C-6 labours reverse and starting - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 06:09 AM   #1
aussiebko
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
C-6 labours reverse and starting

Lately my c-6 Which (hasn't done that many miles) is really struggling when first starting and any time I'm in reverse. It's not like its revving the engine really hard, I can put my foot flat to the boards and in reverse it feels like I'm trying to start in 3rd on a hill. Any ideas?
The torque converter was not changed when the transmission went in but I have a new one sitting in the garage. Fluid level is fine also.

Cheers,

Stu
aussiebko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2012, 03:48 PM   #2
aussiebko
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
Would improper tension on the band cause this?
aussiebko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 03:00 PM   #3
sackman9975
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bronco Birthplace
Posts: 6,893
iTrader: (42)
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, Warn premium hubs, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussiebko View Post
Would improper tension on the band cause this?
Has it been adjusted recently? How long ago was the trans put in and did this issue exist then?
__________________


~ Scott ~

~E303 w/Flowmaster 40 & 3inch exhaust rumble ~ 213k & counting. Now my daily driver once again. ~
~ Bronco owner/Driver/Mechanic/Enthusiast for 23 years ~
sackman9975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:26 AM   #4
aussiebko
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
Had a service maybe 2000mi ago. I'm assuming the band Was torqued up then but was under the impression it doesn't affect 1st or reverse. The transmission has done maybe 10-12k miles and the problem did not exist then. I don't think it is band slippage (guessing) as the revs don't go sky high compared to the amount I drive I get. It's more of a really laboured sluggish drive.
aussiebko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:15 PM   #5
sackman9975
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bronco Birthplace
Posts: 6,893
iTrader: (42)
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, Warn premium hubs, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40
The band is for 3rd gear to engage. It tightens the drum to keep it from spinning to lower the gear ratio. If the band was applied during 1st gear, it acts as a brake. I know this from having one too tight after a rebuild once.

It could be that the trans is starting in 3rd gear, which could be the governer is stuck. This is located on the output shaft.
__________________


~ Scott ~

~E303 w/Flowmaster 40 & 3inch exhaust rumble ~ 213k & counting. Now my daily driver once again. ~
~ Bronco owner/Driver/Mechanic/Enthusiast for 23 years ~
sackman9975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:49 AM   #6
aussiebko
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
Will a stuck governor cause the sluggish reverse?
aussiebko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:06 AM   #7
r-clar
Registered User
 
r-clar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Demotte. In.
Posts: 482
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 78 bronco
No a stuck governer should not cause that. I would check the intermediate beamed adjustment just to be safe. If to tight could drag and cause issues. How are the other shifts?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
r-clar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:32 AM   #8
aussiebko
Fullsize Member
 
aussiebko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: victoria, australia
Posts: 386
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 84 Prius offset vehicle
All the shifts are fine. I decided to install a Hurst V-matic that I bought a while back. The column shift always felt sloppy and I was thinking its possible that the gears were not properly selected which caused some slipping on inclines. Im clutching at straws here but it costs nothing.
A few hours ago selected reverse with the linkage cable disconnected and it didn't appear sluggish backing down my drive. I'll see if the new shifter makes any difference at all I guess.
I've also read that vac signal dictates the clutch application pressure. Not sure if this is true but if it is maybe I should be checking the modulator and also looking for vacuum leaks.
aussiebko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:59 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved