Turn signal/hazard switch= cruise control not working. - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 03:51 PM   #1
Ewgoetz
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 3,864
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
Question Turn signal/hazard switch= cruise control not working.

I'm a bit confused on why my issue is what it is. So here is the story from the start.

My old bko's cc started to not work before my rear ending. I think it had completely stopped working by than. The turn signal switch was purchased new and had not been in the old bko for more than 2 years.

Now on the new bko the cc has been working fine.

Than a few days ago I swaped you the turn signal switches between the 2 trucks. Now the cc doesn't work with the newer switch from the old bko. I swap in the old switch and take a ride and the cc works fine.

Anyone else have anything like this happen to them?

I didn't think the cc or the signal switch had anything much in common.
Ewgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2012, 12:35 AM   #2
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 36,885
iTrader: (101)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
The brake light circuit is the only commonality.

.
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 01:06 AM   #3
Ewgoetz
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 3,864
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
I did notice one thing to nite on the way home. I shut off my lights for a few seconds to see if cc would work. It did, so the cc issue has some thing to do when the lights are turned on.
Ewgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:04 AM   #4
wdford
Registered User
 
wdford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA
Posts: 152
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1995 EB 351W, E40D
When I purchased my turn signal switch it asked if I had an electronic turn signal relay. Not sure why it made a difference but check the part numbers between the two.
__________________
wdford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:24 AM   #5
Alex95
351w500 bought my
 
Alex95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Born and raised in South Texas
Posts: 7,763
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 88 Custom 4.9L, 3.55 gears 31" Dynapro ATMs, BW1356/Top-Hats, K&N FIPK
i may be totally off, but could that have something to do with a faulty multifunction switch? or i may have just stated the obvious.
__________________
Quote:
A general rule in modding a vehicle is: Powerful, Reliable, Cheap; You can only pick two, not three.
88 Custom; 4.9; C6; 3.55's; TTB, 8.8; BW1356; Top-Hats; K&N FIPK; 160A 3G, 2G compatible; Flowmaster 40 Series; GT Rollbar; Full Replacement F/R Brush Guards; 2 gal. Viair Air tank/compressor; HornBlasters Shocker XL Train Horns; Full MTX Audio System; Rollin on XD Addicts
Alex95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:42 PM   #6
Mikey350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Posts: 1,667
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: '96 Black 302 XLT - '94 Green 351 E. B. both have E4OD, 3.55 axles, 31 10.50x15
On my '96, the cruise control would kick off when I put on the right turn signal. It was the multifunction (multimalfunction?) switch. I replaced it, then I took it apart with the help of Steve83's writeup, cleaned it up, and it now resides error free in my '94.
Good Luck!
__________________
"The simplest solution is usually the best solution" - Occam's Razor

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." - Albert Einstein
Mikey350 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:13 PM   #7
Ewgoetz
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 3,864
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
So a update to this issue. I replaced a tail light harness that connects under the rear area of the frame to the left rear tail lights. Cc now does not shut off when the blinkers are turned on. How ever the cc stil does not work with the lights turned on. On another wired twist, I had my car trailer on tonight and decided to see if it would work with the lights on. It did work like it was suppose to. As soon as I disconnected the trailer at my house and went for a ride, I tried the cc and it would no longer work. Any ideas where to specifically to look?
Ewgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:15 AM   #8
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 36,885
iTrader: (101)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Check the loose nut behind the wheel who keeps swapping working parts. Put the working MFS back in, and cruise.
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:39 AM   #9
DNBELOWBRONCO
Registered User
 
DNBELOWBRONCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 1,569
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: '96, 5.8, 4.56, 4", 35's, Thorleys, Warn 8274, 5100's, 160 3G, Sag, 10.25, E-fan, Projectors, 8-Lug
Sounds like it's just the MFS internally itself. The high beams are part of it so that may be why the thing worked when you shut the lights off, less current draw and why Mikey350 had his problem when he turned his signal on. If you have a problem internally it is like a window switch, sometimes it will work putting the window up but not down. The turn signals on your MFS might work on the left but not the right, high beams might affect it and since you had the lights on Ewgoetz, you were using the same compromised circuit within the multifunction switch and unplugging the trailer may have had nothing to do with it, it could have just been the lights being on instead and just a coincidence. You may have thought unplugging did something when actually it was just that you were using the lights because it was dark. I used to sell tons of these at Ford because it had the wipers, the water jets, and the intermittent part too, the high beams, the flash to pass part too, the turn signals, hazards, everything but the headlamp switch itself but nothing to do with the cruise though man. Steve's right, buy another one or find someone here parting out a Bronco or F150 or just swap the other one back in. Good Luck...... -Kevin-
__________________
DON'T GIVE UP PUSH THE PEDAL ON THE RIGHT JUST A LITTLE BIT HARDER DNBELOWBRONCO www.supermotors.net/17883

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind" -Dr. Seuss-
DNBELOWBRONCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:14 AM   #10
Ewgoetz
FSM Lifetime
 
Ewgoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 3,864
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1996 EB Bronco 5.8, E4OD, BW1356 Transfercase, 6 inch BDS Lift w/Procomp Leafs, 200,010Miles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83 View Post
Check the loose nut behind the wheel who keeps swapping working parts. Put the working MFS back in, and cruise.
Lol that nut is to twisted and messed up! Lol!
I swaped those 2 connectors cause the light sockets were looking like they were in better condition.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DNBELOWBRONCO View Post
Sounds like it's just the MFS internally itself. The high beams are part of it so that may be why the thing worked when you shut the lights off, less current draw and why Mikey350 had his problem when he turned his signal on. If you have a problem internally it is like a window switch, sometimes it will work putting the window up but not down. The turn signals on your MFS might work on the left but not the right, high beams might affect it and since you had the lights on Ewgoetz, you were using the same compromised circuit within the multifunction switch and unplugging the trailer may have had nothing to do with it, it could have just been the lights being on instead and just a coincidence. You may have thought unplugging did something when actually it was just that you were using the lights because it was dark. I used to sell tons of these at Ford because it had the wipers, the water jets, and the intermittent part too, the high beams, the flash to pass part too, the turn signals, hazards, everything but the headlamp switch itself but nothing to do with the cruise though man. Steve's right, buy another one or find someone here parting out a Bronco or F150 or just swap the other one back in. Good Luck...... -Kevin-
The one switch I had in there was a working new switch with same results.

Right now here's how it stands with the cruise control.
During the day with the parking lights & head lights off, cc works fine.
At night with the headlights on the cc no longer works.

Now if I plug in that trailer harness at night with the lights on the cc works. Which is wired to me......

Not to worried about it, just wanted to put a update in this thread about the 2 rear light harnesses being replace, and the effect was it stopped the thing with the signals killing the cc.
Ewgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:55 PM   #11
Mikey350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Posts: 1,667
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: '96 Black 302 XLT - '94 Green 351 E. B. both have E4OD, 3.55 axles, 31 10.50x15
Here's my 2, even though you didn't ask for it.
The Speed Control has a bunch of possible inputs to shut it off, in addition to the switch on the steering wheel.
One is the BOO signal - that closes when the brake pedal is depressed.
The other is the brake pressure signal, that comes off the pressure switch on your master cylinder (the one that's fused if you had the safety recall)
So, take a look at the schematics below - pg 31-1 shows the Speed Control - on the left side is a Splice - S240
If you get 12 volts at that splice the speed control will shut off.
Now look at the second schematic page 90-2 - find the same splice - S240 (right in the middle) - some of the connections are inputs, some are outputs, but if 12v gets there, whether incidental or purposeful the speed control will shut off.
My bet is you have something putting 12v there. - the splice location is "Main Harness, near T/O to clutch pedal position switch or jumper" (Pg 152-32)

http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/895677_1


http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/966774_1
__________________
"The simplest solution is usually the best solution" - Occam's Razor

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." - Albert Einstein
Mikey350 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved