'd say if the engine is at 2000 RPM's the tach will flicker between 1400 and 2000 when the engine is surging. Because the tach is moving like that it makes me think its an ignition problem and not something with the EGR? Or can the EGR have any control over the ignition?

Thanks for any help.

94 F150, 302, M5OD
MikE2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 07:33 PM
Registered User
 
sar450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nor cal
Posts: 458
Bronco Info: 89xlt.SAS,oba,4.10 gears,Detriot in the rear,L/S in front on 35 BFG mudders.
Don't you know a good dealership to take it too?When my TFI module was failing it acted like that but only when it was cold.

89 Bronco SAS and stuff.
sar450 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 08:23 PM
JB
Dead Horse
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,942
Bronco Info: 95 XL
idk if this will be any help to you but i was just pulling codes on my ranger and got the same code.

i found this link earlier when searching, it could be some help to you.

http://www.niehoff.com/techtips/n_sen.html
JB is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
MikE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,959
Yeah that sounds like what its doing. I just went out and bought a new EGR valve anyways so I'll install it tomarrow and see what happens.
MikE2 is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 08:34 PM
JB
Dead Horse
 
JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 5,942
Bronco Info: 95 XL
it could also be the EGR valve position sensor
JB is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
MikE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,959
That may be. I wonder if that sensor can have control over the ignition through the computer, since I really think its the ignition cutting off since the tach is dropping down.
MikE2 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 08:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 605
Bronco Info: 1988 f150. 4" lift. 33" m/t's. custom front/rear bumpers. Custom cowl induction
I just pulled the EGR code on my 88 f150 302 and my mechanic said the valve/tube/port going into the intake is more then likely clogged. He said all you have to do is chip it out, might want to take the throttle body out to get those chips out of the engine. I have yet to do it, but when I do, I am definately throwing in a throttle body spacer!!!
josh88ford is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-29-2007, 09:12 PM
a renegade of funk
 
95thebroncoman351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: new hampshire,
Posts: 3,244
Bronco Info: 1995,351,33" meat 4"in roughcountry lift,flowmaster,pioneer sound, yukon axles, new england rust.
from what i remember a clogged egr will cause a stumble.
the egr will play havoc with A/F ratio if stuck open or closed as well.
95thebroncoman351 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-30-2007, 01:35 AM
green ones make me horny
 
imlikeojnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Eglin AFB, Fl
Posts: 11,175
Bronco Info: 1994 w/ built 302, E4OD, 33in tires, custom exhaust, upgraded ign. running like a raped ape
if it is stuck open it is a vaccum leak. mine did it when i first got it just not as bad as your mike



Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue View Post
No, I don't have this problem. Money grows on trees here in Michigan, and my Bronco gets 45 mpg. It emits sunshine and a light berry scent, and it never needs service or parts.
imlikeojnow is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-30-2007, 10:43 AM
Registered User
 
94broncoxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The non-gay Twin City.
Posts: 579
Bronco Info: 94 xl,302MAF,e4od,3.55 open,BW1356 manual,warn hubs,cooper discoverer STT 31s,6.0 tuneup,kyb monomax
You would have thought the dealership would have gotten this code and fixed it, or at least told you about it.
94broncoxl is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-30-2007, 11:47 AM
Registered User
 
wpnschief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Purcell, OK
Posts: 28
Bronco Info: 91 Bronco-302, E4OD, headers, 3" cat back, 3G Alt, 6 Liter tuneup, trans cooler
"I pulled codes and got a 332, which is EGR valve opening not detected. My question is, would that make the truck surge very badly at times, and so far only after its been driven for nearly 2 hours? When the truck is turned off and cools down it seems to run OK again."

MikE2, I had the same issue a few years back it turned ot to be a couple of holes in the AIR crossover tube at the back of my engine, couple of wraps of exhaust tape verified the problem and got it running good again. I swapped the part out when I was in the area after I got headers.
Look straight up between firewall and back of engine, when engines COLD. You may need to feel around a bit, hope this helps.
wpnschief is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-30-2007, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
MikE2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94broncoxl View Post
You would have thought the dealership would have gotten this code and fixed it, or at least told you about it.
I would have been suprised if they could figure out something as easy as that
MikE2 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome