will this trans swap work? - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 06:48 PM   #1
94fordtruck
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
will this trans swap work?

ok guys. got a 94 with a 351 and an E4OD wanting to swap for a 5spd. found a 5spd thats behind a 300 I6 in an F-150. my question is will it bolt right up to my 351?

**EDIT: totally realized i put this in the wrong section. maybe a mod can move it to the right one
94fordtruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
LarryP
Thanks 351w500
 
LarryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northcentral,CA.Twain Harte, up here in the mountains
Posts: 5,449
iTrader: (52)
Bronco Info: 88 Centerion 460 Dana 60/10.25 78 Bronk Cromo shafts,Detoit 4.56's lift 7" Deavers 38's 9"rear disk
This swap is very covered here so a 5 min search would get you you're info. But yes it will fit
__________________

I take Prayer Requests. God Bless

Last edited by LarryP; 11-24-2012 at 07:21 PM.
LarryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:44 PM   #3
Alvin in AZ
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
ok guys. got a 94 with a 351 and an E4OD wanting to swap for a 5spd. found
a 5spd thats behind a 300 I6 in an F-150. my question is will it bolt right up
to my 351?
Are they both 4wd vehicles or both 2wd vehicles?

Swapping one from one type to the other type, or what?

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 09:29 PM   #4
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,484
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Oh god an m5od!!! If your automatics fine dont waist your time unless you like pulling transmissions all the time. By the time the shift forks wore on my third rebuild i had it down to two hours flat. Find a zf.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:49 AM   #5
94fordtruck
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
Bronco is 4x4 and the F-150 is 2wd but i hear it'll still work. and the reason i'm looking into this is because i think i've ruined the auto thats in er now. it just dont shift outta first gear (doesnt slip or nothing but wont shift) and i'm tired of it giving me problems.
94fordtruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:56 AM   #6
Booba5185
Registered User
 
Booba5185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 1,648
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89 F150...close to a Bronco?
It wont work if the donor truck is 2WD. On top of that you would need a new ECM as well since the E40D is computer controlled. The M50D SUCKS move alont to another tranny.
__________________
89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4 Longbed, 3.55 LS 80,XXX Original Miles, GT40Ps, Roller, MAF, Custom Y-pipe, Mustang headers, 3g Alt, Big 3+ Upgrade, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Sixlitre Tune-up, Explorer Injectors, Remote mounted ICM, Insulated Intake tubing\Filter Box Mod, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 MC\Booster\Rear clyinders, Autopage Remote Start, 9007 conversion, so much more.
Booba5185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:43 PM   #7
sackman9975
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Livonia Michigan
Posts: 6,847
iTrader: (42)
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, Warn premium hubs, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
Bronco is 4x4 and the F-150 is 2wd but i hear it'll still work. and the reason i'm looking into this is because i think i've ruined the auto thats in er now. it just dont shift outta first gear (doesnt slip or nothing but wont shift) and i'm tired of it giving me problems.
Wait just one second!!

Before you go swapping transmissions, Test your throttle position sensor (TPS)! This is a very common issue.
__________________


~ Scott ~

~E303 w/Flowmaster 40 & 3inch exhaust rumble ~ 213k & counting. Now my daily driver once again. ~
~ Bronco owner/Driver/Mechanic/Enthusiast for 23 years ~
sackman9975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:05 PM   #8
94fordtruck
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
Wait just one second!!

Before you go swapping transmissions, Test your throttle position sensor (TPS)! This is a very common issue.
how do i test that? is it a b*tch to change? but i really do want a 5spd instead of a slushbox auto someday anyway.
94fordtruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:51 AM   #9
sackman9975
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Livonia Michigan
Posts: 6,847
iTrader: (42)
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, Warn premium hubs, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
how do i test that? is it a b*tch to change? but i really do want a 5spd instead of a slushbox auto someday anyway.
You'll need a digital volt meter to test it.

Is it a b*tch to change? Not compared to swapping transmissions!!!!

Here, read this link Ultimate TPS thread

And here is a 96 that had the same problem that I worked on click here
__________________


~ Scott ~

~E303 w/Flowmaster 40 & 3inch exhaust rumble ~ 213k & counting. Now my daily driver once again. ~
~ Bronco owner/Driver/Mechanic/Enthusiast for 23 years ~
sackman9975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 10:45 AM   #10
Alvin in AZ
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
You {can use} a digital volt meter to {set} it.
{but} You'll need {an analog} volt meter to {really} test it.
Is it a b*tch to change?
Not compared to swapping transmissions!!!!
x2 :)

And not only cheaper and easier than a transmission swap but you'll need
to change the TPS out anyway if it needs changing out now. ;)

But I'm all for the transmission swap! :)

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:14 PM   #11
19BK93
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1993 Bronco XLT 347 Stroker (not running right now) E4OD GT40 Heads Crane Cam
I enjoy my E4OD tranny. Very solid! Same tranny in the 150's, Bronco's and Deisels so that tells me that they are rated for way more torque then you should need. A rebuild with bigger lines to move more fluid and a very small adjustment to firm up the shift and it feels better then any shift kit I have ever had installed! A 5 speed would be pretty sweet though! Seems like I seen a set of pedals and associated hardware on JBG if you have not found those yet!
__________________
Bronco Info: 1993 Bronco XLT, 347 Stroker, GT 40 Heads, MAF, E4OD
19BK93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:20 AM   #12
80bronc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
2wd and 4wd trannys dont interchange since the 4wd tranny is used to mating up with your transfer case, also i have heard m5 stick trannys dont hold water for sh*t anyway. Id check your TPS and even if that checked out id rebuild the auto you got unless you wanna look for a small block sourced ZF5. maybe just my opinion
80bronc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 01:47 PM   #13
94fordtruck
Registered User
 
94fordtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 94xlt 5.8L E4OD
it was the TPS. got er fixed again for now. still want a 5spd and a diesel in it someday though
94fordtruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:03 PM   #14
garymunson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: RENO NV
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 93 XLT, 5.8, E4OD, manual Xfer & hubs
I suggest you do a full fluid change by flushing thru the cooler line. Also add one of the friction modifier additives. The E4OD is a hoss. It's used in motorhomes. Take care of it and it will last a looong time.
http://www.ford-trucks.com/article/i...nsmission.html

I don't bother to change the filter...they never need it.
garymunson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #15
Alvin in AZ
AKA: Butthead
 
Alvin in AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gadsden Purchase
Posts: 2,880
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: '91 RoadQueen 351w-2wd-ZF camtiming+4* 265/75-16E's dual Ranchos F&R, SuperCab bench seat EEC=F250
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94fordtruck View Post
it was the TPS. got er fixed again for now.
Cool and thanks for the TPS report. :)

Seems like a higher percentage of guys are reporting back lately. :) ??

Alvin in AZ
Alvin in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved