Keep blowing my turn signal fuse - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 01:56 PM   #1
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
Keep blowing my turn signal fuse

Hi all,
I'm suddenly running into a frustrating issue. I'm not sure what's causing it, but the fuse for my turn signals (not the flasher) keeps blowing.

I'm not sure what's causing it, and they'll work for a while, but then suddenly....no turn signals. I'll pull the fuse to look and it's blown.

Any ideas? I've had this truck for nearly 7 years and have never had any electrical issues, so I'm not too well versed in tracking them down.

So far, though, I can't find any one thing that causes it. Tried turning on and off various different systems, like the door lights, windshield wipers, starting it, turning it off, etc. Ie. systems that randomly change. Nothing seems to do anything.

Then, I'll just suddenly notice while driving....they've stopped working again and the fuse is blown.



Thoughts?
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2011, 01:59 PM   #2
socal82bronco
Registered User
 
socal82bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 2,092
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 82 351w
i had the same problem with my 82, mine was trailer wiring was all jacked. had all kinds of expose wires cleaned them up and works fine
socal82bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:02 PM   #3
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
Thanks, I'll be sure to check those. Maybe a wire wore through.
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:05 PM   #4
86fn150
Registered User
 
86fn150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Battleford,sask
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
on my 86 the turn fuse kept blowing but it was the hazard switch that caused the problem.small plastic cover on side of switch kept shorting out against wheel
86fn150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:14 PM   #5
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
I checked my trailer wiring (it's only about a year old) and it was tip top. Not sure what to check on my hazard switch, but on that point, the hazard lights still work. Just not the individual L/R.

Thoughts?
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:03 PM   #6
socal82bronco
Registered User
 
socal82bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 2,092
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 82 351w
Take the lights offf and check your connections see if there anything exposed. does it happen as soon as you turn your signal on?
socal82bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 09:24 PM   #7
Redwagon
rolling Rolling ROLLING....
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: sol cal (west covina)
Posts: 22,515
iTrader: (34)
Bronco Info: 93 Cherokee
have you replaced any bulbs lately? I have seen where guys use the wrong ones and create shorts.
__________________
Tim

Newest token Jeep owner....

Redwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 01:56 AM   #8
Jasonhughes2009
I scrape on both sides
 
Jasonhughes2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: lagunitas tap room
Posts: 3,030
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: another rig that runs on crapoline
disconnect your trailer wiring all together just to double check that, id put my money on the multifunction switch though, i had the same kind of problem
__________________
1991, fresh 5.0, OBA, 6 inch lift, 9 inch rear, 5.13s. detroit rear aussie front, 37" pitbull rockers, beadlocks. e4od

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyroc14 View Post
If only I could have 6 of his 32 inches!
Jasonhughes2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:53 AM   #9
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
The only thing I've done in the last few weeks was pulled the instrument cluster out to look at some information printed on the back of it. It just has the one big plug (which I've since double checked to be sure it was in securely). Other than that, this issue has come out of the blue. No working on wiring, changing bulbs, etc.

I also can't pinpoint when it happens. The signals will work for a day or so, and then I'll just notice that they're not coming on. Fuse blown. There isn't anything I've found that I can do that results in immediate fuse blowing.

The trailer wiring is a simple four prong plug, and the connections are all good.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonhughes2009
id put my money on the multifunction switch though
Which switch are you referring to?
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:32 AM   #10
Jasonhughes2009
I scrape on both sides
 
Jasonhughes2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: lagunitas tap room
Posts: 3,030
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: another rig that runs on crapoline
Under the drivers side dash. Looks like a sort of 1/3 of a circle... If you can't find it I'll get a picture later
__________________
1991, fresh 5.0, OBA, 6 inch lift, 9 inch rear, 5.13s. detroit rear aussie front, 37" pitbull rockers, beadlocks. e4od

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyroc14 View Post
If only I could have 6 of his 32 inches!
Jasonhughes2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 04:50 PM   #11
ad5mb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 179
iTrader: (0)
I had the same problem. replaced the fuse with a 20 amp 120VAC circuit breaker. works fine, lasts a long time, has very few moving parts.
ad5mb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 04:57 PM   #12
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonhughes2009 View Post
Under the drivers side dash. Looks like a sort of 1/3 of a circle... If you can't find it I'll get a picture later
I'm not sure what switch you're talking about. What switch is it? (Not necessarily what it looks like.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ad5mb
I had the same problem. replaced the fuse with a 20 amp 120VAC circuit breaker. works fine, lasts a long time, has very few moving parts.
Hope it doesn't come to that. I'd rather track down what's causing it first.
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:11 PM   #13
Mikey350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Posts: 1,636
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: '96 Black 302 XLT - '94 Green 351 E. B. both have E4OD, 3.55 axles, 31 10.50x15
The multifunction switch referred to in post #8 is the combination turn signal/windshield wiper, etc. switch.
Mikey350 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 08:22 PM   #14
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey350 View Post
The multifunction switch referred to in post #8 is the combination turn signal/windshield wiper, etc. switch.
The 80-86 is a bit different and those are all independent of each other.

There's two pull knobs on the dash. One's the headlights and dome light. The other is the windshield wipers.
The highbeam switch is on the floor.
And the turn signal switch/lever is on the column.

I *think* they're all independent systems and have different fuses.
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:21 AM   #15
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
Hi everyone.

Any more ideas? Are there any systematic ways I can go about tracking this down? Could anything have happened when I removed and reinstalled the instrument cluster? (I've confirmed it's fully plugged in, but still).

I'm not further to solving this and still have no turn signals.
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 12:32 PM   #16
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 12,616
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo AB,

Brake, Turn, Hazard Lights Inoperative, Similar to 80-91 Bronco & F-Series;"...have a friend stand behind your truck and when you are pressing the brake pedal move the turn signal arm ever so slightly, if the brake like comes on, your switch is shorted out and must be replaced..."
Source: by Ford via miesk5 at Ford Bronco Zone Forums


Only other thing I can recommend now is to pull connectors and use a meter to rest for shorts on each conductor using the only diagram I have right now;
Turn, Tail, Brake, Head Light, Hazard & Ignition Wiring Diagram for 84 Bronco & F-Series (partial); "...Similar to 80-91 Bronco & F-Series..."
Source: by Steve83 (Steve, That dirty old truck) at http://www.supermotors.net/clubs/sup...media/714912_1


Turn Signal Switch Connector Location in Parts Break-Out Diagram in an 83; similar to 80-91
Source: by Seabronc (Rosie, Fred W) at http://broncozone.com/index.php?app=...attach_id=3014
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:20 PM   #17
SoCal09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Marcos, Tx
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1989 Boss 302
I actually had the same problem occur when I was messing with my alarm system one day. I have a 95 and I use emty fuse areas within my inner fuse panel to power my alarm. Anyway, I had grounded out a different fuse on accident and this caused my turn signals not to work, while my hazards still worked.

Are you saying your blowing the round fuse? Mine was never actually blown, so make sure you don't have a wire grounded somewhere.

I'm at work so I hope I wrote that clearly, just my .02
SoCal09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 07:07 PM   #18
Demonio Irelandes
Registered User
 
Demonio Irelandes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 199
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 85 Bronco: 351W/C6/NP208 - D60/Corp14/41" IROKs
The wire runs from the dash area to the back of the truck, and if it's anything like mine was, it's inside the frame rail under the truck. It could have gotten snagged on something or the outer jacket could have been rubbed off because your trans mount is wasted and every time you punch it from a standing stop you move the wiring harness just a little bit.

Get an ohm meter/multi meter and and some 14 gauge wire and check resistance. If it's high then you've likely got an intermittent short somewhere and that's why it works for a while then blows.
Demonio Irelandes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 08:54 AM   #19
AbandonedBronco
Big Six
 
AbandonedBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,245
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1981 300ci 6cyl w/4bbl conversion. 4spd manual
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCal09 View Post

Are you saying your blowing the round fuse? Mine was never actually blown, so make sure you don't have a wire grounded somewhere.
It's actually the 15amp fuse in the fuse panel that keeps blowing.

However, someone at the parts store suggested that since the fuse for the turn signals keeps blowing but the hazards still work, that a 'quick and easy' check would be to swap the big round flasher fuses to see if a dying turn signal flasher keeps blowing the fuse.

I tried it and it's been about four days and my fuse hasn't blown again.
Hopefully it'll stay that way. If so, I'll just buy a new flasher.

Quote:
The wire runs from the dash area to the back of the truck, and if it's anything like mine was, it's inside the frame rail under the truck. It could have gotten snagged on something or the outer jacket could have been rubbed off because your trans mount is wasted and every time you punch it from a standing stop you move the wiring harness just a little bit.
The tabs on my transmission have broken off, so it's not even held down anymore. So yeah....it probably moves around.

If the above doesn't work, I'll check the wiring under the truck.
__________________

1981 & 1984. Both w/ 300 I6. Holley 600 4bbls. 31x10.5" tires. NP-435 trans. 2.5" Exhaust.
Supermotors Pics
AbandonedBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:49 PM   #20
stonepaw913
car ramrod
 
stonepaw913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Cumberland PA
Posts: 582
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 88, 302, AOD, currently f***ed. Now driving a Chebby Astro
So, have you stopped blowing fuses? Mine has started doing this recently, and I was interested to see if that solved you problem.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigEpBlue View Post
Stupid people make life irritating, but only until Karma comes around to smack 'em upside the head.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spazmo View Post
fvck fuel get midgets
stonepaw913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 AM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved