EEC Won't Enable Fuel Pump Relay - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 01-02-2013, 02:55 PM   #1
bdp21xls

EEC Won't Enable Fuel Pump Relay

Hi guys, I'm new to Broncos, and the forum. I have an 89 5.0L which died on the highway a couple weeks ago. Cranks but no start. Got it towed and have been troubleshooting in my driveway.

I am getting a spark, and with starter fluid sprayed into the intake it'll fire once or twice while cranking but won't start. I've been looking at the fuel system, using many threads on this and other sites to guide my efforts.

I replaced the fuel pump relay because it was badly corroded and looked like a likely culprit. It didn't solve my problem though, and I'm starting to think the problem might be the EEC, and here's why:
-I don't get the expected 1-sec fuel pump prime with key on, or while cranking.
-I've traced this to the tan/LG wire on the fuel pump relay not being grounded by the EEC (pin 22 on the EEC).
-If I ground it myself using the test connection, I can hear the fuel pumps running when I turn the key on, and the fuel rail pressure increases. This means the new FP relay works and that the inertia switch is fine.
-I get good continuity between EEC pin 22 and the T/LG wire at FP relay, as well as EEC pin 8 and the brown wire at the FP relay.
-EEC relay is working and all voltages at the relay are good with key on.
-I think EEC grounds are okay. Pins 49, 20, 40, 60 all have good continuity to ground.

I pulled the EEC and opened it up. No obvious signs of burned or damaged components or broken solder joints, but that doesn't really mean anything.