OBD 1 Tuning? - Ford Bronco Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Mad Dog Tannen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New jersey (unfortunately)
Posts: 158
Bronco Info: 89, 351, C6.
OBD 1 Tuning?

I have an 89 Bronco XLT with a 351 and I want to tune the ECU.

What are the ways I can do this? A aftermartket ECU? Just a programmable chip?

I know that I cannot flash it.

What do you use? and what brand?

I did search for the answer, but with no results.
Mad Dog Tannen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 09:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: LONG ISLAND NY
Posts: 153
Bronco Info: 94 4in deaver springs, auburn ected, chiped, tb spacer,sititn on 35's
not sure if its the same but i chipped mine with a jet chip from summit. mine is obd1 but a 94 so i'm not sure if its the same. i got mine from summit and i love it. easy to install and noticeable power gains
broncoaction94 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 11:25 PM
Satyr of the Midwest
 
SigEpBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ida & Grand Rapids, Michigan, a.k.a The Unemployment Capital of America
Posts: 17,754
Bronco Info: 1993 EB, 5.8L, BIO0 MAF, GT40Ps, Mustang cam, GT40 Intake, Custom Headers, Moates QuarterHorse
That's not really tuning, but a similar hardware interface is usually used on the EEC-IV.

Check out moates.net, and look at the J3, F3, and QuarterHorse. Those are currently the state-of-the-art for DIY aftermarket tuning solutions, IMO. However, you MUST have a PCM that is supported by the software required to run these hardwares!!! So check with the websites for the latest supported PCMs and strategies FIRST. If yours isn't, you'll either have to write one yourself, or convince someone else to write one for you; I won't, because honestly I don't have the time for it. In OP's case, it's probably easiest to change over to a well-supported PCM like an A9L for MAF, or a C3Px/ICYx Lightning PCM.

Before doing any of that crap, why do you need tuning capability?

SigEpBlue
Wheelin' across Michigan from Ida to Grand Rapids, baby!
Quote:
Nemo nisi per amicitiam cognoscitur -- No one learns except by friendship.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adlai Stevenson
Isn't it conceivable to you that an intelligent person could harbor two opposing ideas in his mind?
SigEpBlue is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-04-2010, 12:22 AM
FSM Lifetime
 
JohnMcD348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 4,373
Bronco Info: 92 Factory Original 300 I6 M5OD Manual Custom. 3 seats, AC and a radio and all vinyl interior.
I've wondered if there was really any benefit from programmer like tuning units in our older vehicles. I figure that the older OBD1 and even the older OBD2 units that were not so heavily controlled by computers were easier to tune by hand and basic mechanics tools. Again, I'm kinda new to these units that have even the basic controls that are the OBD systems. I mean, with our trucks, we can set the timing, upgrade components and make adjustments as we need too. Now in my newer OBD2(CanBus) system in the Ram, I have a programmer that makes adjustments to all those things since I don't have a distributor or anything now.

JTMcD.
We sleep Peaceful in our beds because Rough Men stand ready in the night to visit violence upon those who would do us harm............George Orwell
The object of life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting, 'Holy Shit, What a Ride!!! -- Mavis Leyrer

MY A/C Vacuum leak repair http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/23-technical-write-ups/175808-how-i-fixed-my-c-vac-leak.html
JohnMcD348 is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome