cb radio causing digital gauges to cut out - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 06:30 PM   #1
RyanApfel
Registered User
 
RyanApfel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga CA
Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 Bronco 351w 3 speed automatic 35s 4inch lift
cb radio causing digital gauges to cut out

The title says it all. Anytime I hit the talk button on the CB radio, my digital gauges for voltage water temp and oil pressure flicker and cut out until I stop pressing the button. If I unplug the antennae and press the button it doesn't make the gauges cut out so I assume it's some type of interference from the CB. Anyone know how to fix this?
RyanApfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2012, 06:49 PM   #2
fartman
F.O.T.M. - MAY 2014!!!
 
fartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 6,249
iTrader: (12)
Bronco Info: 88 FSB. 4.9l -T18-BW1356-33" MTs-Warn hubs Daystar leveling kit
Is the coax running near the gauges? Did you use the same ground for the CB as the gauges?
__________________
Sliding rear windows, GT roll bar, Cargo net and looking for other rare options. 4.10 gears LSD 33" MTs First ever Stock Fullsize of the Month...
J A S N http://www.supermotors.net/registry/19528
fartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
bukk
Registered User
 
bukk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: el sereno northeast l a
Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1990 bronco 5.0 aod 4x4
cb radio

i had a similiar problem and bought a heavy duty noise filter at radio shack it worked for me and ran power from cb directly to battery instead of fusebox.
__________________
1994 f150 xlt 4x4 flair side
bukk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:46 PM   #4
theramsey3
#1 Asshole
 
theramsey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: starke fl
Posts: 1,452
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 90 5.0 H.O. E4OD BW1356 3.54 3L55 32/11.50R15 Black not the one in the pic ^^^
Are you using a "linear" or amplifier? if you are you likely need to get some ferrite cores to create an rf noise filter as close as you can to the gauges on the power supply and inputs. I had to do that with all of my stereo equipment when I was running my linear. every time I keyed up I could hear myself talking through my stereo equipment.
__________________

Gotta get going again soon. my supermotors for before and after.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ford_munky_man View Post
I was always taught u got to lube it up before you stick it in. My friends said the teacher yesterday said that too.
theramsey3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:55 PM   #5
RyanApfel
Registered User
 
RyanApfel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga CA
Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 Bronco 351w 3 speed automatic 35s 4inch lift
not using an amplifier. the cb has its own power strait to the batt and its own ground to the body. i tried moving the coax as far away from any of the other wires as i could and it still had the problem. so a noise filter sounds like the way to go. does it just hook up in-line?
RyanApfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:29 PM   #6
bossind
Retired Staff
 
bossind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oromocto NB Canada
Posts: 8,530
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco, 5.8, E40D, Dana 44 SAS, 4.88 gears. 35" SuperSwampers
Adjust your SWR!

http://www.rightchannelradios.com/tu...-adjusting-swr
bossind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 10:09 PM   #7
adrianspeeder
USAF C-17 Avionics
 
adrianspeeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Dover AFB DE / Harrisburg PA
Posts: 6,430
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: '94, '92, '88, and '84 Broncos
And don't key your set without a dummy load or antenna. If you haven't fried your transmitter already.

Adrianspeeder
__________________
adrianspeeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:59 AM   #8
mkinsman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 84
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 Bronco, Eddie Bauer Maroon/Tan, 5.8 6in lift with 35 " kumho mt's (craigslist special)
never NEVER key the mic without the antenna attached, will fry the radio
mkinsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:34 PM   #9
RngTrtl
Registered User
 
RngTrtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 219
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1994 5.8L, Auto, 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossind View Post
This. SWR is Standing Wave Ratio. If it is not as close to 1:1 as possible you are bleeding off power that could interfere with things.
__________________
1994 Ford Bronco, 5.8L, E40D Auto, 4wd
1987 Ford Bronco II, 5.0L, AOD Auto, 4wd
1985 Porsche 928, 5.0L 32V V-8
1991 Suzuki Katana, 1100cc
2000 Ford Focus Wagon (wifes grocery getter)
RngTrtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:36 PM   #10
RngTrtl
Registered User
 
RngTrtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 219
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1994 5.8L, Auto, 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkinsman View Post
never NEVER key the mic without the antenna attached, will fry the radio
This as well. Its kinda like dry firing a bow.
__________________
1994 Ford Bronco, 5.8L, E40D Auto, 4wd
1987 Ford Bronco II, 5.0L, AOD Auto, 4wd
1985 Porsche 928, 5.0L 32V V-8
1991 Suzuki Katana, 1100cc
2000 Ford Focus Wagon (wifes grocery getter)
RngTrtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:34 PM   #11
DRFC29`
Registered User
 
DRFC29`'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1994 351w, 6in lift ,33's spool front, ls rear 8000lb winch
What kind of antenna ? location? i had a magent mount it bleed on everything went to a solid mount on the back of the truck problem went away but thats my 2 cents.
__________________
DRFC29` is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:48 PM   #12
RyanApfel
Registered User
 
RyanApfel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga CA
Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 Bronco 351w 3 speed automatic 35s 4inch lift
It is a magnet mount on the roof. I ordered a noise filter online. If that doesn't work I'll look into a solid mount antennae.
RyanApfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 02:44 PM   #13
1starvingtrucker
Registered User
 
1starvingtrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Why are you running a magnetic mount antenna? Is your CB going to be mounted temporary, also? Get a real antenna. Good luck
1starvingtrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:23 PM   #14
BigBlue&Goldie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 176
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1993 XLT, 5.8L, E40D, Stock......for now!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1starvingtrucker View Post
Why are you running a magnetic mount antenna? Is your CB going to be mounted temporary, also? Get a real antenna. Good luck
I agree, those magnetic antennas are junk. Get a Firestick and mount it on your rear tire carrier. I ran my ground to my body and have never had an issue. The coax line is easily ran in Broncos, and the Firestick kit comes with plenty.
BigBlue&Goldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:08 PM   #15
1starvingtrucker
Registered User
 
1starvingtrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
The Firestick needs 18 feet of coax. That is what I have always been told by any CB shop I have been to. Otherwise, I don't believe you will ever get the SWR adjusted. Firestick is really good for a fiberglass and you can get one at any truck stop.
1starvingtrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 01:58 AM   #16
RyanApfel
Registered User
 
RyanApfel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga CA
Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 Bronco 351w 3 speed automatic 35s 4inch lift
I got a magnet antennae because I don't have a tire carrier so there's no real easy spot to bolt it on. On another note, the noise filter I ordered worked like a charm. No more interference.
RyanApfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:40 AM   #17
1starvingtrucker
Registered User
 
1starvingtrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
That is great if you fixed the problem and it works for you. My position is the better equipment you have the more you will be able to use it. I have one aluminum antenna and sometimes I pick up base stations from Puerto Rico and Cuba. Other times, I may pick up West Coast. I can pick up racket from El Paso any day I want to (about 800 miles away). I had a conversation two days in a row with someone in Nebraska. All of this may sound unnecessary, but if you can consistently talk to people clearly that are 5 to 10 miles away your radio becomes a lot more useful. It will help a lot just talking to people that are within eye sight.
1starvingtrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:45 AM   #18
tonyroc14
Registered User
 
tonyroc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LaHabra, CA
Posts: 2,916
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 1993 XLT 5.8,1991 XLT 5.8 - sold
My 2 cents is to run good coax and antenna. Those are the key. You should always run coax in multiples of 3 feet to get the best SWR. Here I talk about all this and I have shit coax, shot antenna and shit SWR. Lol. I just haven't had the money, time, or the interest in fixing it....




Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
tonyroc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:23 PM   #19
1starvingtrucker
Registered User
 
1starvingtrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyroc14 View Post
My 2 cents is to run good coax and antenna. Those are the key. You should always run coax in multiples of 3 feet to get the best SWR. Here I talk about all this and I have shit coax, shot antenna and shit SWR. Lol. I just haven't had the money, time, or the interest in fixing it....
Good coax and antenna is a must, but everyone always told me Cobra radios were good. Even some CB shops. I will never buy another. They may be tough, but I never had one that was a great performer. I had 2 or 3. I have tried them stock and taken them to the CB shop to get the mods. Didn't matter, I was always trying to get them to work better. And I couldn't. After I bought a big radio, and a few mods, I was content. I wasn't trying to make a Cobra do something it wasn't designed to do.

The radio I use now has 18 ft. coax and a Predator antenna (aluminum) and I don't think I have ever had to adjust the trim on the antenna. I do check it sometimes, though.

I always use 18 ft coax because I was told (by several CB shops) that the antennas we are talking about have a relationship to the actual size of the radio wave traveling through the air and are designed to work with a piece of coax 18 ft long (or something like that). And I don't think I have ever been able to set SWR with any other length than 18 ft.

Where did you get the "multiples of three" from? Truck stops usually have coax in multiples of 3 and I never knew why.
1starvingtrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:15 PM   #20
tonyroc14
Registered User
 
tonyroc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LaHabra, CA
Posts: 2,916
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 1993 XLT 5.8,1991 XLT 5.8 - sold
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1starvingtrucker View Post
Good coax and antenna is a must, but everyone always told me Cobra radios were good. Even some CB shops. I will never buy another. They may be tough, but I never had one that was a great performer. I had 2 or 3. I have tried them stock and taken them to the CB shop to get the mods. Didn't matter, I was always trying to get them to work better. And I couldn't. After I bought a big radio, and a few mods, I was content. I wasn't trying to make a Cobra do something it wasn't designed to do.

The radio I use now has 18 ft. coax and a Predator antenna (aluminum) and I don't think I have ever had to adjust the trim on the antenna. I do check it sometimes, though.

I always use 18 ft coax because I was told (by several CB shops) that the antennas we are talking about have a relationship to the actual size of the radio wave traveling through the air and are designed to work with a piece of coax 18 ft long (or something like that). And I don't think I have ever been able to set SWR with any other length than 18 ft.

Where did you get the "multiples of three" from? Truck stops usually have coax in multiples of 3 and I never knew why.
As a rule of thumb you want to run 18 feet because it keeps the same ratio. Antennas are simply a ratio of the actual wave length. But if you simply can not run 18 then go with 15, or 21 if you need more. I don't have the exacts as to why it's 3 feet, I just know it is, haha.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
tonyroc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved