engine wont turn over after reinstalling transmission - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
Question engine wont turn over after reinstalling transmission

Hey guys I'm kind of stumped right now. We just put my transmission back in a couple of weeks ago and I went to put the torque converter bolts back on and the engine wouldn't turn over, and we had it running before we took it out, so any suggestions are appreciated. Anyway my truck is a 93 f150 with the 302 and E4OD transmission. Thanks alot guys
corruption41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 10:35 AM
Mud God - R.I.P.
 
Rockford514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amelia Island Florida
Posts: 5,919
Bronco Info: 66,79,79,87
Are you sure the toque converter was in all the way?

Buddy
Better To Be An Open Sinner Than A False Saint

Last edited by Rockford514; 01-06-2010 at 04:22 PM. Reason: spelling
Rockford514 is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 10:39 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
Yes Rock we put the converter in turned it until it seated and turned it a lil more and put a straight edge to it and it was seated, could it be that my transmission is binding up, my grandpa says its just condensation in the cylinders.
corruption41 is offline  
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 10:51 AM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,467
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 88k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Torque converter not fully seated.

You might think it is, but its not. If the studs of the converter went into the flexplate without pulling it into the flexplate once tranny was bolted up, then the converter is the problem. The studs should just barely be into the holes of the flexplate, then you reach in through the starter hole and pull the converter the rest of the way through.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 11:18 AM
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,867
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd NP-435 manual. 32" tires.
That's what I'm thinking. It still sounds like the TC isn't fully seated. I accidentally did this on my car when I put the engine and tranny back together, and the engine would barely turn a 1/4" when I tried to start it. Took it apart, seated it correctly, and it fired right up.


March 2016 FOTM
1981 Bronco. 300 I6. 450cfm QuickFuel 4bbl. BFG A/T KO2 32x11.5" tires. NP-435 trans. EFI exhaust manifolds. 2.5" Exhaust. DUI performance ignition. Redhead steering box.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 11:21 AM
Lick my balls
 
waltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: far from reality
Posts: 13,135
Bronco Info: 1989 bronco, 3" suspension lift, rebuilt 302 with cam, 33' big-os
When you say wont turn over, you mean if you try to turn the motor over by hand even it just wont...I would say torque converter is not fully seated, otherwise it is more likely an electrical problem

there is no such thing as stupid questions, just stupid people.
Only that in you which is me can hear what I'm saying
No matter where you go or what you do, you live your entire life within the confines of your head
I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it

waltman is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 11:30 AM
Fullsize Member
 
Shane C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 5,042
Bronco Info: 78 Bronco, FI 460/1995 RIP
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltman View Post
When you say wont turn over, you mean if you try to turn the motor over by hand even it just wont...I would say torque converter is not fully seated, otherwise it is more likely an electrical problem
X2. Could be something as simple as the starter not being wired in correctly. Or, the TC is not seated depending on what "wont turn over" means...

My other car has doors.
Shane C. is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 11:35 AM
Registered User
 
shad351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: tacoma
Posts: 225
Bronco Info: 90 fsb 5.8
Dont full tighten tranny bolts w/o tc engagaed or you crack front pump housing= BADDDDDDD NEWS>
shad351 is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 11:44 AM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,467
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 88k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Simple test to confirm torque converter.

You said you can't turn the motor over to bolt the converter up. Well if you have one nut on the converter, take it off. Then push on the stud to see if the converter will slide back to the point where the stud is barely into the hole. If it does, then the converter isn't at fault. If it doesn't move back, then its bound up from the converter not setting into the front pump properly.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
Okay one more problem i accidentally striped the torque converter nut, And the transmission is tightened all the way, does this mean i ruined the pump? and it seems like im taking 2 steps foward and 3 back, plus this is my first vehicle to, but nonethe less its a great learning experince for a younger guy like myself,lol
corruption41 is offline  
post #11 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:10 PM
Lick my balls
 
waltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: far from reality
Posts: 13,135
Bronco Info: 1989 bronco, 3" suspension lift, rebuilt 302 with cam, 33' big-os
Quote:
Originally Posted by corruption41 View Post
Okay one more problem i accidentally striped the torque converter nut, And the transmission is tightened all the way, does this mean i ruined the pump? and it seems like im taking 2 steps foward and 3 back, plus this is my first vehicle to, but nonethe less its a great learning experince for a younger guy like myself,lol
That clears nothing up for me as for my question, but you do have to remove the tranny now to retap the threads you stripped.

there is no such thing as stupid questions, just stupid people.
Only that in you which is me can hear what I'm saying
No matter where you go or what you do, you live your entire life within the confines of your head
I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it

waltman is offline  
post #12 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
Oh sorry Waltman, and yes it wont turn over by hand,and no I mean I rounded the head off of the nut a little bit, sorry for the confusion of words, im sick so i cant think all that well right now.
corruption41 is offline  
post #13 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:25 PM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,467
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 88k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by corruption41 View Post
Okay one more problem i accidentally striped the torque converter nut, And the transmission is tightened all the way, does this mean i ruined the pump?
Stripped the nut as in rounded the edges? Or messed the threads?

Its hard to so if you ruined the pump, it is possible. Most guys that do this get lucky. Pray your one of those guys.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #14 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
Yeah Sackman as in rounded the edges off a little bit and I'm afraid to do anymore damage to it. Man I really hope I didn't mess anything up.
corruption41 is offline  
post #15 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:46 PM
Mud God - R.I.P.
 
Rockford514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amelia Island Florida
Posts: 5,919
Bronco Info: 66,79,79,87
Pray for luck ,lot of times the pump gets broke

Buddy
Better To Be An Open Sinner Than A False Saint
Rockford514 is offline  
post #16 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
dang it.... If the pump is broken, do you have to send it to a transmission shop, and if so I'm out of luck there,because I'm only 16 and don't have that much money. I guess I better start saving my pennies
corruption41 is offline  
post #17 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
corruption41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Under that Texas sky
Posts: 33
Bronco Info: 1993 ford f-150 xlt 302 v8 E4OD
Ok guys i finally got it to turn over yesterday. Me and my cousin double teamed it with me at the flywheel and him at the crank bolt, so after we loosend it up it was turning over with just him on the bolt, now my question is i went to turn it over by hand again a little while after we did that and i cant turn it over again, If my torque converter wasnt seated would it turn over? and if not, i guess i let it sit for to long with out starting it.
corruption41 is offline  
post #18 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 02:49 PM
Lick my balls
 
waltman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: far from reality
Posts: 13,135
Bronco Info: 1989 bronco, 3" suspension lift, rebuilt 302 with cam, 33' big-os
Take the thing apart already! If it takes two guys to turn over the motor, something just isn't right and it's very very likely the converter is not seated.

there is no such thing as stupid questions, just stupid people.
Only that in you which is me can hear what I'm saying
No matter where you go or what you do, you live your entire life within the confines of your head
I don't suffer from insanity; I enjoy every minute of it

waltman is offline  
post #19 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-10-2010, 02:57 PM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The "D"
Posts: 8,467
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 88k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltman View Post
Take the thing apart already! If it takes two guys to turn over the motor, something just isn't right and it's very very likely the converter is not seated.
sackman9975 is offline  
post #20 of 41 (permalink) Old 01-11-2010, 11:01 AM
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,867
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd NP-435 manual. 32" tires.
No. When I did mine improperly, the TC wasn't seated all the way, and that motor was JAMMED. I couldn't get it to turn over to save my life. I, too, thought it was something else. Replaced the starter (at least got a new starter out of it), starter solenoid, checked wiring, etc. But a improperly seated TC will jam the engine so hard it won't budge.

Finally pulled them apart, seated it correctly, and put it back together, and it fired right up the first try. Just be glad you don't have to do it in a compact front wheel drive car.


March 2016 FOTM
1981 Bronco. 300 I6. 450cfm QuickFuel 4bbl. BFG A/T KO2 32x11.5" tires. NP-435 trans. EFI exhaust manifolds. 2.5" Exhaust. DUI performance ignition. Redhead steering box.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome