i-beam tips.! - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2013, 09:44 PM   #1
<Rancimo322
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
i-beam tips.!

Hey guys, so i bent my beam and
I was wondering what tips/tricks you old timers
Can share that can aid me in said mission...
Besides whats in the chilton. Thanx
<Rancimo322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
CWbronco
Registered User
 
CWbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 2,081
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 95 xlt, 302, 37's, 4.56's, D44 SAS, 10.25 FF
Replace it? How'd you bend it, those things are tough.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
__________________
Build

SAS

FOTM Oct. 2012
CWbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:14 PM   #3
fartman
Registered User
 
fartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 6,044
iTrader: (12)
Bronco Info: 88 FSB. 4.9l -T18-BW1356-33" MTs-Warn hubs Daystar leveling kit
cheapest is to just replace what you bent from a junk yard, or you can upgrade to a solid axle but thats a little more $$$.
__________________
Sliding rear windows, GT roll bar, Cargo net and looking for other rare options.
J A S N http://www.supermotors.net/registry/19528
fartman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:29 PM   #4
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,266
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Get a replacement and get a plate kit from one of the go fast companys. Once plated youll never have to deal with bending them again.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:46 PM   #5
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 3,974
iTrader: (16)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
really how did you bend it? ive bent only 2 and those were from jumping and getting some good air without any lift

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBfab View Post
Get a replacement and get a plate kit from one of the go fast companys. Once plated youll never have to deal with bending them again.
any recomendations? i should be doing that to mine but this is really the first i heard of a kit. only find beams already made like that
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:18 PM   #6
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,266
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Solo makes a plate kit, i wanna say southwest performance. Or do what im doing and save some dough. Look at a bunch of pictures of what others have done. Make cardboard templates and go for it. If you can find a shop with a torch mate or similar take them metal and templates to them and have them cut out. I have a buddy who can sneak me into his shop on sundays to have at it :-) Its nice knowing a welding inspector for a large company.

Heres a set of extended beams that was for sale on GFB, good referance pics of what could be done. Some dont go this far but gives you a good idea of where to start should you go at it yourself.
http://www.gofastbroncos.com/forum/v...hp?f=26&t=2202
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:01 AM   #7
<Rancimo322
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Thanx ya'lll well i had originally thought i was my radius arm but after swaping that out i went out and got a second and third opinion from a 4x4 shop close by .A lil bend so the beam and axle rub now...
Im a broke as uff college student !! Ima shoot to a junk!! I just want
A good "safe" easy way Of doing all this and not spend a day there. Like "shot in the
Dark" but can i just unblot the beam at the center and pull out the
Whole beam, axle , hub and roter as one peice?? Also i didnt think i could
Weld plates on to the beams like that. Would i just be able to chop up
My old beam for this??? It seems better then the few $ for it as a core.
Ohh" and this one night coming home i ran into my parking spot a lil lil to fast
And bashed into one of those cement fill poles all up in my psngr side..
I was still getting use the full size of this beast.
<Rancimo322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:11 AM   #8
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 3,974
iTrader: (16)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
ya you can pull the whole beam with radius arm. but its difficult to put back in the same way. if you can unbolt the radius arm bracket and it will really help alot.

pics of the dmaged axle? it took nailing a half exposed cement pad doing 30mph offroad and it didnt even damage the axle, jsut bent the engine crossmember quite bad
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:28 AM   #9
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,819
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Click this & read the captions:



These may also interest you:

. .
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:23 AM   #10
<Rancimo322
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Steve 83. These pix will be extreamly helpful thnx!!! im hoping ill luck sack
This job. The last time i was up at the junk i saw 2 late 90s with there psgnr
U-joints gone. Hopfully they still there and i can just pull the beam and axle
And save all the hard work for when i swwap it in. Also need to pull a
Exhasut , a few relays and a thicker steering wheel. Not really a fan of cc
+ none of mye bottons work not even my hore. Ill also flash a
Few pix when i head out.
<Rancimo322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:22 AM   #11
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,819
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
ths nt txtg; s dxn 4m use hole wrdz n ck ur splg plz maks ezr 4 ev1 2 red
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:34 AM   #12
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,266
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
Do any of your buttons work? It might not be the wheel, could be the clock spring located under the wheel. There know for going bad and i believe there was a recall on some way back when.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 05:43 PM   #13
<Rancimo322
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
My fingers are to fat for my phone, but ill take the advise. jb fab if I were to chop chop my old beam what dimensions do I use? Is wieght an issue??
<Rancimo322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 05:45 PM   #14
<Rancimo322
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBfab View Post
Do any of your buttons work? It might not be the wheel, could be the clock spring located under the wheel. There know for going bad and i believe there was a recall on some way back when.
Buttons? Are you talking about auto hubs?
<Rancimo322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:05 PM   #15
GetBent4x4
Read the meme
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Collin county, TX
Posts: 3,506
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: Brick Nose on 15x10s/32s with leveling coils
beams are actually really easy to bend, they are junk like the rest of the axle setup on these trucks.
GetBent4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:27 PM   #16
Billy89EB
Registered User
 
Billy89EB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Riverside,CA
Posts: 559
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1987 Eddie Bauer 302, 4" rancho lift, dual magnalfows, 35" Discoverer stt's
solid axle swap now and forever
Billy89EB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:44 PM   #17
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,266
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
You could use peices of your old beam for plating on a new beam. By buttons i mean horn, cruise etc. if your cruise and horn dont work but the fuses and wiring is all good it might be a bad clock spring. Did you check out the link i posted above? Thats what a well plated i beam looks like. Some dont go that crazy but look at that one and as many as you can put your eyes on and go from there. I plating mine in some key areas and also added a front brace. Its all matter of how far you wanna take it.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:44 PM   #18
<Rancimo322
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 86XLT:)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBfab View Post
You could use peices of your old beam for plating on a new beam. By buttons i mean horn, cruise etc. if your cruise and horn dont work but the fuses and wiring is all good it might be a bad clock spring. Did you check out the link i posted above? Thats what a well plated i beam looks like. Some dont go that crazy but look at that one and as many as you can put your eyes on and go from there. I plating mine in some key areas and also added a front brace. Its all matter of how far you wanna take it.
Truck boat truck didnt come with a working horn, all the buttons where bunk.
I unhooked all that till I got a replacement.
<Rancimo322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:08 PM   #19
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 3,974
iTrader: (16)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
if this truck never sees offroad, there really no point in welding plates on them. jsut learn to drive it and ull be fine
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved