3G Interchange Facts. If you're thinking 3G read here. - Ford Bronco Forum
 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 06:39 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
3G Interchange Facts. If you're thinking 3G read here.

PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE POST BEFORE ASKING QUESTIONS!!!

Had to start this thread since there is much misinformation and confusion about the 3G alternator upgrade. This is not an install thread, just a guide on where to get the alt you need, a wiring diagram, and pulley sizing. All photos and some of the text is courtesy of Ryan McCormick.

Why go 3G?
Because your factory alternator is barely adequate for your truck, stock.
Added off-road lights or a big stereo?
You need a bigger alternator!
Need me to show you?

And that's alternator RPM, not engine rpm. The alt spins much faster than the engine.
Alt RPM = Engine RPM x Crank Pulley Diameter Alt Pulley Diameter.
87-92 is the blue line.
93-96 is the green line.
78-86 is less than the blue line.

There are 3 different mounting styles for the 3G alternator that can be used as an upgrade on other vehicles:

If you have a 66-86, anything with v-belts, or a 87-98 300 (4.9L) or 460 (7.5L): you'll need a Pivot Mount w/ 8.25” ear spacing alternator. Some 90, any 91-92, and some 93-99 non DOHC Ford Taurus will be able to donate it's alternator to your truck. On your v-belt truck, you may also be able to use one that fits the 87-92 serpentine setup (Pivot Mount w/ 7.00” ear spacing) but some may have fitment issues with smog pump location. The Pivot Mount w/ 8.25” ear spacing can be swapped into:
1966-1986 V-belt Mustangs
1966-1987 V-Belt Broncos/E-Series/F-series
1992-1997 4.9L & 7.5L Bronco/F-Series/E-Series
Other V-belt vehicles that can adjust to an 8.25” wide Pivot mount alternator

A wide-eared Taurus alt will ONLY fit a 302 or 351W if it is a V-belt setup since it's wider than a serpentine one.

If you have an 87-92 302 (5.0L) or 351W (5.8L): you have a 2G alternator. This is an early serpentine style. This can only be replaced with a Pivot Mount w/ 7.00” ear spacing alternator. Minor bracket clearancing may be required. This can be found in the following cars:
93-99 narrow-eared non-DOHC Taurus
94-95 V8 Mustang
94-00 V6 Mustang
94-97 V6 T-Bird/Cougar
95-98 Windstar
91-94 V6 Lincoln Continental.

The early serpentine car and truck alts on Ryan's site are interchangable but the plug and charge stud are clocked differently to fit the wiring to the bracket better. The Pivot Mount w/ 7.00” ear spacing can be swapped into:
1987-1992 Broncos/E-Series/F-series
1966-1995 Mustangs
Other vehicles that use a 7.00” wide Pivot mount alternator

If you have a 93-96 302 (5.0L) or 351W (5.8L): you have a Side Mount 3G already but a 95 amp one. You DO NOT need to get a wiring harness, as since you already have a 3G, it's plug and play!!! I strongly urge you to get a larger charge cable and megafuse though.
For a 130 amp, you can get that for a:
93-96 V8 Econoline with Air Conditioning or the High Output Alternator options
97-03 V6 Econoline E-Series or F-150
95-01 4.0 V6 Explorer or Ranger

at your local parts house for less than eBay.]
You'll need the one for late serp. vehicles.
The Side Mount can be swapped into:
1993-1997 5.0L, 5.8L & 7.3L Bronco/F-Series/E-Series
Other vehicles that use a Side Mount alternator
Or you could try to find one like that at a junkyard but good luck.

Plug Clocking: Each style may have the rear plugs clocked 3 different ways to fit their various vehicles better. They will still fit no matter the clocking but you can remove the case bolts, and reclock the rear to get your optimum position.

Charge Cables: When you swap from a 1G or a low output 3G to a 130 or more amp 3G, although you do not NEED a larger charge cable such as a 2 Gauge, it is a great idea. Smaller wires/cables cannot always handle such a load and they tend to heat up, some to the point of melting the wire and could start a fire. ALWAYS make sure you use a megafuse rated at least 15-25 amps above your alternator amperage.

Pulleys: For pulleys, you can either re-use your old one, which sometimes you may need a very small washer to use as a spacer if it rubs in the 3G case at all, or you can get a different sized one. It all depends on your needs. A smaller pulley will spin the alternator faster at idle to create maximum output. A larger pulley will allow the engine to rev higher without driving the alternator to fast. Large 3G alternators are safe to ~15,000RPM max. Again, Alt RPM = Engine RPM x Crank Pulley Diameter Alt Pulley Diameter.

Factory Carb Users:
If you have a Factory Ford carburetor (Holley model 4180) with a wire that connects directly to your 1G alt to your electric choke, get a 12 volt electric choke for a Holley 4160, P/N 45-223, and swap it out. Then wire the new choke to 12 volts.

This post will continually be edited as information pops up. Please post any errors you find so this can be THE thread for 3G interchange information.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.

Last edited by miesk5; 06-05-2016 at 05:03 PM. Reason: Deleted images that are no longer available
Clarko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco Rob
Am i reading that right, the 93 Bronco's are a straight swap?
With a larger charge cable and megafuse, they are.
Fast Floyd likes this.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #3 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 08:26 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DcSkater602
hey a ? for ryan. How do i upgrade the 130 amp 3g to a 200 amp??

thanx in advance

DC
You'll have to take the alternator apart, heat up the solder at 6 points, remove the rectifier from the windings, install the new one and solder that in.
Fast Floyd likes this.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
 
post #4 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 08:38 PM
Fast member
 
fastpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Posts: 214
Bronco Info: 96 XL, M5OD, 6 in. lift, JBA headers, MSD Offroad, full duals, 3.55's
iTrader: (0)
I acquired a 4G alternator for a reasonable sum, with what appears to be the correct mounts for my '96. Other than beefing up the charging cable and so forth, any issues? It's rumored to be 170 amp unit, anyone know?
Fast Floyd likes this.

Pat
fastpat is offline  
post #5 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optika1 illushun
i can add info about the EFI 300s if u would like sometime soon.
Either post it up here or PM it to me and I'll add it to the main post.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #6 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 02:29 AM
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,454
Bronco Info: rusty
iTrader: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastpat
I acquired a 4G alternator for a reasonable sum, with what appears to be the correct mounts for my '96. Other than beefing up the charging cable and so forth, any issues? It's rumored to be 170 amp unit, anyone know?
The 4G isn't BAD, but it was a failure compaired to the 3G.
The 3G is still Fords #1 alternator. Even though they have made it to a 7G, Ford puts the 3G in vehilces to this very day. When they want the best they ever made.
I've never seen any aftermarket parts for the 4G, so I doubt it can produce 170apms.
Fast Floyd likes this.
Fireguy50 is offline  
post #7 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 11:55 AM
Diesel Gynachologist
 
Dustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Peoria Arizona
Posts: 12,499
Bronco Info: 2001 F350
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco Rob
Am i reading that right, the 93 Bronco's are a straight swap?

yes even without bigger cables....Ive done it ad so has dogonmutt. we have yet to have a single problem with it. granted the bigger cables are better and I do play to rewire it so I can get the most out of the upgrade but as it sits now it works fine and I noticed a huge differnce over the stock 95amp
Fast Floyd likes this.

Ford Senior Master Technician

http://www.superford.org/registry/ve...x.php?vID=1309
Quote:
"The existence of flamethrowers is proof that someone, somewhere, said to himself, "I want to set those people over there on fire, but I don't feel like walking over there to do it."
Dustin is offline  
post #8 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 06:30 PM
Zombie Hunter
 
Bronco Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Land of Misfit Toys
Posts: 13,699
Bronco Info: 1993 Eddie Bauer, 351, 5.8 liter V8, somebody come help me put all this junk i just bought on!!
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin
yes even without bigger cables....Ive done it ad so has dogonmutt. we have yet to have a single problem with it. granted the bigger cables are better and I do play to rewire it so I can get the most out of the upgrade but as it sits now it works fine and I noticed a huge differnce over the stock 95amp
Not to sound dumb Dustin, but did this get rid of all the irritating "dimming"? It's not noticeable to anyone else, but mostly in the winter, when i have the cab blower on high, with the lights on, and the radio, and then i do something like turn a blinker on, the dash lights and the radio display dim with the blinker. Not enough to make me think i have any other issues than just too much power in use.

Bronco Rob is offline  
post #9 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 06:39 PM
Currently FSB divorced
 
Slickerthanyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kennywood's Backyard-Duquesne,PA
Posts: 958
Bronco Info: Had a 1990 XLT 5.8L Parting out to buy a '79 by spring 08
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco Rob
Not to sound dumb Dustin, but did this get rid of all the irritating "dimming"? It's not noticeable to anyone else, but mostly in the winter, when i have the cab blower on high, with the lights on, and the radio, and then i do something like turn a blinker on, the dash lights and the radio display dim with the blinker. Not enough to make me think i have any other issues than just too much power in use.
I'll jump in here- Yes it did. I had a stock alt and got Ryan's 200amp and there's no dimming issues at all with all accesories on!-Bob



Broncoless at this time Yip she left me!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger1 View Post
I beat on it, beat on it and beat on it some more and I have the fork tool in there almost until it can't go in anymore.
Is there a trick to this ?
Slickerthanyou is offline  
post #10 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 06:47 PM
Diesel Gynachologist
 
Dustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Peoria Arizona
Posts: 12,499
Bronco Info: 2001 F350
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco Rob
Not to sound dumb Dustin, but did this get rid of all the irritating "dimming"? It's not noticeable to anyone else, but mostly in the winter, when i have the cab blower on high, with the lights on, and the radio, and then i do something like turn a blinker on, the dash lights and the radio display dim with the blinker. Not enough to make me think i have any other issues than just too much power in use.

