Boss radio acting up - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 10:22 PM   #1
matchison
Registered User
 
matchison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 bronco xlt 6 inch ranchero suspension lift 35 in dunlop mudrovers
Boss radio acting up

So i bought a new radio for my bronco we wired everything up correctly as far as color corrdination goes. the fuse is not blown we checked every single fuse. The radio turns on you can see it when you shine a flash light on the screen, but when you try to play music none plays and the screen and buttons don't light up like they should. There is one wire that i think may be important its an orange wire which i think is illumination. But the wiring harness on the radio itself does not have an orange wire. Any idea's of what my issue is?
matchison is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-18-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
Ewgoetz
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 3,529
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
Did the radio come with instructions? Or is this a stock ford radio?
__________________
"hold my beer and watch this"
Hydroboost walkthrought

My Build Thread!! II

My Build Thread!! - retired
Ewgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:43 PM   #3
matchison
Registered User
 
matchison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 bronco xlt 6 inch ranchero suspension lift 35 in dunlop mudrovers
it's an after market boss brand radio it came with instructions but they didn't really tell us a whole lot
matchison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:04 PM   #4
Ewgoetz
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 3,529
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
I'm gonna guess that you hooked up the wires wrong than.
I've rarely seen a aftermarket radio with the same color wiring as a car work.
I suggest goin to Walmart or any other electronics place and getting a stock wire adapter. It should also have the wiring labeled for what wires are for what.
Usually the orange wire is the power on in the vehicle. Look at the wiring diagram in the instructions.
__________________
"hold my beer and watch this"
Hydroboost walkthrought

My Build Thread!! II

My Build Thread!! - retired
Ewgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:43 PM   #5
Seattle FSB
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,385
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
Maybe these will help...


1995 Bronco 130-1 Radio



1995 Bronco 130-2 Radio (Premium Sound)



1995 Bronco 130-3 Radio



1995 Bronco 130-4 Radio
__________________
1990 Bronco, MAF, 408 Stroker, Level 10 E4OD, Currie F9+, Electric Boost Brakes, lots more...
Seattle FSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:26 AM   #6
Chrisw_2003
Registered User
 
Chrisw_2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 122
iTrader: (0)
Get a quality aftermarket head unit. Boss is a pile of crap.
Chrisw_2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:27 PM   #7
BakerBaker
User Registered
 
BakerBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,166
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 87 EB w/ worn out pony engine,C6,1356, 36 TSL's
Throw it in the trash and save up twice as much for a good quality unit.
There are eleven wires on a radio.

Hot
Ground
Remote

The other 8 are for speakers.
BakerBaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:21 PM   #8
inxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 88 Bronco 351 C6 33's redhead/saginaw
+12v to power radio
+12v with constant power for the memory
- 12v ground
lead for power antenna
8 speaker wires

on my new Kenwood HD with bells and whistles. The HD does make a difference. Now to get the new speakers in. You are going to have to cut and splice speaker wires.
inxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:47 PM   #9
Cheesehead
Registered User
 
Cheesehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2,296
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 1988 XLT 5.0l w/AOD & Rebuilt BW1356
This is all you need to make the install clean and easily reversible if you ever decide to re-install the factory unit.

http://www.scosche.com/car-audio/product/226
Cheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:25 AM   #10
BakerBaker
User Registered
 
BakerBaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,166
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 87 EB w/ worn out pony engine,C6,1356, 36 TSL's
Just throw 12+ volts to it.(dont hold me responsible if your Boss gets fried)

Or

Blue/Red according to this:
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...etail/807.html
BakerBaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved