Body Work and Body Filler Questions - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 01-24-2013, 12:12 PM   #1
The Ol' Big Red

Bronco Info: 78' Bronco-Rebuilt 400m & Front/Rear Detroit Lockers
Body Work and Body Filler Questions

Hey Guys,

I have started to embark on the long and tedious journey of bodywork. I have been cutting out rusted metal, welding in patches, and grinding welds down. Now I am on to the stage of body filler. What should I coat the body filler with once I am done sanding it? I am sending the truck off for paint, but is it ok to leave the body filler uncovered while I finish working on other areas of the truck? I have no experience with a spray gun, but I have hear rattle can is a no-go if you are going to have decent paint over it. Also, I need to sand the rest of the car down to get it ready for paint and am planning on having the shop prime it. Is a palm sander ok for rough sanding(removing crinkled paint etc.)? Do you guys have a suggestions for this whole process? Thanks a lot!

Jon

78 Bronco- 4" Lift and 35s, Front/Rear Detroit Lockers, 4:10 Gears, a Rebuilt 400M, all that Jazz
My Build Thread:
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=213507
The Ol' Big Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-24-2013, 12:37 PM   #2
Grits&Gravy

Should be fine, but if there are any bare metal spots I would coat with rattle can self etch primer. Palm sander is ideal for removing rough paint spots,

Personally I would work 1 panel at a time until finishing with filler, then cost entire panel with a good self etching primer
Grits&Gravy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:38 PM   #3
Grits&Gravy

Be sure to fill any pinholes in filler with a razor blade
Old 01-24-2013, 01:19 PM   #4
Fox005
The Original FullSize