I had the same problem, It would only do it at night with the headlights on and blower motor. I would come up toa stop and the dash lights would dim alot. the 130amp took care of most of that, I will still get some dimming but hardly any.

the best part is having the power to run the kc lights at an idle without it putting a huge load on teh battery

Ford Senior Master Technician

http://www.superford.org/registry/ve...x.php?vID=1309
Quote:
"The existence of flamethrowers is proof that someone, somewhere, said to himself, "I want to set those people over there on fire, but I don't feel like walking over there to do it."
Dustin is offline  
post #11 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 07:43 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaNeR88
for a 88 bronc with a 351W i need a late serp alt off ryan's site? and which pulley?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarko
If you have an 87-92:[/B] you have a 2G alternator. This is an early serpentine style. This can only be replaced with an the following car's alts: narrow-eared non-DOHC Taurus from 96-99, any 94-95 V8 Mustang, 94-00 V6 Mustang , 94-97 V6 T-Bird/Cougar, 95-98 Windstar, & 91-94 V6 Lincoln Continental. The early serpentine car and truck alts on Ryan's site are interchangable but the plug and charge stud are clocked differently to fit the wiring better.
It looks like this:
Since it's a truck, and wont see any more than about 5000 RPMs, I'd get the smallest pulley for the best charge.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #12 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-10-2005, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Late Model Man
Will the alts from the 93-96 V8 Econoline, 97-03 V6 Econoline E-Series or F-150, or 95-01 4.0 V6 Explorer or Ranger hook up directly to the alt connector on my bronc?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarko
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronco Rob
Am i reading that right, the 93 Bronco's are a straight swap?
With a larger charge cable and megafuse, they are.
AKA yes!
Fast Floyd likes this.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #13 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 10:43 AM
crank trigger
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,160
Bronco Info: 94 XL M5OD, 5.0, Ghetto K&N, 130A G3
iTrader: (0)
I bet 130a would still be fine for all of that stuff.
ScorpionBoy is offline  
post #14 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 01:49 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by unixdude
Is there an easy way to identify the 160A or 200A 3G? Are the 160A and 200A only available by modifying a 130A 3G?
Yep. You could go get a junkyard 3g, disassemble it, clean it, put one of Ryan's 200 amp rectifier kits in it, new bearings, new brushes/regulator, and bam, new 200 amp alt.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #15 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 02:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Syracuse,NY
Posts: 130
Bronco Info: '93 xlt 351, 3" body lift, 33 x 12.5, working on headers and dual exhaust
iTrader: (0)
(Is the larger charge cable and mega fuse available in auto parts stores, or is it something I would have to make up?
Can I get the larger charge cable and mega fuse at an auto supply store, or do I have to make it up myself?

Can I purhase the charging cable and mega fuse as a unit from an auto supply store, or do I have to make it up myself?

'93 XLT, 3" Body lift, K&N, 33 x 12.5 bfg at, 4.10 gears, LS in Front

Last edited by miesk5; 05-06-2017 at 10:47 AM. Reason: Merged his 3 consecutive posts
new convert is offline  
post #16 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 03:31 PM
crank trigger
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,160
Bronco Info: 94 XL M5OD, 5.0, Ghetto K&N, 130A G3
iTrader: (0)
go to napa and buy bulk cable and copper connectors. get your lengths measured and cut them. strip the ends. then use a torch and fill the connector with solder and stuff your cable ends inside and boom, custom cables. you can get the mega fuse there. i used a 130a circuit breaker. been fine thus far.
ScorpionBoy is offline  
post #17 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 03:34 PM
Stuck like a MoFo
 
85f150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Keeler, Michigan
Posts: 3,454
Bronco Info: Srry no Bronk only a F150
iTrader: (2)
you can also get the charging cable, fuse and even a custom harness from Ryan (fordfuelinjection.com)

Truck Porn mooseracing.org

1985 F150 300 cubic inches of raw tq
79 XS 1100 SF
79 Firebird & T/A
64/65 Studebakers
85f150 is offline  
post #18 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-13-2005, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fartman
So if i read right then all 91-95 taurus alt.s will swap into my 81 , right ? Also would I have to upgrade the wire and add the megafuse? Thanks for the thread.
Any non-side-mount alternator will work. You will need to upgrade the cable and add the megafuse.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #19 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-15-2005, 10:39 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stang96gts
Ok, so if I have an 84 bronco with an 86 stang motor (serp belt), what parts do I need to complete the swap?
Same as a serp Bronco. Pivot mount with 7.00 ear spacing.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
post #20 of 348 (permalink) Old 12-20-2005, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
Bronkin' 'Round!
 
Clarko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 2,746
Bronco Info: 94 XLT 351 E4OD 4" Superlift
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightnin
Nother stupid question. The 7" and the 8.25" 3g have the same case just the mounts are closer to the case on the 7"? I am picking up one from a 94 V6 Mustang and it has the 2 big holes. Just wanted to make sure it is 130-5A alternator.
Right the closer holes are the 7" one which works for serpentine or v-belts.

Brian

Click either pic for SuperFord.
Clarko is offline  
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome