4x4 will not engage - FSB Forums
Register Home Forums Active Topics Photo Gallery All Albums Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance FSB Store
FullsizeBronco.com is the premier Ford Bronco Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2006, 01:46 AM   #1
redboat63
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
Unhappy 4x4 will not engage

would you know in the middle of a snow storm my bronco will not engage in 4x4. I hear clicking in the glove box, the light will not come on at all, but she will not go into 4x4 and I ended up in a ditch. Can anyone help me troubleshoot?
redboat63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2006, 02:06 AM   #2
B-man
Fullsize Member
 
B-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Stuck in CALI... SUCKS
Posts: 6,527
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: IT RUNS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by redboat63
would you know in the middle of a snow storm my bronco will not engage in 4x4. I hear clicking in the glove box, the light will not come on at all, but she will not go into 4x4 and I ended up in a ditch. Can anyone help me troubleshoot?

Automatic locking hubs? Manual??

Electric switch transfer case or manual..

Need a little more info there..
__________________
88 XLT Bronco,351W w/JBA Headers,35X12.5 BFG KM2 M/T's, 3inch body lift and 4 inch Rough Country Lift,D44 Locker , L/S 8.8, 4:56 gears E4OD,

B-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 02:07 AM   #3
rcracerx
Registered User
 
rcracerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 3,086
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 5.8 m5od 33" cooper STT removed sway bars msd ignition, MAF swap with open filter, SAS, M15000
your autohubs may not be engadging. try looking up a search for the Auto hubs and options you have like converting to manual hubs.
__________________
BIG BABIES!!!
rcracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 10:15 AM   #4
ChaoticBastard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 62
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 88 Eddie B 351w C6
Quote:
Originally Posted by redboat63
would you know in the middle of a snow storm my bronco will not engage in 4x4. I hear clicking in the glove box, the light will not come on at all, but she will not go into 4x4 and I ended up in a ditch. Can anyone help me troubleshoot?

Eh I just went through this on my girl's exploder.If the light does not come on if it is electric,More then likely the 4x4 motor on the T-Case is frozen or broken.Go under it first and lightly tap on it with a mallet or small hammer.might loosen it up.if not dont worry.Napa actually carries these new.They are 76 bucks for the explorer with a 30 dollar core charge.But if I read you wrong and your light is ON that means your autohubs if that is what you have,Are shot or have too much grease in them.2 things to look for hope it helps
ChaoticBastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 10:34 AM   #5
Lambo
Registered User
 
Lambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: chesapeake Va
Posts: 525
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1994 Teal Tank lifted 6" in front 4.5" in rear on 35x12.5r15 bfg at's 15x10 eagle allow rims.
i agree my bronco did the same basic thing. the tranfer case moter is proly dead cost me about $100 and 30minutes to replace i got mine from JBG now my 4x4 works like a champ
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by amtarsha View Post
old Uncle Sam still fu**s you in the ass wearing cammies, with a US Flag condom!
Lambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 11:39 AM   #6
JD_Bronco
Designated Tranny Killer
 
JD_Bronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shippensburg/Reading, PA
Posts: 6,963
iTrader: (13)
Bronco Info: Sold--'89 FSB, 2" lift, lots 'o' lights, custom bumpers, exhaust, intake, stereo, other stuff
try tranny fluid that's happened to me before
__________________
~Dave~
1998 Jeep Wrangler, 5.5" lift, wheels, tires and all the other cool stuff.
1997 Dodge Ram 5" lift, 35"s, 396 stroker, stereo, and some random things
JD_Bronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 01:37 PM   #7
ChaoticBastard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 62
iTrader: (1)
Bronco Info: 88 Eddie B 351w C6
Quote:
Originally Posted by broncoorboat
try tranny fluid that's happened to me before

Pretty sure he means cleaning the hubs out with ATF.That works
ChaoticBastard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:58 AM   #8
omarrodrig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: XLT 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-man View Post
Automatic locking hubs? Manual??

Electric switch transfer case or manual..

Need a little more info there..
I have the same problem, I change the auto to manual hub, and i dont have traction in the front wheel, trasnfer gone?
omarrodrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:51 AM   #9
Slownorth
Messin' with my
 
Slownorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 1,004
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 95 FSB w/ a Driver mod
Quote:
Originally Posted by omarrodrig View Post
I have the same problem, I change the auto to manual hub, and i dont have traction in the front wheel, trasnfer gone?
did you lock the hubs...
__________________
NAU 4x4
Slownorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 01:14 PM   #10
omarrodrig
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: XLT 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slownorth View Post
did you lock the hubs...
Yes!!!
omarrodrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 01:57 PM   #11
fastsumbtch
Registered User
 
fastsumbtch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wylie, TX.
Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 XLT, 351W. stock hight right now with 33X 12.5 tires. Soon to have SAS with one tons and leafs
I have auto hubs on mine for now but when I pull the shifter back into 4X4 high it takes a few attempts before it will lock in. I will pull it back and the shifter just falls forword like nothing is there after 4 or 5 times it will finaly stay. If i am reading right here it is probably my transfer case motor that is not letting it ingauge at first?
__________________
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=57691&dateline=140168  0871
don't tell me my bronco can't do something! as far as I am concerned it can do anything till I fail at it at least 8 or 9 times....lol
fastsumbtch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 03:20 PM   #12
LarryP
Thanks 351w500
 
LarryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northcentral,CA.Twain Harte, up here in the mountains
Posts: 5,449
iTrader: (52)
Bronco Info: 88 Centerion 460 Dana 60/10.25 78 Bronk Cromo shafts,Detoit 4.56's lift 7" Deavers 38's 9"rear disk
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastsumbtch View Post
I have auto hubs on mine for now but when I pull the shifter back into 4X4 high it takes a few attempts before it will lock in. I will pull it back and the shifter just falls forword like nothing is there after 4 or 5 times it will finaly stay. If i am reading right here it is probably my transfer case motor that is not letting it ingauge at first?
If you are shifting your t-case with a stick you dont have an auto t-case so it would have no motor. Only auto T-cases (push button 4x4) have a motor to shift it.
__________________

I take Prayer Requests. God Bless
LarryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:58 PM   #13
fastsumbtch
Registered User
 
fastsumbtch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wylie, TX.
Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 XLT, 351W. stock hight right now with 33X 12.5 tires. Soon to have SAS with one tons and leafs
Ah, that makes since. I didn't know there was a push button option. Well then what is up with mine?
__________________
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=57691&dateline=140168  0871
don't tell me my bronco can't do something! as far as I am concerned it can do anything till I fail at it at least 8 or 9 times....lol
fastsumbtch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:17 PM   #14
LarryP
Thanks 351w500
 
LarryP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northcentral,CA.Twain Harte, up here in the mountains
Posts: 5,449
iTrader: (52)
Bronco Info: 88 Centerion 460 Dana 60/10.25 78 Bronk Cromo shafts,Detoit 4.56's lift 7" Deavers 38's 9"rear disk
Have you gone under your bronco and looked at the t-case linkage yet.
__________________

I take Prayer Requests. God Bless
LarryP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 05:29 PM   #15
fastsumbtch
Registered User
 
fastsumbtch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wylie, TX.
Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1988 XLT, 351W. stock hight right now with 33X 12.5 tires. Soon to have SAS with one tons and leafs
Not yet. I actually didn't think much of it till I read this post. I just got this Bronco so I don't know much about it. Actually this is first 4x4 so go easy on me...lol. I am still trying to learn all I can about it right now.
__________________
http://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=57691&dateline=140168  0871
don't tell me my bronco can't do something! as far as I am concerned it can do anything till I fail at it at least 8 or 9 times....lol
fastsumbtch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 06:33 PM   #16
thin blue line
Fullsize Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,746
iTrader: (2)
Bronco Info: 95 XLT 302 E40D 5.5 devers 3"body lift 35" MTR's Warn locking hubs custom rock sliders.
transfer case shift motor shit the bed or may be frozen up or the auto hubs need to be rebuilt or swapped to manuel hubs. this is for the original post
__________________
remember its your ride build it your way not there way.
but build it dont buy it
thin blue line is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:00 PM   #17
rodbender
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)
Bronco Info: 1985 basic Blue
Sounds like a bolt/ arm fell out or something broke in the linkage.
rodbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  FSB Forums > Bronco Discussions > Noobie Bronco Tech Questions. Flame free zone!


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 AM.


2003-2009 FullSizeBronco.com. All rights reserved