Starts but won't run - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 05:07 PM   #1
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Starts but won't run

I have the maf conversion done and it starts but won't run. Starts pretty hard ... runs 2 or 3 seconds and dies. Acts like its starving for fuel. Injectors are rebuilt (changed from 19s to 24s and it's a new fuel pump (cheapy)... ran before I converted it just very poorly. 347 Stroker with a WAY1 computer. I triple checked the re-pinning so I think it's right. Still needs to be tuned. Any ideas?
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2012, 05:17 PM   #2
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,459
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Which maf meter are you using? I only ask because i used a stang maf on the truck computer and the wires were backwards. Ie from top on truck maf B,R,BR,BLK and on the stang were BLK,BR,R,B. this isnt the color order persay but just using it as an example. Mine ran just like yours untill i figured out the issue was that.

Heres a photo of truck harness atop and ford racing stang harness on bottom. Same conector style opposite order.

Hope this helps and only takes acouple minutes to swap them around and back if it doesnt work.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:25 PM   #3
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I'm using a brand new Pro-M 80 for a 94-97 and I have a computer from a 95
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:28 PM   #4
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,679
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
if it fires up and dies, I would check the simple stuff, spark, fuel pressure, and IAC valve.

Then see if there is any codes.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:31 PM   #5
Seattle FSB
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,418
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
Quote:
Originally Posted by surveyorsteve View Post
I'm using a brand new Pro-M 80 for a 94-97 and I have a computer from a 95
Nice! I assume it is calibrated for the 24 lb/hr injectors. Have you tried running Diagnositc Trouble Codes?
__________________
1990 Bronco, MAF, 408 Stroker, Level 10 E4OD, Currie F9+, Electric Boost Brakes, lots more...
Seattle FSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 06:00 PM   #6
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Not getting any codes (KOEO) although the engine is cold. Also checked batt in code reader and it is good. All vacuum lines are in use or plugged off.
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:00 PM   #7
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,459
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Quote:
Originally Posted by surveyorsteve View Post
I'm using a brand new Pro-M 80 for a 94-97 and I have a computer from a 95
94-96 truck or 94-97 stang?
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:24 PM   #8
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Truck
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:03 PM   #9
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I got it to run at about 3 grand but it was backfiring and snorting and pretty much die out when depressing the accelerator...then it died ... smelled bad like not a clean burn
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:36 PM   #10
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,679
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
firing order is probably off
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:02 PM   #11
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Checked fuel p.ressure and only had 10lbs. Changed the fuel filter and now have 0 at the fuel rail. Pulled the line of the fuel filter and got gas all over the place. I think the pump is working okay. Geeze Louise. What's going on.
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:17 PM   #12
Seattle FSB
Fullsize Member
 
Seattle FSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,418
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: 1990 EB FSB, MAF, 6.7L, E4OD, 4" Rancho, 4.56, 33" on 15x10 Alcoa's
Make sure that the fuel filter is pointing in the correct direction. Look for an arrow pointing toward the direction of fuel flow.
__________________
1990 Bronco, MAF, 408 Stroker, Level 10 E4OD, Currie F9+, Electric Boost Brakes, lots more...
Seattle FSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:45 PM   #13
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I double checked the filter and it is flowing the right direction
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 03:12 PM   #14
huggyb1972
I did all for the Nookie
 
huggyb1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Indiana The Middle
Posts: 6,285
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89' Bronco 5.8l Variable Speed V8, Forward, Rev, Turns left, right, stops, and everything.
If the pump is running maybe the fuel pressure regulator is not working.
__________________

351W, ZF5-47, BW1356, 10.25/D60
FOTM DEC. 2011
"Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati,"
When all else fails roll over and play dead.
huggyb1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 04:18 PM   #15
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
I did an underpressure test by clamping off the return line and no increase in pressure so the regulator shouldn't be affecting anything. I guess it's time to think about replacing the fuel line as it may be clogged...but how often does that really happen anyway. Is there a way to back flush fuel lines effectively?

As a recap: Changed stock 92 computer to a 95 f150 computer (WAY1) and repinned per pinning schedule using a RJM MAF conversion harness. Added a Pro-M80 MAF meter, removed the intake plenum and changed the stock 19lb injectors to 24lb, repaired a couple broken vacuum lines, replaced the plenum, relocated the IAT to the air box area, replaced the stock gray Ignition module to a black one. Try to start and it would but die within a second or two, check fuel pressure and it was only 10lbs, replaced fuel filter and it tests 0lbs even though it still starts and dies the same way. Pump is new.

Computer has not been tuned yet. Can that be the issue...that it needs to be tuned before it will run at all?
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:07 PM   #16
jopes
gone fish'n
 
jopes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maggie's Nipples, Wyoming
Posts: 21,679
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: pile of parts
all the tuning in the world will not fix your fuel pressure problem.
__________________
'01 F250, 444ci of straight piped oil burning fun. 4x4, 6 spd, GTP38R noise maker, Stage 2 injektorz. Lotsa fun!


Let's Go Fishing.
jopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:42 PM   #17
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 4,961
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
sounds exactly like when my MAF was clogged from mudding. it would be hard to start run a few secs and die. sometimes i could get it to run and would have toi floor it and it would run like crap and usually die after a few more seconds
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:55 PM   #18
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
After blowing out the fuel line, I have been able to start it and run it a couple minutes but it backfires and runs quite rough especially under load. I'm hoping that can be fixed via tuning the conversion. Is that a possibility? I think I may still have fuel pressure problems but it does run. Is it possible that the fact it hasn't been tuned since the MAF conversion (including the computer change) is the cause for the backfire and miss fire? It will run smoothly for a few moments at a certain RPM so I am ruling out a firing order problem.
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:16 PM   #19
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,459
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Im running the 24p injectors and calibrated maf without a tune and have zero issues. Other then light for a missing auto trans. Runs strong and idles just fine. Id try what i posted above. Will take five minutes and if it doesnt work switch it back and youll be no worse then you were before.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:28 PM   #20
AFBronco235
Fullsize Member
 
AFBronco235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 953
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 91 Bronco w/ 5.0 L V8, Auto w/ E40D
It almost sounds like you have too much fuel and not enough air. Or your timing is off. Either way, the back-fires are caused by incomplete fuel burn, either from the too much fuel, or the exaust ports opening too soon. Check for those before you start worrying about the computer. You could also check the intake system. Just in case. I'm sure everyone has had an experience where we forgot to check the simplest things.
AFBronco235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 AM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved