Fuel pump inertia switch - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2004, 03:37 PM   #1
Slickerthanyou
Currently FSB divorced
 
Slickerthanyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kennywood's Backyard-Duquesne,PA
Posts: 958
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: Had a 1990 XLT 5.8L Parting out to buy a '79 by spring 08
Fuel pump inertia switch

I have been having a problem lately when try to start it up sometimes it won't start. I noticed that I don't hear that humming sound from the fuel pump. I replaced the relay under the hood and it seems to cure it but now it's back. I checked that saftey inertia switch and it seems to be operating normal. What I did was pop the little button up, then crank it over won't start. push the button down and away she goes. So this last couple of times twice this week it wouldn't start, i just pop the button up then pushed it down- it fired right up. do these have a habit of going bad?? . I use to use it as my anti theft system for about a year. . -Bob
__________________


Broncoless at this time Yip she left me!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger1 View Post
I beat on it, beat on it and beat on it some more and I have the fork tool in there almost until it can't go in anymore.
Is there a trick to this ?
Slickerthanyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2004, 03:46 PM   #2
Rick3373
Southeast Utah Native
 
Rick3373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Moab, UT
Posts: 966
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 89 XLT
I don't believe the switch is designed to be activated like that. It's sort of like a circuit breaker, every time it is tripped or manually switched it gets slightly weaker. So yes the switch could be going bad. But it could also be a fuel pump going bad & the switch activation is a coincidence.
__________________
LIFE'S SHORT, PLAY DIRTY!
89 Bronco XLT, 351, C-6.

Understand how your use affects the land.
Adopt minimum impact practices.
Share in the costs of services, education & maintenance.
Rick3373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 04:41 PM   #3
Slickerthanyou
Currently FSB divorced
 
Slickerthanyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kennywood's Backyard-Duquesne,PA
Posts: 958
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: Had a 1990 XLT 5.8L Parting out to buy a '79 by spring 08
I thought that also, but trying to think cheap!
__________________


Broncoless at this time Yip she left me!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger1 View Post
I beat on it, beat on it and beat on it some more and I have the fork tool in there almost until it can't go in anymore.
Is there a trick to this ?
Slickerthanyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 05:09 PM   #4
seboh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (0)
Where is the inertia located on your truck?

And do you use the parking brake as a habit?
seboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 08:34 PM   #5
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,848
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
The inertia switch shouldn't go bad with use, but I have seen melted terminals. If you need one, I have several spares. On '84-86, they're usually ***EDIT: just to the right of the tunnel in the passenger footwell***. On '87-96, they're usually inside the R kick panel.



{I don't know where I got that other location from... }
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 09:30 PM   #6
Fireguy50
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,484
iTrader: (19)
Bronco Info: rusty
you got a link to those pics in a larger size?
__________________
Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 09:52 PM   #7
Gacknar
The Anti Yam!
 
Gacknar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Georgia, Douglasville
Posts: 22,106
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: 86 Bronco XLT 357w/AOD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83
On '84-86, they're usually in front of the brake pedal.]
My 86's is on at the bottom of the fire wall, just above, and to the right of the transmision tunnel.
__________________
86 Bronco - 357W/AOD - 6" suspension lift, 3" body lift - 38" TSL Radials - 456:1 Gears
Sequential Multiport Mass-Air Fuel Injection from a 93 Mustang GT

My SuperMotors Site - My Engine

The Greatest Thread on FSB
Gacknar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 10:01 PM   #8
Fireguy50
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,484
iTrader: (19)
Bronco Info: rusty
mine too
http://www.fordfuelinjection.com/pub...itch_84-86.jpg
http://www.fordfuelinjection.com/pub...itch_87-96.jpg
__________________
Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 10:54 PM   #9
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,848
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50
you got a link to those pics in a larger size?
Yeah, my signature! The first one is in General Purpose Pics and the other is in "View all of this user's vehicles">"96 Bronco". But the first one is of my truck and that's just where I put the switch. I don't know why I put it there - I thought that was where they belonged, but I don't know how I got that idea.

Is that the large-body inertia switch with the white T-shaped button?
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 11:14 PM   #10
Fireguy50
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,484
iTrader: (19)
Bronco Info: rusty
Oh, hide that picture in a different vehicle
Hey you still got that 1996 5.8L ?
willing to sell a few parts off it?



Yes that is the older Inertia switch with the white button on top
I think the new ones are better with the red buttons
__________________
Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 11:17 PM   #11
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,848
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Right!
Yes.
No. I'm only selling it complete.


I think all my spares are red, but I was curious what originally came on '84-86 EFIs.
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 11:24 PM   #12
Fireguy50
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,484
iTrader: (19)
Bronco Info: rusty
what if they don't want the OBD-II MAF stuff?
I really want that crank sensor and balancer/pulley
__________________
Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 11:45 PM   #13
Gacknar
The Anti Yam!
 
Gacknar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Georgia, Douglasville
Posts: 22,106
iTrader: (4)
Bronco Info: 86 Bronco XLT 357w/AOD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50
I really want that crank sensor and balancer/pulley
Do you want it for your D.I.S. conversion?
__________________
86 Bronco - 357W/AOD - 6" suspension lift, 3" body lift - 38" TSL Radials - 456:1 Gears
Sequential Multiport Mass-Air Fuel Injection from a 93 Mustang GT

My SuperMotors Site - My Engine

The Greatest Thread on FSB
Gacknar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 11:50 PM   #14
Fireguy50
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,484
iTrader: (19)
Bronco Info: rusty
yeah....
I need a backup 5.8L 28oz balancer
have it machined to match the explorer 5.0L 36-1 tooth wheel
make a braket for the sensor

BUT......
If I can buy that sensor w/ braket, balancer w/ pulley
It saves me the custom work, and possibly changing the balancer weight.
__________________
Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 12:17 AM   #15
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,848
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireguy50
what if they don't want the OBD-II MAF stuff?
You'll have to discuss that with "they" after "they" buy it from me. Sorry, but I just don't think I can sell MOST of an engine...


...and I now own a '94 Crown Vic that's burning a little oil... 5.8L Crown Vic... Mmmmmmmmmmm...
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 02:37 AM   #16
Fireguy50
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A.
 
Fireguy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,484
iTrader: (19)
Bronco Info: rusty
Crown Vic would need an aftermarket EFI intake
OR
carb it
__________________
Ryan McCormick


Fuel Injection Technical Library
Parts replacement is not auto repair, if you canít diagnose, donít open the hood!
Fireguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 06:42 AM   #17
Slickerthanyou
Currently FSB divorced
 
Slickerthanyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kennywood's Backyard-Duquesne,PA
Posts: 958
iTrader: (10)
Bronco Info: Had a 1990 XLT 5.8L Parting out to buy a '79 by spring 08
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by seboh
Where is the inertia located on your truck?

And do you use the parking brake as a habit?

Mine is located on the kick panel and no I don't use the emergency brake as a habit- probably once a week. Just so it doesn't freeze up!!


Steve I'll get one of those off of you. I'll Pm you-Bob
__________________


Broncoless at this time Yip she left me!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranger1 View Post
I beat on it, beat on it and beat on it some more and I have the fork tool in there almost until it can't go in anymore.
Is there a trick to this ?
Slickerthanyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 11:28 AM   #18
seboh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (0)
Okay. Only reason I ask is that the switch on my 90 is located right next to the parking brake -- and releasing the brake can trip the switch.
seboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2004, 11:25 PM   #19
Steve83
Registered User
 
Steve83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 34,848
iTrader: (100)
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
Quote:
Originally Posted by seboh
...releasing the [parking] brake can trip the switch.
Make sure the 2 nuts on the engine side of the firewall are tight, and the one bolt just above the pedal that goes up into the dash, and then spin your split rubber bumpstop on the big peg so that the pedal arm hits rubber instead of steel when you release it.

Why are you using the e-brake so often anyway? The hills in Raleigh aren't that steep!
__________________
Walk softly & carry a BIG SIX ! ! !

. .
Steve83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2004, 05:49 PM   #20
seboh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,049
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve83
Why are you using the e-brake so often anyway? The hills in Raleigh aren't that steep!
Nah, the pedal used to go nearly to the floor with the 10.25. It just had enough force to trip the inertia switch sometimes... probably some of the weak/worn switch problem, too.

And I use the parking brake all the time.... because I drive a stick shift.
seboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 AM.


© 2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved