can't pull codes - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
can't pull codes

Now that I have my rig running, my CEL is on and I can't pull codes. When I plug in my code reader the light comes on and stays on. No clicks from anything like before. The code reader worked the last time I used it before I did the computer swap and MAF conversion. Any ideas on where I should start to track down why my rig's not throwing any codes?
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2013, 05:28 PM   #2
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 36,297
iTrader: (101)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Quote:
Originally Posted by surveyorsteve View Post
When I plug in my code reader ...
THERE's your problem. Use a paperclip (jumper wire).

.

I'm adding a switch on the dash, just to make it easier.

__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:44 AM   #3
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 12,498
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo,
NO CODES Troubleshooting Due to Poor Grounds, Corroded Wiring, etc.; read more on how to Ground the STI & Proceed w/ Test; run ground wire from Self-Test Input (STI) to battery ground on a Clean body ground

Source: by Jeremy M (Big '92, jermil01)

If that doesn't help,

NO CODES Troubleshooting by Ryan M (Fireguy50) at http://oldfuelinjection.com/?p=44

http://oldfuelinjection.com/images/eec04.gif
EEC IV Connector Pin Depiction Pic by Ryan M (Fireguy50)


EEC IV Connector Pin Legend by Ryan M (Fireguy50) http://oldfuelinjection.com/truckpinouts.html
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:53 PM   #4
JKossarides
Fullsize Member
 
JKossarides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Posts: 9,061
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 1986 Bronco XLT 4x4 -AOD -Warn Hubs, NEW stock 302EFI (2008) All MSD ignition, 9mm FMSR wires
Check that the batteries in the Code Reader are fresh or it won't trigger the computer properly....
JKossarides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:42 PM   #5
surveyorsteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Avondale, AZ
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 92 Bronco Custom with 347 Stroker
Codes

Grounded the STI to the battery and got my codes...122, 583, 588. Thanks for your help
__________________
Old Guys Rule!
surveyorsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:53 AM   #6
miesk5
Fullsize Member
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 12,498
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
yo surveyorsteve,
YW!
DTC 122 Possible Causes; "... The Throttle Position Sensor is located at the end of the throttle shaft on the throttle body. Using the TPS voltage signal the EEC determines fuel delivery based on throttle position. A bad TPS can be the cause of bad idle, which is caused by the injector pulse fluctuating. Some loss in performance can also be expected

Throttle Position Sensor Testing, Replacement and Adjustment; "....I was having a hunting idle issue along with a hesitation on acceleration and after transmission downshift. I pulled Diagnostic Trouble Codes and all I could find was a DTC 344 (EGR closed valve voltage high). My EGR was clean and visually controlled by the PCM, EVR and EVP tested good. My Idle Air Controller (IAC) was new and I had recently installed all new Silicone Vacuum Lines that repetetively tested good as well. then decided to test the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS). As a side note, back probing the TPS Harness Connector is challenging to get both probes to contact at the same time. It was then difficult to hold in order to manipulate the throttle. I am not a fan of piercing the wires with pins due to damage or future corrosion of the wires. At any rate, the values that I am looking for are as follows: After removing the TPS, I compared the new and the old. Note the shim ring on the old TPS and not on the new. When I mocked fitment of the new TPS to the TB, I noted that it was very loose and difficult to align. Using a screw driver, I carefull removed the shim ring and installed it on the new TPS. Fitment and alignment was then perfect. EEC-IV TPS is self-calibrating, but stay away from the edge of setting specifications. In other words, centering is good. Always completely test your TPS for Reference, Signal and Resistance. home made TPS Test Harness is worth it's weight in gold..."
Source: by Seattle FSB (SeattleFSB) at FSB http://fullsizebronco.com/forum/showthread.php?t=203080

MORE TPS LINKS in my site @ http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php?index=137

==

DTC 583 When the fuel pump was activated, the power-to-pump circuit exceeded the normal current draw
I don't have the Ford pin-point test for this; but start w/basic inspections; You will need to trouble shoot the circuit to see if it is corrosion at/or bad terminal(s)/wiring in ground, connectors @ FP relay, the inertia switch or at pump

Many times, the Ford fuel pump hanger/sender assemblies are frequently found with extensive corrosion on the cover and on the metal tubes. Over time, the terminals can loosen and cause intermittent loss of continuity. Erratic reading of the fuel sender level is one of the other problems that could occur..."
Source: by spectrapremium.com

Wiring Diagram in a 92 by GENCO
CLICK First and Last Bookmarks in Left Panel

Fuel Pump & Level Sender Ground Location in 92-96; (pump and fuel level sender share connector C441 at tank) G100 @ LH front of engine compartment on upper radiator support
G100 pic by subford (Bill K) @ http://s54.photobucket.com/albums/g9...rical/Grounds/

============

No info avail. for Code 588; do test again
__________________
96 XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
USN & DoD Planner (ret)
THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!

my broncolinks.com was "disturbed"; but some sections are archived @ [url]http://web.archive.org/web/20121009110424/http://www.broncolinks.com/index.php
select a LINK, Right Click & Hit Properties; copy the second HTTP address; paste in a new browser window or Tab to see original page
miesk5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 AM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved