Autometer Speedo Signal out - FSB Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-01-2012, 05:05 PM Thread Starter
---------------------
 
CrazyBRONCOguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Franklin, Indiana
Posts: 4,032
Bronco Info: See Signature
Autometer Speedo Signal out

Has anyone used the speed signal from an autometer speedo to give the ecm what otherwise would be the "VSS" signal from the rear diff?

I have removed the factory cluster and did not know if this would work for sure or not, thought someone else may have tried it. I think its a matter of the signal outputs being the same.


'92 Eddie Bauer- C6 Swap, 9" Swap, Roller 357W, AFR 165's, Edelbrock Intake, BBK TB, MAF, SCT Tuned, 4" Lift, 4" Exh, 4.10's, 33's, 18" Weld Wheels
'78 Custom- 4" Deaver Lift, Mild 460, 8 Point Cage, 4.10's, Spool, 35's, WH: Steering&Trac Bar, E-Fans, JBG Soft Top, RedHead Box, Sag Pump
'02 Harley Edition F-150 '96 F250 '05 Excursion '79 F250 '86 Mustang '95 T-Bird '08 DS450X '01 Banshee '12 DS450XMX
CrazyBRONCOguy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 05:38 PM
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,646
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Were you able to keep your psom or are you just starting from zero miles? My truck has an older tcase in it so i have two posible vss outputs. Maybe thats a route you could go. I also have an older autometer gear drive speed pickup to electronic sender in storage from my old b2 AM setup, but have no idea if the new AM speedos use that style anymore. Im interested since id like to go full am guages in the future.

It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-02-2012, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
---------------------
 
CrazyBRONCOguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Franklin, Indiana
Posts: 4,032
Bronco Info: See Signature
starting from zero, not using the PSOM. I have the ecm signal going to the rear diff right now, just like it is suppose to be, at least with the RJM harness.
I do have a gear drive to signal generator to go into the transfer case.
This is what it says about the out on the back of the speedo in the Autometer directions:
The speedometer signal output terminal (VSS)
produces a +5 volt DC Square wave signal.
This signal may be able to be used as a VSS
signal with some OEM and aftermarket ECM’s
and cruise control units.

Its not very descriptive on if it will do what I want or not. I also don't know if I can go straight from the signal generator to the computer and it will be ok, I kind of doubt it as that tone ring in the 8.8 creates a specific signal.
They also have a gps based speedo calibrator avaible for this speedo.

Im asking as I was planing on swapping rear axles eventually and this would be an easy way to get the speed signal to the computer. what i have will work for now, basically two different sending units, one for the speedo and one for the computer
I also still have a superlift truespeed recalibrator still that i maybe able to do something with.


'92 Eddie Bauer- C6 Swap, 9" Swap, Roller 357W, AFR 165's, Edelbrock Intake, BBK TB, MAF, SCT Tuned, 4" Lift, 4" Exh, 4.10's, 33's, 18" Weld Wheels
'78 Custom- 4" Deaver Lift, Mild 460, 8 Point Cage, 4.10's, Spool, 35's, WH: Steering&Trac Bar, E-Fans, JBG Soft Top, RedHead Box, Sag Pump
'02 Harley Edition F-150 '96 F250 '05 Excursion '79 F250 '86 Mustang '95 T-Bird '08 DS450X '01 Banshee '12 DS450XMX

Last edited by CrazyBRONCOguy; 12-02-2012 at 07:17 PM.
CrazyBRONCOguy is online now  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 12-03-2012, 12:24 AM
Forward Some Money
 
j. r. Nice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ohio, heart of
Posts: 4,471
Bronco Info: '89 Bronco, 5.8, MAF, Summit shorties, Bassani SS, AOD, Tru-trac posi, Stocker
I haven't had any experience with Autometer's version of the GPS based sender, but Classic Instruments also has "Sky Drive" which looks to be the same. I didnt read all the info on the Autometer version, as I can't vouch for it anyway. I do have a Sky Drive in another project vehicle and it works well - even with an Autometer speedo.

http://www.classicinstruments.com/in...entID=skydrive

Click HERE to visit my frame-off NOS restoration thread.

Photobucket Album ....and a crap load of pictures....
j. r. Nice is offline  
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the FSB Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome