broken trasfer case - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 02:02 PM   #1
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Post broken trasfer case

ok so my transfer case broke something internally the other day it wouldn't go in 2wd or 4H but I got it in 4L and got it home so here is my question I called about a 91 transfer case (mines a 92) that sounded just like mine man/ shifter, bolts to the rear driveline sounded great but when I called he told me that his computer said that it would not work that I need a 92-95 but he explained the same t-case what is different if anything . will it work?
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2013, 02:26 PM   #2
jermil01
Charlie doesn't surf!!
 
jermil01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: JAX, FLA
Posts: 11,763
iTrader: (31)
Bronco Info: 1992 xlt, 351EFI, .040, E4OD, D44 SAS w/Trutrac,Detroit locked 8.8, MAF conv, Tweecer tuned
the older case will work in your rig. need to make sure the case was from a Bronco and just transfer your linkage over to the new case. pretty straightforward really.
__________________

Vote 4 Top 4x4 Site!!!
jermil01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:31 PM   #3
sackman9975
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Livonia Michigan
Posts: 6,825
iTrader: (42)
Bronco Info: 1995 Eddie Bauer 357w, E303 cam on S/D, Warn premium hubs, 3 inch exhaust with flowmaster 40
It will work, however I believe there should be a port for the Speedo/vss on the 91. The 92 won't have one. So just ask for the Speedo/vss plug in when getting it to plug the hole.
__________________


~ Scott ~

~E303 w/Flowmaster 40 & 3inch exhaust rumble ~ 212k & counting. Now my daily driver once again. ~
~ Bronco owner/Driver/Mechanic/Enthusiast for 23 years ~
sackman9975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:00 PM   #4
jermil01
Charlie doesn't surf!!
 
jermil01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: JAX, FLA
Posts: 11,763
iTrader: (31)
Bronco Info: 1992 xlt, 351EFI, .040, E4OD, D44 SAS w/Trutrac,Detroit locked 8.8, MAF conv, Tweecer tuned
forgot about that..sackman is right. you can just swap the tailshaft housing off of your current transfercase to the new one and call it a day..
__________________

Vote 4 Top 4x4 Site!!!
jermil01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:44 PM   #5
SomeDude451
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Katy, Tx
Posts: 1,293
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: 1989 F350 XLT Lariat, 4x4, 7.5L SD, E4OD
Quote:
Originally Posted by sackman9975 View Post
It will work, however I believe there should be a port for the Speedo/vss on the 91. The 92 won't have one. So just ask for the Speedo/vss plug in when getting it to plug the hole.
Wasn't the speedo still cable driven until 93 or 94? And then it went all electric?
__________________
-Travis
My Supermotor(What's left of it.)
SomeDude451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:47 PM   #6
Kingfish999
Nothing beets a Fullsize
 
Kingfish999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Palm Harbor FL
Posts: 5,007
iTrader: (18)
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco 5.8 DD, 88 Bronco motorless Mudder
first things first, lets make sure you are shifting it right

if you are in 4low, you have to put the transmission into nuetral. park wont let you shift in/out of 4low. also the transfer case requires a special action of either pushing the shifter down to the ground or to the side
__________________

-----96 5.0 E4OD--------------88 5.8 C6--------------96 5.8 E4OD------
---------KIA-------------------Mud/Trail---------------Daily Driver------
Kingfish999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 05:22 PM   #7
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
I shifted it right I could get in 2wd and 4h but it would grind but in 4L it would drive now my next question is what is different on the inside of the transfer cases that have a shifter and the button activated one can I get a button transfer case and use the parts to rebuild my transfer case I cant find one that's has a shifter there all button active
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:20 PM   #8
bluebolt
Fullsize Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton LA near Shreveport
Posts: 187
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 1974 Bronco with 351w, 1978 F150 4x4 with 1966 F100 cab
Transfer case

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtycountrygirl View Post
I shifted it right I could get in 2wd and 4h but it would grind but in 4L it would drive now my next question is what is different on the inside of the transfer cases that have a shifter and the button activated one can I get a button transfer case and use the parts to rebuild my transfer case I cant find one that's has a shifter there all button active
I take it you mean yours is a manual shift transfer case and all you can find is the electric shift ones with the switch on the dash. The cases aI believe are quite a bit different and you can not easily convert an electic into a manual.

Where are you located? I might be able to help find one if I knew what area of the country to look in.
bluebolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:01 PM   #9
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
im near Portland OR. the only two I can find they want 200-250$ and they have around 160,000 miles on them , at that price I would rather just buy a rebuild kit but if I can find one with less miles and not so much I would just swap them out and then rebuild mine when I have time. I hate having her sit in the driveway knowing that I cant just get in her and take off.
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:34 PM   #10
JBfab
Registered User
 
JBfab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 2,468
iTrader: (9)
Bronco Info: 94 C150 prerunner 351/zf/maf. To many mods to list.
You could swap in an electric till you rebuild your manual! You wont have 4x but it will still drive till you get yours rebuilt.
__________________
It's not custom if you bought it from a catalog!
Visit my build thread- http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/...d.php?t=211825
JBfab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:28 PM   #11
bluebolt
Fullsize Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton LA near Shreveport
Posts: 187
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 1974 Bronco with 351w, 1978 F150 4x4 with 1966 F100 cab
Transfer case

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtycountrygirl View Post
im near Portland OR. the only two I can find they want 200-250$ and they have around 160,000 miles on them , at that price I would rather just buy a rebuild kit but if I can find one with less miles and not so much I would just swap them out and then rebuild mine when I have time. I hate having her sit in the driveway knowing that I cant just get in her and take off.
I used www.car-part.com and found one in Portland for $150, manual shift, flange rear output, 98,000 miles. Stock # DD451 at Light Truck Parts 1-800-452-8004
bluebolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:30 PM   #12
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
just had a guy from a auto parts store tell me about car-parts.com and I found several transfer cases the lowest prices are 150$ now im waiting to find out how much a rebuild kit is to see which direction im going to go . ill let you all know tomorrow thanks to everyone for the info
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:31 PM   #13
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebolt View Post
I used www.car-part.com and found one in Portland for $150, manual shift, flange rear output, 98,000 miles. Stock # DD451 at Light Truck Parts 1-800-452-8004
I didnt see your post until I posted that last one thank you bluebolt
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:37 AM   #14
bluebolt
Fullsize Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton LA near Shreveport
Posts: 187
iTrader: (3)
Bronco Info: 1974 Bronco with 351w, 1978 F150 4x4 with 1966 F100 cab
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtycountrygirl View Post
I didnt see your post until I posted that last one thank you bluebolt
No problem I get it right once in a while LOL.
bluebolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:07 AM   #15
helirich
Registered User
 
helirich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,479
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 90' 351/E40D 38" tires, 4.88 gears, full float 8.8, lockers F&R
I'm not sure if there is a "rebuild kit" for them. If they do have one, it probably has lots of stuff you don't need. Just take it apart and see what it needs. Probably a couple shift forks and you'll be fine. (Unless it ate the pump)
helirich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:47 PM   #16
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
t-case linkage

so I got the new t-case but im having one hell of a time getting the linkage off the old on under my rig. is there a trick im trying to use a screw driver to get it to pop off but no luck any suggestions
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:50 PM   #17
TheUnforgiven
Dr. Brian & Mr. Unfer
 
TheUnforgiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oswego, Illinois
Posts: 18,364
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: 2006 Kia Spectra
Get REAL pry bar that's larger. PB Blaster is your friend, or a torch if you have one.
__________________
2006 Kia Spectra 4 banger/5 speed that tows a 14ft boat while getting better gas mileage than any of your broncos could ever dream of getting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by "Bronco" John Galt View Post
New nuts are in the plan.
"Kids, they see the good in everything and through their eyes, they open ours." - Hank Davis
TheUnforgiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:58 PM   #18
cajunrebel
Chillin on the Gulf Coast
 
cajunrebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida, from Louisiana
Posts: 1,521
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: Blue 89' EB 5.0, E4OD, OBDII, Mass Air, Saginaw, Hydroboost, 3G alt
Torch the grommet and and pick up a replacement at autozone (might want to get the replacement in hand first though). They have them in the help section from Dorman. Part number 14041 on Rock auto I believe.
cajunrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:06 PM   #19
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
ok so a lighter and a little prybar is all it takes
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:07 PM   #20
dirtycountrygirl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
I love pb blaster I have swern by that stuff for years wd 40 has nothing on it. I love this forum
__________________
92,351w,33in m/t, first bronco
dirtycountrygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved