ran oil pan dry. pump wont prime - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 5,005
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
ran oil pan dry. pump wont prime

i installed a oil filter relocation kit and a big cooler today plus replaced the pressure sensor. being distracted i forgot to connect a line. strated the engine and all my oil pumped out to the ground . i reconnected the line and put another 5 quarts of oil in it started it and guage wasnt working so after messin with the wire some starting it to test i never got it to work. thinking the new sensor was bad i checked to make sure oil was flowing so i loosened the filter where it would leak. no leak so i took it about half off with a big gap and absolutly no oil is flowing. oil is full. after starting the engine numerous times i think the pump would have primed itself by now. any ideas?
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2012, 07:11 PM   #2
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,683
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
could have toasted the pump. pull the dizzy and use a drill to turn the pump over till you see oil pressure.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:15 PM   #3
inxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 88 Bronco 351 C6 33's redhead/saginaw
Something may be clogged. "To avoid the need for priming, the pump is always mounted low-down, either submerged or around the level of the oil in the sump. A short pick-up pipe with a simple wire-mesh strainer reaches to the bottom of the sump' (not my words). Or possibly not enough oil. A bigger cooler plus the hoses for the remote filter require more oil than the 5 quarts. Possibly with the five qts you just filled the hoses and cooler. Bad ol pump, hard to believe.
inxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:19 PM   #4
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,683
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
running the engine with no oil is pretty much saying your gonna rebuild it.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:37 PM   #5
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 5,005
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
its gonna be rebuilded soon. jsut not now. well with 5 quarts the dipstick is over. im going to prime through the dizzy when i can get access to a timnig light. i might try and take the hose loose and pouring oil through it to help prime the pump.
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 10:17 PM   #6
sackman9975
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Livonia Michigan
Posts: 6,822
iTrader: (42)
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, Warn premium hubs, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingfish999 View Post
its gonna be rebuilded soon. jsut not now. well with 5 quarts the dipstick is over. im going to prime through the dizzy when i can get access to a timnig light. i might try and take the hose loose and pouring oil through it to help prime the pump.
The pump shouldn't have to be primed. It's not new.

Mark the distributor where the rotor is pointing and pull it. You won't need a timing light if you do so. If you ran it dry, the oil pump probably seized and the pump shaft should be broke. Listen closely once you pull the distributor because you just may hear half of the oil pump shaft drop into the pan. If this is the case, you'll see it once the distributor is pulled and you try to prime it.


You're probably looking at a costly mistake........
__________________


~ Scott ~

~E303 w/Flowmaster 40 & 3inch exhaust rumble ~ 212k & counting. Now my daily driver once again. ~
~ Bronco owner/Driver/Mechanic/Enthusiast for 23 years ~
sackman9975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 10:43 PM   #7
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,466
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
now you done gone a did it.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 05:16 AM   #8
garymunson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: RENO NV
Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 93 XLT, 5.8, E4OD, manual Xfer & hubs
If you think it's a problem with no oil pump prime, the old redneck trick to prime it is to disable the ignition, dump a couple gallons of cheap wallyworld oil in the crankcase and crank it until you get pressure then drain the extra oil. This makes sure the pump is submerged in oil. Beats pulling the pan to get some grease in the pump. If it's really dry the distributor trick won't work.
garymunson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:27 PM   #9
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 5,005
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
alright i got it figuered out and it wasnt my fualt this time!!! the company who made the filter relocation kit labeled IN and OUT backwards on the block adapter. you wouldnt think this would make a difference but because the oil filter has a backflow preventer in it, it was was stopping the filter from flowing. since the filter flows from the outside in, when it was reveresed it tried to flow inside out so when i had the filter half off this is why no oil was present.

i did pull the dizzy and found everything was good. pump had resistance, teesh wernt worn, pump was primed after all. then is when i took the filter all the way off and used the drill to realizr there was pressure. got everything all good now. oil pressure is good again. hopefully running with no oil didnt cause too much wear.

notice the outside is labeled IN even tho the oil flows out

__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:20 PM   #10
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,683
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
oil flows from the outside of the filter into the center and out the center into the hole it is screwed onto the block with.

By looking at that picture, the hose labeled IN comes from your engine and the one labeled out is the filtered oil.

I don't see how they have something labeled wrong.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 09:59 PM   #11
Mikey350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Posts: 1,632
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: '96 Black 302 XLT - '94 Green 351 E. B. both have E4OD, 3.55 axles, 31 10.50x15
Swap the hoses
__________________
"The simplest solution is usually the best solution" - Occam's Razor

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." - Albert Einstein
Mikey350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:37 PM   #12
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 5,005
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
one like me would assume when it says IN, it means the flow goes to there, not from. since the flow is comming out where it says IN that to me is wrong. when wiring say a TV, you have Video/Audio IN and OUT. OUT is a source and IN recieves. why woulkd you label something IN if its a source?

mikey i did swap the hoses but its really a PITA to do.
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:43 PM   #13
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,683
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingfish999 View Post
one like me would assume when it says IN, it means the flow goes to there, not from. since the flow is comming out where it says IN that to me is wrong. when wiring say a TV, you have Video/Audio IN and OUT. OUT is a source and IN recieves. why woulkd you label something IN if its a source?

mikey i did swap the hoses but its really a PITA to do.
your making my head hurt.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:51 PM   #14
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,683
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
in is the unfiltered oil from the engine

out is the filtered oil which is sent out to all the moving parts in the engine.

it is plain and simply put. I am not understanding how you have this all switched around. To me that part is labeled correctly, you installed it wrong.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:05 AM   #15
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 5,005
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
if this was connecting to the filter then i would say yes. but this is going to the block. but im going to end this before i make you think. we all know what happened when you think
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:14 AM   #16
ProBronco
Registered User
 
ProBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montana
Posts: 1,333
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 80 Bronco XLT 302 4sp, 4"lift on 35" Factory LS F&R
SPeeCHLESS >>>>>>>>>>>>>>
ProBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:17 AM   #17
1starvingtrucker
Registered User
 
1starvingtrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jopes View Post
your making my head hurt.
X2
1starvingtrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:35 AM   #18
1starvingtrucker
Registered User
 
1starvingtrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)
Jopes is correct. It is labelled correctly.

IN = In to the oil filter
OUT = Out of the oil filter

I wouldn't be running the engine until I understood this. I am not trying to be rude, I just don't see any reason to starve your engine of oil.

What oil filter are you using?
1starvingtrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:57 AM   #19
mickaila
not banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sun Diego, CA
Posts: 5,596
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: 82 XLT Lariat, 351W, C6, NP208, 4.56:1, 37x13.5s, all sheet metal replaced
you don't lose prime on the pump.

the lines may be void until they are filled. you can fill them by cranking the engine with the hi tension coil disconnected.
__________________
Where we go one, we go all.
Mickaila's Rebuild

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwagon View Post
I guess most of our members are just WEB WHEELERs and dont need public land?
mickaila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:40 AM   #20
tonyroc14
Registered User
 
tonyroc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LaHabra, CA
Posts: 2,916
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 1993 XLT 5.8,1991 XLT 5.8 - sold
So you made a mistake no biggy. The part seems correctly labeled to me. But i have misunderstood easier things before. Hopefully the engine wasn't running without oil... I don't think you'd hurt the engine by cranking it over dry because of the residual oil. But running it dry? That hurts me! Haha


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
tonyroc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved