• 1 Post By Mikey350

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-31-2018, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 127k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
Garage
Electricians - looking for advice

Hopefully someone can help me here.

I'm not a licensed electrician but have done more electrical work than most non-electricians. I have wired in 3 way switches, 240 to my garage, changed out my fuse panel for circuit breakers.

Here's where I'm looking for some advice. My buddy who is like a dad to me, has a house with a detached garage in the woods. Their outside pole light, and lights on the garage are control from a flip switch in the garage. There is no switch on the house. It requires walking out in the dark, opening the garage, flipping the switch to provide leaving guests lights to see the driveway.

Without running 3 wire from the house to the garage to be able to control the lights from both the house and garage, is their a remote type system that can be installed to turn the lights on from the house? I just bought a remote control switch to try but would require turning the Romex cables into a outlet plug control to work. Looking for an actual switch that can be remotely operated from the house. Is there such a thing?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-01-2019, 01:03 AM
Driving Stuff Henry Built

Bronco Info: -90 xlt, 351w, e4od, man 1356, 3.55, sag, warn hubs, 35" bfg m/t. --73, 400, np435, d20j twin, 35s
I'm not an electrician, but we've used some of the wireless switches with good success. You replace the switch in the garage with a switch that is also the receiver for a transmitter switch that is mounted someplace convenient.