How to bypass the 4wabs module for troubleshooting - Ford Bronco Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-09-2009, 09:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
How to bypass the 4wabs module for troubleshooting

Moderators, if you feel this post is appropriate, would you mind making it a "sticky" or whatever it is referred to here? Thank you!

If you happen to suddenly lose your speedometer/odometer/cruise-control and your automatic transmission starts shifting roughly, This will let you know if your 4wabs module is the cause of your problem by bypassing it and seeing if everything else works after.

The module is located directly behind the driver's side headlight and uses a 10mm bolt to hold the connector in place. Loosen the bolt (it doesn't come out, just loosens) and pull the connector from the module. Then jump the pins as shown in the pic and place the connector in a safe position so the jumpers won't get knocked loose while driving. Make sure the connections are good and clean and the jumpers are firmly in place. Contact cleaner will help. Then, drive the vehicle a short distance and you should immediately regain your speedometer/etc. If you do not, then your problem is NOT the module and you can begin searching elsewhere for the problem. Good searchwords are 4wabs, psom, vss, I hope this helps!


1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's

Last edited by miesk5; 05-04-2018 at 04:16 PM. Reason: Inserted new connector image
Turbo Ghost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-02-2010, 03:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: oxford,ms
Posts: 8
Bronco Info: 94'70'an66' all broncos 94'eddie b.6''procp.,35'',4.56gears.detrot hard,in front,detrot soft,in back
iTrader: (0)
well i tried the jumpers,it made my speedo worse.so i guess it ist the abs. i hope its the psom cause i ordered one too day.
bronco4life101 is offline  
post #3 of 31 (permalink) Old 07-03-2010, 10:56 AM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Coronado, CA
Posts: 21,419
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
iTrader: (2)
Garage
yo,
hope so! but as I mentioned in your other post about PSOM;
there could be other factors causing the PSOM needle to jump; such as;
a damaged ABS tone ring/or shavings in the rear differential
a bad ABS (also called VSS) Sensor or it's connector/wiring (corroded connections/conductors)
other connectors along da path thru the 4WABS Control Module & then up to da PSOM (Speedo/odometer) and then to the EEC/Cruise Control/ Overhead Console
& of course a faulty PSOM; sometimes due to a loose or bad solder joint inside

GL!

My ABS Module was fried and caused the PSOM needle to jump wildly, tranny to downshift suddenly and AMBER ABS light to turn on; also had a DTC and check engine light

See my partially recovered Bronco web site. Thanks to Mr. Schwim!
Navy & DoD (retired) ... THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!
Please VOTE in our Full-Size of the Month (F.O.T.M.) & Full-Size of the Year (F.O.T.Y.) Contests @ https://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/27-f-o-t-m-voting/
miesk5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 31 (permalink) Old 01-12-2011, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Odd? I received an email showing another post had been made but, I don't see it here? The last post I see is from 7/3/2010. Is it my browser messing-up again or did the post just disappear?

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #5 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Well, a few years after the original post, my jumpers are still going strong. The only issue I've had is my cruise control has never worked since but, everything else is fine.

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #6 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 03:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,407
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
If the speedo works, then this mod has nothing to do with the cruise.



Steve83 is offline  
post #7 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 03:57 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Any theories on what it might be? It worked fine until the module went bad and hasn't worked since.

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #8 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 08:15 PM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,067
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
iTrader: (7)


If your 94 is like my 95 there is no direct connection. See above picture^^^

You just got (un)lucky. Check the servo connector for corrosion or burnt pins if you didn't get the recall harness. Which is actually why my cruise doesn't work. The harness is there but the connector got burnt up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮•)۶

catsnw is online now  
post #9 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Hey! Thanks for the info! I didn't know about a recall. I wonder what the odds are of me getting a new harness? I've got friends at the local dealership. I'll have to check with them to see what I can get done! It would be so great to have cruise back. I'll be glad when I can get enough money together to get a new ABS module! The jumpers work great but, I'd still rather have things the way their supposed to be!

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #10 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-19-2012, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Hmm? I notice a connection (if I'm reading it right) between the compass/temp gauge and the servo. My Temp takes about 10 minutes after you start the vehicle before it comes on!?

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #11 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:13 AM
A broke kid with a bronco
 
catsnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Posts: 4,067
Bronco Info: 1995 EB bronco 5.8, auto, true duals, k&n intake, 3G alternator, 12 front lights (more to come!)
iTrader: (7)
About the recall. Unplug the brake sensor on the mc before your truck burns down!

That connection is only to calculate in the windchill because of vehicle speed iirc.

If you need the recall harness I have a spare (pm we can work out details) or you can jy it usually.

And if you need more diagrams from that book I can scan them for you. I accutally used this mod when my abs when out so I feel as I should repay the favor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 88LiftdBronco View Post
So what you're saying is, that when you see a penis you think of another guy?

٩(●̮̮•)۶

catsnw is online now  
post #12 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 12:37 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,407
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Ghost View Post
I didn't know about a recall.
Where have you been - it's one of the largest in history. This is probably the ~10th revision, and they've done probably 10 more since. If your truck is registered to your home address, you should have gotten at least 3 notices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Ghost View Post
My Temp takes about 10 minutes after you start the vehicle before it comes on!?
Again - that's an unrelated coincidence. The early OHC modules are notoriously unreliable, but they're easy to swap out. Read the captions in my OHC & Dual Visors album.
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsnw View Post
That connection is only to calculate in the windchill because of vehicle speed iirc.
It prevents the display from showing erroneous data due to engine heat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by catsnw View Post
If you need the recall harness I have a spare (pm we can work out details) or you can jy it usually.
They're free at the dealership, including installation, and it's necessary for them to do the work so he (or any subsequent owner) doesn't get future notices.



Steve83 is offline  
post #13 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Ah! I've had the recall harness that connects to the master cylinder done. I thought this was something else. I had it done to my Bronco and F-150Nite. I'll have to take a look at it. IIRC, there was a fusible link in it? I wonder if it might have blown? If it did, would I get a fault code or anything? Since I have the ABS module bypassed, my ABS light is on all the time anyway.
I'll take a look at those links/diagrams and see what I can work out this weekend.
Thanks for all the info!!

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #14 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 01:51 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39,407
Bronco Info: '83 VIN & title on '93 frame/body w/'95 4.9L & EB paint
iTrader: (103)
Not a fusible link - it should have 2 blade fuses. No, the cruise system doesn't generate fault codes. Read this & the PREV/NEXT pics:





Steve83 is offline  
post #15 of 31 (permalink) Old 03-20-2012, 10:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 55
Bronco Info: 1994 Eddie Bauer, 351 e40d, all stock except for new 31 X 10.5's
iTrader: (0)
Thanks! I'll check it out and see what I can determine.

1994 Bronco Eddie Bauer 351 E4OD all stock
except for 31 x10.5's
Turbo Ghost is offline  
post #16 of 31 (permalink) Old 09-14-2016, 12:21 AM
Registered User
 
RLVBronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 320
Bronco Info: 1995 Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer Edition 5.8Liter
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Question Termianl size?

What size terminals did you use on the jumper cables?

RLVBronco is offline  
post #17 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-08-2017, 03:11 PM
Registered User
 
Deranged.dave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: College park, Md
Posts: 4
Bronco Info: 95 xlt 5.0 6in lift 35's
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Cant see the pic of the jumpers on the 4waps module

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Ghost View Post
Well, a few years after the original post, my jumpers are still going strong. The only issue I've had is my cruise control has never worked since but, everything else is fine.
Help my 95 is doing the samw thing. Shifting hard abs and check engine light on overdrive light flashing
Need to make jumpers
Deranged.dave1 is offline  
post #18 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-08-2017, 04:26 PM
Moderator
 
miesk5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Coronado, CA
Posts: 21,419
Bronco Info: 96 Bronco XL 5.0 E4OD, Man Xfer/Hubs
iTrader: (2)
Garage
Yo Dave,
Luckily, i saved his pic awhile ago.
4WABS Control Module CONNECTOR Bypass for PSOM Operation due to Bad 4WABS Control Module; "...jumper 14 to 21, & 39 to 22..." MIESK5 NOTE;. I did this on our 96; The 4WABS control module was toast due to 2 microprocessor failures...


"...jumper 14 (CKT 530, LG/Y)to 21 (CKT 519 (LG/BK) & 39 (CKT 491 (O/LB)to 22 (CKT 523, R/PK)..."

by Turbo Ghost

See my partially recovered Bronco web site. Thanks to Mr. Schwim!
Navy & DoD (retired) ... THANKS to ALL WHO SERVE!
Please VOTE in our Full-Size of the Month (F.O.T.M.) & Full-Size of the Year (F.O.T.Y.) Contests @ https://www.fullsizebronco.com/forum/27-f-o-t-m-voting/
miesk5 is offline  
post #19 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-17-2017, 07:31 AM
Registered User
 
Deranged.dave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: College park, Md
Posts: 4
Bronco Info: 95 xlt 5.0 6in lift 35's
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Hey names Dave, I'd like to express my thanks to you guys who keep these fourms running and a thanks to the people who post. I bought a 95 bronco 302 6in lift 35's on it a nice truck. and the guy who sold it to me said the trans is going to need to be replaced i thought **** it ill do that for the price i got it for, he was a technician at subaru so i beleived him. After having it for a week or so i started looking up how to fix the speedo and work on little check engine lights and things i changed the vss the plug for it , the psom and nothing yesterday i pulled the abs fuse and made the jumpers for the 4waps because **** it might as well try....and i got my speedo back and the trans is shifting like a dream you guys just saved me so much money you dont even know...i almost want to tell the seller hes a dummy lol ...but thank you guys again..
Deranged.dave1 is offline  
post #20 of 31 (permalink) Old 11-17-2017, 01:13 PM
~*~*~*~*~*~*~
 
sackman9975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 9,671
Bronco Info: 1995 XLT 5.8 with 127k miles, WARN Premium Hubs
iTrader: (18)
Garage
Rtf
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deranged.dave1 View Post
Hey names Dave, I'd like to express my thanks to you guys who keep these fourms running and a thanks to the people who post. I bought a 95 bronco 302 6in lift 35's on it a nice truck. and the guy who sold it to me said the trans is going to need to be replaced i thought **** it ill do that for the price i got it for, he was a technician at subaru so i beleived him. After having it for a week or so i started looking up how to fix the speedo and work on little check engine lights and things i changed the vss the plug for it , the psom and nothing yesterday i pulled the abs fuse and made the jumpers for the 4waps because **** it might as well try....and i got my speedo back and the trans is shifting like a dream you guys just saved me so much money you dont even know...i almost want to tell the seller hes a dummy lol ...but thank you guys again..
Did you calibrate the PSOM for the tires? That will help it even MORE! It'll shift even better and where it needs too
sackman9975 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Ford Bronco Forum > Bronco Discussions > 1980-'96 Bronco Tech

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Bronco Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. DO NOT USE Gmail.com accounts. If you only have a Gmail.com email please contact the administrator here

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome